We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Sunday Brunch”
Review of Latitude 38

Latitude 38
Ranked #3 of 9 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Latitude 38 has a bistro atmosphere with the walls filled with art from local artists. Our two seperate dining areas and a 20 seat bar give our guests a choice in ambience. Our fabulous menu changes every two weeks and offers local seasonal fare prepared by our Chef Doug Stewart. The menu offers full and half entrees and a few lite fare options as well. We can host private parties for rehearsal dinners, showers, engagement paties and of course cater off premise as well.Make sure to visit us when in Oxford. We promise a great dining experinece.
Edgewater, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Superb Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We tried Latitude 38 on Sunday, Sept 1st, 2013. We stopped in looking for lunch but on Sundays the menu is a delightful brunch with a creative and appealing selection of unusual dishes, such as the Andouille Eggs Benedict I ordered and my wife's Vanilla Infused Decadent French Toast. The food was mouthwatering good, the coffee the best I had in a long time, the decor inside was as unexpected as it was beautiful as from the outside this looks, well...down home is a polite description. The wait staff was attentive and friendly, I consider service to be the most important part of any dining out experience when rating a place. We love Oxford in the summertime and we will be dining here again on our next visit, truly an Eastern Shore treasure!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TopCat390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendypalmer, Owner at Latitude 38, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. What a lovely review!! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your meal, service and the ambiance. Sunday Brunch is a tradition here at Latitude 38. We start you off with warm coffee cake and offer so many terrific egg dishes and the not so traditional options as well. We have a creative team in the kitchen that loves to dream up new specials each week. We look forward to having you back on your next visit to Oxford!
Wendy Palmer
Latitude 38
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    49
    15
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Four of us ate there Saturday night. Place was very crowded but it was Labor Day weekend. Pleasant waitress who kept her cool despite the long wait times. Mussel appetizer very good. Dinner was good but not great. Two at the table had scallops which both enjoyed except both agreed the rice the scallops sat on was tasteless. Crab cake also very good. Would return but on slower night.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottMacD50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendypalmer, Owner at Latitude 38, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I specifically remember you and your table from this Labor Day weekend, in fact I believe I served you the mussels. I am thrilled that you liked the crab cakes and mussels. It was a busy night, and our staff seemed to handle it well as you mentioned. I am sorry that the rice with the scallops wasn't up to par; usually flavor is our forte! In the future please let management know so we can correct things on the spot. We truly want every guest to leave here happy.
It means so much to us to have feedback and we value your comments.
Thanks again,
Wendy Palmer
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Looks are decieving”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

If you judge a book by it's cover you will miss great meal. The curb view includes gas pumps but once you walk in you will enjoy a great meal in a tastefully decorated restaurant. The food is top notch and a great value. Latitude 38 offers a half size entrée for most meals and this is the perfect size. The food is prepared and presented well, and the service was excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank golfnut51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendypalmer, Owner at Latitude 38, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. You are most definitely right that we are a complete to surprise on the inside! I am glad you enjoyed your meal and I hope you will be back soon!
Wendy Palmer
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb food”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Don't let the outside food you - there is fine dining in this establishment. It's a hard decision when everything on the menu sounds delicious.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank fellinimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendypalmer, Owner at Latitude 38, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thanks for taking time to review us on Trip Advisor! We are glad you enjoyed your meal at Latitude 38! We appreciate your feedback and sharing your experience with other potential guests!
Agreed, the outside doesn't match the inside, but that is what makes it such a surprise!
We love that you had a tough time deciding, and most folks do. The menu changes every weeks and our locals love that!
We hope we see you on your next trip to Oxford!
Wendy Palmer
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“The Best Prime Rib”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

When you are tired of seafood and want to have a wonderful dinner make sure to include this in your plans. The only thing I would want differently would be that they try a different vegetable, perhaps broiled tomatoes or summer squash broccoli is a little old. But the prime rib is done to perfection.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank booksVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendypalmer, Owner at Latitude 38, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thanks for taking time to review us on Trip Advisor! We are glad you enjoyed your meal at Latitude 38! We appreciate your feedback and sharing your experience with other potential guests!
That prime rib is so good! Every Wednesday night for just $16.95! Spread the word!
Thanks again!
Wendy Palmer
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Latitude 38 also viewed

 
Oxford, Talbot County
 

Been to Latitude 38? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing