We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serenity and marvelous water views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandaway Waterfront Lodging
Ranked #1 of 5 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Millsboro, Delaware
Level Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Serenity and marvelous water views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

This is our second trip to the Sandaway. We stayed in one of the River Rooms with a large bedroom, sitting area, large bathroom including both a shower and a claw foot tub, and a lovely screened porch. We relaxed in Adirondack chairs on the gorgeous lawn overlooking the Tred Avon River. This was a regatta weekend, so we spent hours watching sailboat and log canoe races. Peaceful, yet exciting.

The lite fare breakfast was delivered to our room and would have benefited from a bit more protein, but overall it was tasty. The second morning we went to the Robert Morris Inn for a discounted full breakfast which was excellent. Our king size bed was comfy and we could see the water from our bed. In the evenings, after seeing a play by the Tred Avon Players, we sat in the screened porch and watched lightning bugs and listened to the big band music from the Yacht club next door. The staff are attentive without being intrusive. Our room and the grounds were all immaculately cared for.

Oxford is a quaint small town with people who like to sail, read mysteries, and eat well. It is upscale, charming, and quiet. The restaurants in town are excellent--especially Latitude 38. St. Michael's, a livelier noisier town which also has a marina, is a short ferry boat ride away. We like staying in Oxford and taking a day trip to St. Michael's.

The Sandaway's prices are in line with other b & b's in the area.

We are planning a return trip to the Sandaway!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_beez_md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    86
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
281
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

We are unable to understand why this place is included in the Select Registry of Inns. Other than its great location on the Tred Avon River, it has little to recommend it. Specifically, it is lacking in the following areas:
* Our room was large and the bath and bed were more than adequate but lacked pizzaz. The room was air-cooled and not air-conditioned - big difference on a 97 degree day in August. They had a dehumidifer running to assist in a limited way to improve the comfort level but it was too noisy to leave on. This would be funny if it wasn't so sad since our room cost $299.
* There is only 1 public room and it is only about 11 X 14 with just 1 couch, 2 chairs and no water view. Snacks consisted of granola or yogurt bars and Keurig coffee or tea served in styrofoam cups. We had to ask in the office for wine glasses and a corkscrew.
* The "Lite Fare Breakfast" was a sweet conglomeration of juice, yogurt and pastries. Nothing savory.
We will not be going back to this lodging where the great view trumps every other amenity.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CaptainCosmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

We stayed here over the 4th of July holiday. The Inn has a sublime location, on a quiet water front street, across from the Yacht Club. Oxford is very special. No nightlife, no boardwalks, no noise. Gorgeous boats, lovely old homes, and an upscale ambience that is felt, as much as observed. The Inn building is very old, (1800's), at least three stories, and is getting a quiet facelift at present, but has grace and style and laid back but refined charm. No elevators, no B&B breakfasts in the dining room, but a large basket arrives at your door between 8-9 a.m. , laden with a carafe of coffee, fresh baked goodies, greek yogurt, organic smoothies. We took ours outside on the lawn for a breakfast picnic in the morning air and enjoyed the complimentary newspaper. The back and sides of the Inn face a wide grassy lawn that dips to the water's edge. Clean and cool water! Sounds of the river's waves lapping on the shore are divine. Very quiet and a fabulous cool breeze that blew constantly off the water while the temps around town were in the high 90's! Fabulous food is a few steps away (1 minute walk)at the Robert Morris Inn, with outside or inside dining, and exquiiste food prepared by recently arrived Chef Salter, who, in our opinion, was responsible for the acclaim of the food at the Inn at Perry Cabin. He is now the Chef at the Robert Morris, and the food is unbelievable. The food is upscale, even when eaten on a picnic table under a tree (as was our preference).Gabe, the maitre'd, is such an asset and will continue to contribute to the success of this fabulous place to eat in Oxford. Seemingly, every guest (and there are less than twenty rooms at the Inn) sat reading, or talking in big Adirondack chairs or watching the gorgeous sailboats and cruisers go by. Tons of space between chairs. So relaxed and lovely. Cold bottled water and drinks, snacks are "on the house" all day and evening. Age range was across the board, and at sunset, two young couples swam in the water, a baby was carried on Dad's shoulders around the lawn, and other couples sat chatting quietly. 4th of July fireworks were on the 3rd, and our lawn was THE prime location for watching the barge on the river. (Inn guests only). Very impressive fireworks for such a small town! Our room was large, clean, and had that multitude of prints and fabrics that epitomizes the charm of an old Inn. Great shower and a big old antique tub in the huge bath. We slept with the windows open at night, but left the air on during the day. No tvs in room, but great music. Tv in sitting room downstairs. If you like quiet, charm, reading, watching boats, fine dining, seeing old homes in quaint Oxford, and qualitiy time with your partner or family, this place is a FIND. Our room was about 275 a night.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GayleMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

The location of Sandaway is ideal -- right on the water. The rest of the B&B was average. They do a "lite fare" breakfast, rather than the tradiational B&B style. The room was clean and large.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgt12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxford
7.2 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
#1 of 4 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
6.9 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Robert Morris Inn
Robert Morris Inn
#2 of 5 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
7.9 mi away
Tidewater Inn
Tidewater Inn
#4 of 9 in Easton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandaway Waterfront Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandaway Waterfront Lodging

Property: Sandaway Waterfront Lodging
Address: 103 West Strand Road, Oxford, MD 21654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Oxford
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandaway Waterfront Lodging 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandaway Waterfront Lodging has 18 B&B style accommodations in Oxford, MD - just seven miles from St. Michaels. Most rooms at Sandaway are waterfront with porches overlooking the Tred Avon River, Choptank River, and Chesapeake Bay. Guests at Sandaway can enjoy the waterfront lawn and private sandy beach. Sandaway is a member of Select Registry - Distinguished Inns, Small Hotels, and Bed and Breakfasts of North America. Oxford, Maryland was recently voted the best waterfront town in the world. Recent upgrades to Sandaway Waterfront Lodging include cable television in every accommodation. All Suites also now have a mini-fridge. The wireless high speed internet connection was recently upgraded. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandaway Waterfront Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing