We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy Chinese”
Review of Olive and Sesame

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Olive and Sesame
Ranked #20 of 107 Restaurants in Pasadena
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Calabash, North Carolina
Level Contributor
116 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Healthy Chinese”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We have been to Olive and Sesame frequently since they opened and have always enjoyed the items on their Revolution Diet menu. We prefer the steamed preparation and the availability of brown rice instead of traditional white rice. The chef is always willing to change sauces and change the hotness to suit our tastes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeclaxton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    17
    1
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“scallops taste like bleach”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband had a shrimp and scallop dinner in a white sauce, he asked me to try a scallop and after I tried it, said, it tastes like bleach, doesn't it? It did taste like bleach. My cat would not eat it. The shrimp in the dish did not taste like bleach. The white sauce had no taste. I ordered terriyaki tuna. The tuna portion was fine and the terriyaki sauce was ok. I was extremely disappointed that the grilled vegetables consisted of 3 pieces of broccoli, one slice of carrot and 1/2 of a small red potato. the dish cost 15.95 and should have had more vegetables. I would not go back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank dawnweek8_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“We vomited all night”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

OMG we both had that gray tuna and a scallop main dish. Both of us were up al night terribly ill. No slurp. Missed work. I will say our waiter was great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelhoundMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
Level Contributor
106 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Super Sushi”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

If you like sushi, this is the place to go. They will even make it how you like it. I like my California roll with carrot instead of cucumber and they had no problem making to to order! Yummy! We have also order carry out several times and it has always been outstanding.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Liv2dyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, FL
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not your local Chinese”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We dined at Olive & Sesame on 3/19/13 while visiting the area. Food selection is extensive and all dishes ordered for our party of 8 were tasty and fresh. Make sure if you order tea that you request the type you would like. They served us green tea instead of chinese tea. We would go again on our next visit to area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive and Sesame also viewed

 

Been to Olive and Sesame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing