We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite hotel in Baltimore area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Baltimore North - Pikesville
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pikesville
Reviewed May 15, 2011

This hotel truly distinguishes itself with the friendliness of the staff. My business requires me to be in downtown Baltimore but I now always stay at the Hilton, Pikesville. I have my employees stay there too. The staff are awesome, the rooms have been recently upgraded and the manager, Bill, is very receptive to customer suggestions. One of the most friendly hotels I've ever stayed at. I have stayed there on at least five occasions for a total of about 20 nights in the past three months and every stay has been wonderful. I stay here purely because of the friendly staff and they make everything worthwhile. They have good food, good beer and very comfortable rooms. I will stay there again next week and even if it's a 30 to 45 minute drive into the city, it's worthwhile to me.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke5111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

677 - 683 of 724 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2011

Nice hotel with amazing service...I would stay at this property again

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TSH74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

The mighty expressionist power of the English language falls short in being able to fully describe the experience I had at this simple hotel. Perhaps a more appropriate description is more a feeling than a paragraph of mere words; something one might feel after knowing your loved one pulled through a dangerous surgery, or a reformed thug graduating college, the first in his family to do so. These are rare, precious moments, when no strife nor conflict is welcome in your thoughts, when all is well, when all are safe. Such was my experience at the Pikesville Hilton. Indeed, clean sheets, a friendly staff, a bounty of gourmet treasures, these are, individually, all fine. But the way in which they were orchestrated so masterfully made me feel as if I were weightless, floating through a mystical realm of peace and wonder. Never have I slept so deeply, nor eaten so well. The greeting by the front desk staff was like a royal coronation, the walk to the room like a romantic stroll on the beach, entering the hotel room like walking down a ballpark corridor to see a professional baseball diamond for the first time. When I returned home, I immediately canceled my trip to London for the royal wedding. I no longer needed to feel close to the crown, for at the Pikesville Hilton, I was the royalty, tended to by an abundance of eager servants. Very simply put, within this hotel lies the almighty grace of God. One day soon I hope to return, if only to worship at the altar of comfort.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ExtremelyModerate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

I stayed at the Pikesville Hilton last night; I was almost scared off by previous bad reviews, and just wanted to post that I had a fine experience. There WAS a wait to check in, as there was only one person at the check-in desk, and she DID ask for help, and the help was VERY slow in coming. Once I got checked in, though, the room was fine, the hotel was fine, none of the other criticisms posted in the bad reviews came to pass. Another note: my friends whom I was traveling with elected to stay at the Ramada across the street, because it was a little cheaper, and they left at 1:30 in the morning because they were so grossed out by the Ramada that they couldn't sleep. Having just stayed there, the Hilton is fine.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob57768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

first and foremost..EMILY is a true female dog!!! I have never recieved such tude from a hilton employee. Everyone at the front desk looks miserable. The hotel is loud, dirty and old. "security" is creepy and lurks around the halls...just a complete mess.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lestraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Stayed at this hotel on September 7th and 8th 2010. Upon check in I asked if I could switch my room from an upper level room to a first floor with patio. "No Problem!" was the reply. Upon entering the room I was pleasantly surprised with the space and layout. King size bed, reading chair, desk with chair, bed side tables and coffee maker. Room also had a nice size flat screen tv, at least 40 inches. Beds were soft with plenty of pillows and a/c worked great. Only two complaints were wake up call did not work each morning and they do not have movies to rent. Being away on business without the wife and kids I was looking forward to catching up on a couple of movies that I had missed in the theater. The staff was pleasant, you cannot walk past an employee without them saying "Good Morning, Afternoon or Evening". If you ask a question, be ready for the answer because they will make sure they have answered every question before they let you move on. Would I stay here again on business, "Yes". Even though the pool was closed it look great. It was still full of water but closed down because it was the day after labor day.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpcpjep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

I have never reviewed a hotel until now. But, I want to provide another point of view about the Pikesville Hilton. I have stayed at this hotel, every Mon-Thurs, since Oct 2009. I have stayed in over 20 rooms and experienced a fairly consistent, pleasant stay each time. I had only 2 'room-related' issues over this period: 1) a room's heating system failed; 2) water leaked through the window during an extremely heavy rain - this was due to the window not being securely latched. During the Jan-Mar period, there were intermittent problems with the TV because Comcast was upgrading the region's signal (it was not isolated to the Hilton). I have seen no bugs nor detected any noxious room odors. I have asthma, so I am sensitive to these things.
My rooms have all been comfortable, the staff has always made me feel welcomed, and the fitness facilities are very good. I have seen Bill Leonhardt (GM) and his front desk team, led by Kim and Emily, handle the most stressed out guests to resolve their problems professionally and fairly. I have never seen anyone on his team loose their temper, cop an attitude, or be direspectful to any guest.
I am not arguing with those who posted negative reviews. But, I hope that those who are considering a hotel in the Pikesville area consider this: of the thousands of people who have stayed here each year, you will always have a few who feel their stay was not up to par and must vent their emotions. But, having been a guest of this hotel for nearly a year, and someone who has traveled all over the world, I felt compelled to guide the readers of these reviews to consider staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elrod_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pikesville
3 mi away
Hyatt Place Baltimore/Owings Mills
0.2 mi away
Ramada Pikesville/Baltimore North
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Owings Mills
Hampton Inn Owings Mills
#1 of 5 in Owings Mills
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Pikesville
Howard Johnson Pikesville
#2 of 4 in Pikesville
474 reviews
3.9 mi away
Residence Inn Baltimore Owings Mills
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Owings Mills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Baltimore North - Pikesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Baltimore North - Pikesville

Address: 1726 Reisterstown Rd, Pikesville, MD 21208-2974 (Formerly Hilton Pikesville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Pikesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pikesville
Price Range: $114 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Baltimore North - Pikesville 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Baltimore North - Pikesville is a full-service hotel north of Baltimore. The hotel features stylish and comfy guest rooms, deluxe amenities such as complimentary WiFi, and event space perfect for weddings or corporate functions. Whether staying for business or leisure, you'll enjoy all of the perks provided at this hotel in Pikesville, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Baltimore North - Pikesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Pikesville Hotel Pikesville
Pikesville Hilton Hotel
Hilton Hotel Pikesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing