We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed.”

The Robert Morris Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Robert Morris Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $48
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Once the home of Robert Morris who gained fame as "Financier of the Revolution". General and later President George Washington was a close friend and visited Robert Morris often. In more recent times author James Michener outlined his famous novel, Chesapeake here and fell in love with our renowned crab cakes.Now the Eastern Shore's most unique historic restaurant with rooms under celebrity Chef Proprietor, Mark Salter and Ian Fleming.Enter the Inn and step back 300 years: a pristine yet historic interior welcomes with timber beams, panelled walls and open fires in the cooler months. Through to Salter's Tavern featuring historic red brick walls and old slate floors, with magnificent fires in the cooler months and offering casual outside dining on our Terraces and Veranda during balmy warm summers.This is a truly historic Inn, cosy with a natural patina running through. Friendly, great cuisine and understated professional service.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My husband and I were spending 24 hours in Oxford and were looking forward to sitting by the fire in a quaint old inn and having a glass of wine together. Well, that didn't happen. First we were greeted by a rude person, we had a reservation and unfortunately we were half an hour late , our fault. But she didn't need to be so rude. She told us that we were late and she had just told the chef to close the kitchen because we weren't coming. She should have done us a favor and told us they were closed. Instead they did accommodate us. There was no fire in the fireplace and the decor was that of an old bar! Our meal and drinks for 2 was $78.00 not at all worth it. Our waitress was very nice but everything else was extremely disappointing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank shg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Robert Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

We were disapointed to learn of your experience. Whilst we do enjoy a hard won reputation we work hard to maintain it. Your experience is not typical and we were greatful for the opportunity to follow up with you. The issues unique to that occasion have now been resolved and we do hope you return at some future time.
Regards
Mark & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 273 of 414 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

The Inn had a lovely fire going when we arrived on a cold, rainy night. We were immediately greeted by friendly hostesses and our waiter was very helpful and friendly as well. The meal was plentiful and tasty. The beef so tender and the fish very fresh with a light sauce over them. I would highly recommend this as a place for a special dinner, the food was worth every penny. If money isn't an issue, then by all means visit regularly. For those with dietary restrictions, the staff took them seriously and were very helpful in finding the best foods for me.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Robert Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Kim
Thank you for your kind words and generous comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your experience. Our ancient Inn with roaring fires and historic patina is the perfect place to spend some time in these colder months. We look forward to seeing you in the warmer ones too. We are blessed with wonderful staff all of whom are encouraged to listen.
Regards
Mark & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We visited the Robert Morris Inn from our home in nearby Easton for Sunday brunch. While a fire was going in the dining room, that was about the only plus. The tables and chairs weren't very comfortable, the service was mediocre at best (we had to ask for everything, sometimes more than once) . The food was all right. Nothing to make us return however. Oxford is a really quaint setting and it's unfortunate the dining is not up to par at the Robert Morris Inn.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank KiskaBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Robert Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thank you for visiting our Inn and sharing your thoughts with fellow travellers. Our historic Tavern is generally considered at its finest this time of year with roaring fires and dark timber finishes, though we appreciate that is not to everyones taste. Brunch is always busy and generally viewed as our best value and we are disapointed you were not won over. Should you care to try us again, and we hope you do, then please ask to see one of the owners if your not totally satisfied and we will respond.
Regards
Mark & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My husband and I really love the atmosphere of the Tavern at the Robert Morris Inn. We visited here on a Saturday at 2:20 p.m. wanting to eat lunch. We were greeted by a grouchy staff person who told us "the kitchen was closed but we could have drinks at the bar." Then the same staff person announced to the bartender "the kitchen is not doing anything right now." So we sat at the bar and had some drinks contemplating where we would go to eat. While we realize there needs to be breaks in between main dining times, it seems reasonable that an Inn as nice as The Robert Morris Inn would have at least a limited bar menu to order from in between the main dining times. While the atmosphere is very nice, the staff were abrupt and we were made to feel like we were not welcome there and probably should have just left. My husband asked for a beer that was listed on the blackboard only to told they didn't have it yet the bartender didn't remove it from the list. The bartender was not very professional and the area behind the bar was noticeably dirty. Disappointed we left after a couple of drinks and went to eat in St. Michaels.

    • Service
2  Thank HauntedTraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

You may sit in the colonial dining room among white tablecloths or cozy up to a fire in the wood paneled back room. In summer, enjoy an outside table with a view of the Tred Avon. Whatever the season, you'll find the food exceptional, thanks to chef Mark Salter.

Thank movedtomaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Robert Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thank you for your kind words and we certainly appreciate your business. This is a wonderfully historic and charming building and town and we are luckly to be able to offer so many dining options. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Mark & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Robert Morris Inn also viewed

 
Oxford, Talbot County
St. Michaels, Talbot County
 

Been to The Robert Morris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing