We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Suites and Beach
Ranked #1 of 5 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Used a Travelzoo discount to spend a romantic few days with my husband at the Sandaway. Beautiful, inspiring surroundings in the small town of Oxford. The waterfront view is serene - could spend the whole day there just relaxing. The waterfront king room is spacious, with a balcony facing the water. Lots of nice restaurants - including the Robert Morris Inn - in the general vicinity including Easton and St. Michael's.

Room Tip: Definitely request a room facing the waterfront - it is THE reason to go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandaway, Manager at Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Suites and Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

That is great you had a wonderful getaway at Sandaway! Yes, Oxford and the rest of Talbot County offer many nice restaurants. Hopefully, you can return next year and have another wonderful experience. Thank you for your review.

Safe travels,
Ben Gibson - Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 386 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

Found a groupon for this b&b and jumped at the chance to a few days alone with my husband. Oxford is a sleepy little town, and being off season it was very quiet but just what we needed. When we arrived, our host, Wendy's seemed a bit out of sorts and a bit rushed with three of us checking in at the same time. She did push the couple before us to not get the basket of breakfast goodies the next morning but to have breakfast at the Robert Morris as this would help her out in the morning with baskets. That sorta hit Me wrong way but we too did the inn for breakfast and basket the 2nd day.

The rooms are older but nice, clean and had a wonderful view! We watched the sunset out by the water our first night and enjoyed dinner at the Robert Morris, can you tell all other places were closed ford inner! Enjoyed our time there.

The next morning we rose early to watch the sun start to hit the water, took a quick run, breakfast then went into Easton for the day. Returned toour room, grabbed some coffee from the hostess room and a game to play. We sat by the windows, opened and played a few times, read and just chilled! Dinner again we brought back from Robert Morris and just enjoyed alone time.

The inn I has a small room to watch tv, read and grab a few snacks/drinks. There were lots of chairs bythe water, hammocks on one deck and a great screen. Porch on our room. A small soaking tub that was enjoyed and privacy all around.

We would go back but maybe during the spring but it did the trick rest...relaxation...and time togehter

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank november728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandaway, Manager at Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Suites and Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you for your detailed review of your stay. It is nice to know you would like to come back in the spring! We want to make sure your check-in goes as smooth as possible next time and prevent any miscommunication. Many guests like the food at the Robert Morris Inn. They provide a breakfast discount as a special option for Sandaway guests. Our staff is instructed to tell about that option and it has become very popular. However, our breakfast baskets delivered to the rooms are complimentary, and can always be enjoyed for the entire stay. I do hope this information was relayed to you correctly and that you enjoyed the breakfast basket from your porch. As for restaurants in Oxford, there are three nice choices open in the colder months, and in the warmer season two more restaurants open up along the waterfront specializing in seafood. It will be nice to have you back in the spring.

Safe travels,
Ben Gibson - Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a weekend in the fall. The location is beautiful. It is right on the water. The view is unbeatable and feels relaxing and romantic. Be sure to check out the cool hideaway under the gigantic tree in the yard.

Our room was very comfortable. The sheets and towels were so soft and luxurious. The internet was fast and reliable. The decor felt a bit dated and when we arrived late at night and entered our cottage from the parking lot entrance we were a bit surprised to be walking into the bathroom. Once the shock faded, we really enjoyed our stay in the Tuckaway cottage. It was spacious and the bathroom has a great bath tub.

The breakfast was simple yet good. It is just a basket of goodies delivered to your door. There is fruit, yogurt, pastries, and granola bars as well as juice and coffee. If you are not a coffee drinker, there is tea (and cocoa) available in the communal guest areas but you have to leave your room to get it. Overall, it was a pleasant weekend with helpful staff. I would go back here.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mllespear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandaway, Manager at Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Suites and Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

I am so glad you had a pleasant escape at Sandaway. We appreciate your kind words, and are happy you really enjoyed your stay in the Tuckaway Cottage Suite. That suite does have a front and back entrance which can be convenient. It is wonderful you would come back to Sandaway! I do hope to see you again in Oxford, MD.

Safe travels,
Ben Gibson - Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had a great time. The room was very clean, comfortable and spacious. All the furnitures in the room was just what we needed. The breakfast at Robert Morris INN was delicious and the price was reasonable. Also the towns of OXFORD and EASTON MD are wonderful to visit and there are great restaurants in the area. Ben (Innkeeper) was very friendly. We are already looking forward to a return trip. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandaway, Manager at Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Suites and Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you for highly recommending Sandaway! It was very nice to meet you all, and we hope to see you again in Oxford. I am glad you enjoyed your accommodations and the Oxford, MD area. Yes, many guests do enjoy the food at the Robert Morris Inn, and I am pleased your breakfast was delicious.

Safe travels,
Ben Gibson - Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Clean, comfortable, quiet. Oxford is not a "night-life" place or even a window-shopping haven. It's back-water beaches and "calm yourself down" country. Unobtrusive and excellent housekeeping service. We were in Room 109 which has a screened in porch overlooking water. Don't expect fancy - furniture, home-cooked anything. Well-maintained property with lovely specimen landscape trees, bushes, hedges and grasses. Would like Sandaway innkeepers to consider supplying plush bathrobes and upgrading coffee amenities (better coffee? better Keurig machines?) in the common area. A couple of common lounge areas that were small but comfy. Remember, no TVs in your room. We're taking part in the area golf courses - Hog Neck, Rivermarsh and Harbourtown. Good food a quick walk away at the Robert Morris Inn. You must try the Scottish Highlands Creamery for ice cream. I'm a true ice cream snob and I ate the whole two-scoop waffle cone. We're heading to Pope's Tavern tonight for dinner - good reviews on Yelp.

Room Tip: Room 109 - bottom floor comes with parking spot right outside door. Top floor probably has same lay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JannyBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandaway, Manager at Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Suites and Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for your review and suggestions. We are glad you could enjoy the peace and quiet that Sandaway offers! We recently replaced the coffee machines in the common area, and I hope you did find a Green Mountain Coffee that you could enjoy from the selection. Our fresh brewed Colombian coffee in the morning is also very popular. All of Sandaway's suites do offer TV now, and there is free WiFi in all rooms. We recommend shopping trips to St. Michaels and Easton, Maryland that are just short drives away. For breakfast many of our guests enjoy the Amish baked goods included in their breakfast baskets, so I hope you got to try them. It would be nice to see you all again in Oxford, MD.

Safe travels,
Ben Gibson - Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We got a really good deal through Travelzoo so we figured we would give it a shot...and we're not disappointed at all. I see some of the whining reviews about the breakfast so obviously those people cannot read or were deaf as that was in the description as well as being explained during checkin.

Prices are on the expensive side in this area so you have to be prepared for that and accept it. We were and had a wonderful time. I don't look at the rooms as being "dated" but are decorated that way. Who would want to go to a historic town and have metal and glass furnishings...they have wifi and it works just fine! The rooms are nice, beds are comfortable and the breakfast was perfect for us as we're not BIG breakfast people...just coffee and a snack are fine. Conveniently located to the ferry and to restaurants which most were, unfortunately, closed. Norma is a peach and gave us a nice intro when we checked in.

Oxford is one sleepy little town with a few restaurants. No real shopping to be done but a nice quiet relaxing stay if that's what you're after. It rained our entire week in MD but that was OK with us...it just added to the relaxation. If you want to shop, hop the ferry and go to St Michaels. If you want to eat in Oxford...do your homework as most places are closed for the season this late or closed on Monday/Tuesday. The Robert Morris was the only restaurant open during our stay and that was fine with us...the food is great, albeit on the expensive side...read paragraph 2, sentence 1, lol!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tuckaway...nice size bedroom with a king bed. Bath facilities were all modern and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandaway, Manager at Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Suites and Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

We appreciate your kind words and are glad you got just what you needed! Thank you for your detailed description of your stay. Many guests do enjoy our breakfast baskets filled with baked goods, fruit, juice, yogurt, granola, and coffee. I am glad the free WiFi in your room was working well. We recently upgraded the high speed wireless internet. The two waterside restaurants in Oxford do close down in the colder months, but luckily there are three more restaurants in town. Fireside dining at Salter's Tavern is enjoyed by many of our guests in the fall and winter. We hope to see you all next year.

Safe travels,
Ben Gibson - Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

A wonderful place for a getaway. The views or the river from the large lawn are spectacular - especially the sunsets. Oxford is a quaint Eastern shore town with several shops and restaurants. The entire Easton/Oxford/St. Michaels is full of anything you might want to do. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and there are snacks and beverages available 24hours a day. Be sure and take the ferry across the river during your stay as well. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandaway, Manager at Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Suites and Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. That is wonderful you really enjoyed your stay and could get away from it all! The car ferry is very popular for our guests to take when they want to visit St. Michaels, Maryland. We hope you all can return next year.

Safe travels,
Ben Gibson - Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxford
7.2 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
0.6 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Robert Morris Inn
Robert Morris Inn
#2 of 5 in Oxford
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
11.5 mi away
Wades Point Inn on the Bay
7.9 mi away
Tidewater Inn
Tidewater Inn
#5 of 9 in Easton
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Suites and Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Suites and Beach

Address: 103 West Strand Road, Oxford, MD 21654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Oxford
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range: $305 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Suites and Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandaway Waterfront Lodging has 18 B&B style accommodations in Oxford, MD - just seven miles from St. Michaels. Most rooms at Sandaway are waterfront with porches overlooking the Tred Avon River, Choptank River, and Chesapeake Bay. Guests at Sandaway can enjoy the waterfront lawn and private sandy beach. Sandaway is a member of Select Registry - Distinguished Inns, Small Hotels, and Bed and Breakfasts of North America. Oxford, Maryland was recently voted the best waterfront town in the world. Recent upgrades to Sandaway Waterfront Lodging include cable television in every accommodation. All Suites also now have a mini-fridge. The wireless high speed internet connection was recently upgraded. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Suites and Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing