We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK But Rundown”

The Olive Branch Restaurant
Ranked #42 of 68 Restaurants in Pikesville
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“OK But Rundown”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We love italian food. The food here is OK. The most outstanding dish we had were teriyaki wings, and they were really good. The salad would have been better served in a chilled bowl like Olive Garden does. Greens are greens and the bowl of dressing sitting on top of the salad was rather unappetizing. We had pan pizzas, nothing spectacular, and the saucing was good. The crust had the looks of premade and baked, but I'm just not sure that is the case. Besides being rather dingy looking, our wine and water glasses stuck to the table everytime we put them down.
The tables certainly were clean, but looked very heavily varnished. Service was attentive and prices were average.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    30
    20
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Italian food, needs renovation badly”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The restautant is adjacent/joined to one of the worst motels in Baltimore, so if you can deal with that, the restaurant is acceptable. It needs renovation very badly, it still has an odor of cigarette smoke (when smoking was allowed).
They give you alot for your dollar, Unlimited salad, fresh breadsticks and the entrees are good. the eggplant parm is great, they are known for their crabcakes.The portions are huge, you can split the food or have plenty to take home.
I'd rate it higher, but the ambience is poor and the wait staff is spotty. It can be fine, or the waiter/waitress can disappear for long periods. It's not acceptable to wait 1/2 hour for the check.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 60811Traveler626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
“Delicious food at a reasonable price”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Crab cakes, chicken parm are amazing! Fabulous house salad and yummy bread sticks too. Everything was prepared fresh and the staff was friendly and hospitable!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nichole' G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Spaghetti and meatballs - very tasty. Chicken Marsala- very good. Eggplant w/mozzarella quite tasteful. All of our dinners were very generous servings. Sald and bread sticks were plentiful. Wine reasonably priced.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank l7thtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Something for everyone!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place has it all!
Delicious Italian favorites, seafood cooked to perfection, steaks, veal, chops, and great appetizers. The unlimited salad and bread sticks are wonderful too!
We had our Agency holiday party here. Everyone got what they wanted, even the vegetarian and vegan folks.
You will never be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrise85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olive Branch Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Olive Branch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing