We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A local place”

The Robert Morris Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Robert Morris Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $48
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Once the home of Robert Morris who gained fame as "Financier of the Revolution". General and later President George Washington was a close friend and visited Robert Morris often. In more recent times author James Michener outlined his famous novel, Chesapeake here and fell in love with our renowned crab cakes.Now the Eastern Shore's most unique historic restaurant with rooms under celebrity Chef Proprietor, Mark Salter and Ian Fleming.Enter the Inn and step back 300 years: a pristine yet historic interior welcomes with timber beams, panelled walls and open fires in the cooler months. Through to Salter's Tavern featuring historic red brick walls and old slate floors, with magnificent fires in the cooler months and offering casual outside dining on our Terraces and Veranda during balmy warm summers.This is a truly historic Inn, cosy with a natural patina running through. Friendly, great cuisine and understated professional service.
easton, md
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A local place”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The food here is delicious. Inn has been around for a long time, now has new owners/chef. Love the chicken liver appetizer, fish and chips, burger, dinners are great. Pretty much can't go wrong with anything.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jcbweborder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and generous comments. We regard ourselves most fortunate to be the guardians of this historic gem.
Regards

Mark & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    84
    37
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Alva, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Robert Morris Inn for dinner”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We dined at the Robert Morris Inn last night. The Creme of Crab Soup was the best we've had anywhere on the Chesapeake. My Crab cake was wonderful and my husband raved about the filet Mignon. Our service was pleasant and professional. The atmosphere was charming. We will probably dine there again tonight.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanditoes11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Delighted you enjoyed your dining experience with us. The kitchen team pass on their thanks too. We look forward to seeing you again during your stay.
Regards
Mark & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent place for dinner”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The restaurant of the Robert Morris Inn in the charming, one-main-street little town of Oxford on the Maryland eastern shores of Chesapeake Bay is an excellent place for dinner. Housed inside a historic building, the ambient is the combination of old world charm and folksy utilitarian. The tasty bread is warm and the butter is soft – items neglected by a lot of restaurants which serve lukewarm bread and hard butter, or worst, cold bread and butter. We tried the crab spring roll, crisp salmon and crab cake. The spring roll is crispy, full of fresh tasting crab meat and green veggie. The salmon is crisp outside but soft and pink inside. The crab cake is among the best I have tried. We ordered a side dish of grill asparagus which are simply prepared, not fibrous at all, a good addition to the main courses. All are excellent dishes, well prepared, indicative of a very capable chef. A restaurant we will go again and again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MojaveMaxNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words and generous comments. We appreciate you sharing these with us and fellow travellers. On the Eastern Shore we really are blessed with world beating produce throughout the season. My seveteen-year relationship with local suppliers ensures I get the best produce available. Again my thanks and those of the rest of my team. We look forward to welcoming you back and be sure to tell me if I ever miss the mark!
Mark & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very poor customer service!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Robert Morris Inn doesn't know the meaning of customer service. We gave our parents a gift card and when then came for dinner, the card was rejected - they had to pay. The Inn refused to resolve the issue with us and not only was this completely embarrassing, but the ongoing excuses for something so easy to resolve are pathetic. Not to mention my parents noted the meal was mediocre. I'd advise taking your business elsewhere. There are many charming places with great service in the area.

Helpful?
Thank 281andyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Mistakes can happen and when they do we do our utmost to resolve matters as quickly as we can. This review is respectfully incorrect as the matter was resolved with an apology, complimentary $100 gift certifcate and drinks. We are pleased we did resolve matters to the satisfaction of the recipients, thank them for their patience and we are looking forward to their return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Love it!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Food, service and staff are all exceptional. I love the patio, front and back! Chef Salter's crab spring roll is still the best. Wine selections by the glass are also wonderful. Summer or winter, this is a great place to get away!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarylandMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Maureen,
High praise indeed and our gratefull thanks to you for those and for visting the Inn. We appreciate your business! We will continue to develop our beverage offerings this seasonn with more wines by the glass and features such as Irish Magners Cider.
Have a great summer and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Mark & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Robert Morris Inn also viewed

 
Oxford, Talbot County
 
St. Michaels, Talbot County
Oxford, Talbot County
 

Been to The Robert Morris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing