We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Oyster Pot Pie!”

The Robert Morris Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Robert Morris Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $48
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Once the home of Robert Morris who gained fame as "Financier of the Revolution". General and later President George Washington was a close friend and visited Robert Morris often. In more recent times author James Michener outlined his famous novel, Chesapeake here and fell in love with our renowned crab cakes.Now the Eastern Shore's most unique historic restaurant with rooms under celebrity Chef Proprietor, Mark Salter and Ian Fleming.Enter the Inn and step back 300 years: a pristine yet historic interior welcomes with timber beams, panelled walls and open fires in the cooler months. Through to Salter's Tavern featuring historic red brick walls and old slate floors, with magnificent fires in the cooler months and offering casual outside dining on our Terraces and Veranda during balmy warm summers.This is a truly historic Inn, cosy with a natural patina running through. Friendly, great cuisine and understated professional service.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic Oyster Pot Pie!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

From the Winter Special Menu (5-6 p.m. every night) we ordered the Chicken Curry and the Oyster Pot Pie. The curry was good but not very spicy and the Oyster Pot Pie was fabulous! Lovely ambiance with a fire blazing and dark woods. Our server, Kara was very attentive and friendly. We can't wait to return for the Thursday Lobster special!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krista T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Krista
Many thanks for your generous comments and for sharing those with fellow travellers. So pleased you enjoyed your experience, a perfect antidote to a cold winters day. We look forward to your return. Our Bar Menu specials feature until the end of April.
Regards
Mark & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    81
    35
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland
1 review
“I love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

I'm born and raised on the eastern shore of Maryland, and they have the best cream of crab soup I've ever had. Loved the atmosphere and ambiance. The service was great and Ben Stein was there! Bonus!

Helpful?
Thank arabbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Many thanks for you kind words and delighted you enjoyed your experience. Thank you for your business and book far enough in advance and we will do our best to have Ben here.
Mark & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Level Contributor
127 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“An Absolute Must!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

My precious husband is a corporate pilot and I get to accompany him on trips at times! This trip to Easton, MD was for 3 nites / 4days and being the planner he is he had researched restaurants! We both appreciate "history" being South Carolians and this Inn / restaurant was perfect! The wait staff was awesome - even offering up brochures on the Inn's history, the current owner and Chef!

Let me preface this with my being from "The South" I try crab soup wherever I go and this was probably the best I have ever had! Creamy but not watery with chunks of fresh crab ... To die for! I opted for the crab cake entree and my husband had the prime rib special! Both were absolutely perfectly prepared and delicious!! I'd never seen my husband clean a plate like that!

We enjoyed the murals, lighting, bricks, and even the roaring fireplace to add to the ambience!

Thought we'd had enough, but when she told us about the "special" carrot cake (chef's wife's recipe) which was carrot cake inside chocolate cake and icing we had to try! It was fantastic! If you don't like chocolate you might want to opt for something different but we shared it and loved it!

I would absolutely return to this restaurant! I hope they don't change a thing!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Peggy
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. Much appreciated and all passed on to our valued team. We are so gratefull for your bbusiness and delighted you enjoyed your experience so thoroughly. We look forward to your return.
Regards
Mark & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudlersville, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We made reservations for the Celebration Tea on a whim. The food was fresh, delicious and authentic! We were seated in a waterfront sitting room. The staff was friendly and served without hovering. Highly recommend this for an afternoon adventure!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Anne
Thank you for your kind words and we are so pleased you enjoyed your experience. Afternoon Tea is a very unique occasion and suits our historic Inn and setting very well. All items are made freshly which really lets flavor shine through. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Regards
Mark & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very disappointed.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

My husband and I were spending 24 hours in Oxford and were looking forward to sitting by the fire in a quaint old inn and having a glass of wine together. Well, that didn't happen. First we were greeted by a rude person, we had a reservation and unfortunately we were half an hour late , our fault. But she didn't need to be so rude. She told us that we were late and she had just told the chef to close the kitchen because we weren't coming. She should have done us a favor and told us they were closed. Instead they did accommodate us. There was no fire in the fireplace and the decor was that of an old bar! Our meal and drinks for 2 was $78.00 not at all worth it. Our waitress was very nice but everything else was extremely disappointing.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We were disapointed to learn of your experience. Whilst we do enjoy a hard won reputation we work hard to maintain it. Your experience is not typical and we were greatful for the opportunity to follow up with you. The issues unique to that occasion have now been resolved and we do hope you return at some future time.
Regards
Mark & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Robert Morris Inn also viewed

 
St. Michaels, Talbot County
St. Michaels, Talbot County
 

Been to The Robert Morris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing