We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty!”

EL Trovador Mercado Latino
Order Online
Ranked #21 of 97 Restaurants in Parkville
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great food, friendly service, good pricing. We enjoyed our meals! Had no idea this great little place was here. We’ll be back!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank trhccrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (10)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 10 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2019

Thank you so much for taking such good care of our group of 8. Glendi and Neysa, our servers, were just amazing. They started us off with chips and salsa. We were delaying ordering as one of our guests had not arrived. The staff went with the flow. If you can believe, most of the people in our group had never eaten Mexican food. They thought it would be too spicy for them. They were all so surprised – they really liked the food.
We all ordered something different. We had Two Chicken Burritos, Shrimp Tacos, Chicken Tacos, Bistec Encebollado, Quesadillas, Chicken Fajitas and Enchiladas. The portions were generous. For dessert, we ordered three pieces of Tres Leches cake. Oh my, what a sweet way to end a delicious meal. We all had a great time!

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lpMaggi713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2019 via mobile

El Trovador was certainly a troubadour to our appetites. Service was prompt and friendly. The staff helped explain and translate as needed. A coca cola from Mexico and tamarind juice got us started. We chose the pork and cheese pupusas as an appetizer. Delicious ... and a few of these would be a meal in themselves. The accompanying 'slaw' was tangy. We chose two of the specials, which were huge and guaranteed a second meal to take home. The fajita special had chicken, shrimp, pork and beef ribs with a special sauce on a steaming iron skillet. The refried beans on the side tasted home made. The special seafood dish, mariscada 7 mares, had at least 10 to 12 shrimp plus half a lobster, scallops, calamari and a huge clam served in a bowl of golden creamy and delicately flavored sauce. The corn tortillas came hot and fluffy, thicker and tastier than the usual variety. Delicious desserts are made on site so we enjoyed their flan and tres leches 'cake'. The adjoining Latin grocery story had abundant wares. Found dried shrimp, which I have been searching for and El Trovador's own brand of ground espresso. One can do BYOB, but we were happy with the fruit and soft drink choices. Good parking and reasonable prices for such generous servings.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank 703BillB703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2019

We were looking for a Mexican restaurant in our area that was also a BYOB. I read about El Trovador and decided we needed to try it out. We met our daughter and son-in-law on a Wednesday night. The restaurant is small with tables and banquette seating. Our server, Celso, was a delight. He was so upbeat, attentive and friendly. The bonus was on Wednesday they offer Burritos for $5.99. We were in! Three of us had the burritos, two with steak and one with ground beef. They were huge and were accompanied with a small salad with Mexican crema (sour cream) for dressing. My husband ordered the Bistec Encebollado (grilled steak mixed with grilled onions) with rice and a small salad and 2 tortillas. I had no idea what a Pupusa was, so we ordered two to try. One was filled with rice and beans (not great) and one had pork and rice (really good – lots of flavor). We were very pleased with our dinners.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lpMaggi713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2017

This is a simple restaurant with a Hispanic market next door.
Food and atmosphere are very good. BYOB!

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bonmikulka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EL Trovador Mercado Latino also viewed

 

Been to EL Trovador Mercado Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing