We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent crabs, good appetizers”

Mike's Crab House North
Ranked #15 of 108 Restaurants in Pasadena
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Mike's Crab House in Riva, MD (http://www.mikescrabhouse.com/ ) has just opened a new restaurant in Pasadena (previously Windows on the Bay). They remodeled totally and have opened with many locals trying them out the past few weeks although I don't think they have yet to have the grand opening.
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Decent crabs, good appetizers”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Went to sit on the deck and eat some crabs in the evening, overall the crabs were good but not as good as Fifer's. Appetizers and desserts were good. Service was great, large crabs were $65 a dozen. I'd come back for the atmostphere though!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    42
    18
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice location, mediocre food and service.”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Went for dinner, seated right away. Food was ok. For appetizers, fried clams were tasty, but calamari was blah and undercooked. Cream of crab soup was tasteless with very little crab, and when asked, they couldn't even give you sherry to add to it. Husband says it was so thick and pasty you could hang wallpaper with it. Location is nice but it's so loud you can't hear the people at your table. Also wait staff run around like chickens with heads cut off, and it takes forever to get served. Had to ask 3 times for glass of water which took 30 minutes to get. I don't think we'll be going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mdstef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great location - outside deck and salad bar”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Great summertime location with large outside deck to eat on. Huge menu which includes a salad bar and sandwichs including the normal seafood entrees.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WxmanMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena MD
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Old location new name”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Mothers day at Mike's offered up some good sea food at reasonable prices. The crab cakes alone are worth the visit. The soft-shell crab sandwich I had was fried to a tenderness that was not greasy.

My only disappointment during this visit was the table we were seated at in the interior bar. Because it was so busy, we were seated next to the food/bar service window which meant having the servers rub elbows with me while I was trying to eat.

The location right on the water offers a relaxing view. There is a choice of a large deck for outside service or the spacious inside restaurant. A large tiki bar on the outside deck is under cover so no matter what the elements, fun can still be had.

We have visited this restaurant several times in the past when it was under the previous ownership "Windows on the Bay" and several times under the new ownership. We like what they have done to improve the experience. I do find it very confusing however the way beer is made available. In the tiki bar only certain types of beer are available, mostly domestic. If you want micro brew on tap, you have to be seated at a table inside or at an outside table away from the tiki bar.

Fair warning to late arrivals, during the late spring thru the early fall, this place is packed during the weekends. Get there early.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AFsilverfox52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Good food and finally a location to boat to! The meals were above average and the drinks were good. Nice outside seating.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank IslandtravelerUSVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mike's Crab House North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing