We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch”

The Robert Morris Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Robert Morris Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $48
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Once the home of Robert Morris who gained fame as "Financier of the Revolution". General and later President George Washington was a close friend and visited Robert Morris often. In more recent times author James Michener outlined his famous novel, Chesapeake here and fell in love with our renowned crab cakes.Now the Eastern Shore's most unique historic restaurant with rooms under celebrity Chef Proprietor, Mark Salter and Ian Fleming.Enter the Inn and step back 300 years: a pristine yet historic interior welcomes with timber beams, panelled walls and open fires in the cooler months. Through to Salter's Tavern featuring historic red brick walls and old slate floors, with magnificent fires in the cooler months and offering casual outside dining on our Terraces and Veranda during balmy warm summers.This is a truly historic Inn, cosy with a natural patina running through. Friendly, great cuisine and understated professional service.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We happened to be in Oxford in early April on a sunny day which apparently was the first nice day for a while. We sat at the patio and had hamburgers. The food was tasty and the service excellent.

Thank ryokogasuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Robert Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Delighted you enjoyed your experience and the waterview patio and terraces are wonderfull at this time of year. Thank you for sharing your comments with fellow travellers and we thank you for your business and look forward to welcoming you back.
Mark & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 320 of 413 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

Beautiful views of the river and ferry, make this B&B and restaurant a very popular stop. I had one of the best Bloody Mary's I have had but the Eggs Benedict - well let's just say that my opinion is that the eggs should not be almost hard boiled. A little runny is ok - but no run is a No No. The Hollandaise, muffin and crab meat were good - but the overcooked eggs did not do the dish justice. Just saying.....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Robert Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Hi Judy, Thank you so much for visiting The Inn and delighted that overall you enjoyed your experience. Agree whole heartidly with your comments on the eggs, they should have been soft and please accept our apologies for that. Comments received in the spirit offer, thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Mark & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I had the seafood sampler and it was superb. Perfect portion servings and excellent service rounder out our evening in this quaint dark wood tavern. The chef came around to talk with customers before ordering. I went with a friend who had superb salmon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gerrimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Robert Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thank you for your generous comments following your meal at the Inn and Tavern, much appreciated. Here on the Eastern Shore we are blessed with amazing produce, fresh and local and I try to come out from my hot kitchen as much as I can to talk directly to my customers. I take more back from that than you may imagine. Thank you again and look forward to seeing you again.
Regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Outstanding appetizer which included: pinko crusted oysters with greens and a lemon-thyme vinegrette. The special was surf and turf that included beef medallions with crab meat and shrimp, mashed potatoes and green beans with an amazing reduction beef sauce. All favors complimented each other. The portion was perfect. Excellent service and food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathleenlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Robert Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments following your visit to our Tavern. So pleased you enjoyed our special and those change nightly and repeat weekly. We look forward to you return.
Regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Eggs benedict with crabmeat was excellent. Everything is ala-carte. Belgian waffle was good too. Service good, atmosphere "historic".

Thank SteveS19046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at The Robert Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear Steve,
Thank you for your review following your visit. Sunday brunch is one of the great services and in the warmer months it spills out onto the outdoor terraces. Look forward to seeing you later in the year.
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Robert Morris Inn also viewed

 
Oxford, Talbot County
St. Michaels, Talbot County
 

Been to The Robert Morris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing