We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Relaxation, Total Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Suites and Beach
Ranked #1 of 5 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Total Relaxation, Total Hospitality”
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Few places actually turn out to be as good as they look in pictures--but Sandaways is that and more. Everything we could have asked for--and somethings we didn't even know to ask for--was seen through by innkeeper Ben Gibson, from the moment of our arrival to the time of our departure. The room, grounds, amenities (including breakfast basket that appeared without intrusion each morning at our door) and so on are given short shrift in other reviews--it is all more than could be expected.

We were actually hesitant to post a review for fear that too many other people would make a run for the Sandaway.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GulfDrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    91
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
23
292
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

There are lots of things to like about the Sandaway - comfortable beds, plush towels, amazingly soft sheets - but the real draw is the view. The lawn is scattered with Adirondack chairs from which you can watch the sun set over the Avon & Choptank Rivers and the Chesapeake Bay. Do be aware that, while everyone can get a lovely view of the sunset from the lawn, some rooms also have screened porches with views of the water. Make sure you reserve one of those if you'd like to remain outside but escape the mosquitos after dark.

Room Tip: Sandaway is a series of old Chesapeake homes. Be aware that stairs the the upstairs rooms can be st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Expat_mom_shanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2011

The Sandaway was the perfect place to spend our anniversary weekend! We had a beautiful room with a private screened-in porch overlooking the water on all sides. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They have free coffee/tea/drinks/snacks 27/4, so that was very nice. Lots of adirondack chairs out overlooking the water. It was just perfect! We will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Choptank rooms, a great choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coromble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pt pleasant, nj
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Weather was a 10+ and the house and room were glorious! We had a large King Size Room with its own screened in front porch! Fabulous view of the Chesapeake. Very large house, plantation like, with expansive lawn and adirondack chairs! The swinging hammock chairs were a major hit. Service was great. Definitely go back. Staying there and taking 8 min ferry over to St Michaels was way superior than staying in St MIchaels or Easton! Awesome time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzannefarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantsville, MD
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

On June 29, my husband and I got married at the Sandaway. We wanted to just do a small, mid-week wedding for our closest friends and family. Not only was the location extremely beautiful, but the service was impeccable. The weather was perfect and our little wedding took place between two large, old oak trees overlooking the Tred Avon River - simply beautiful!. Wendy Gibson and her son Ben, the innkeeper, made sure that every appointment was thought of. We had a filling breakfast basket the morning of our wedding and had access to complimentary beverages and snacks. The hospitality was very sincere and throughout the day, we were congratulated by personnel and often asked if we needed anything. The Gibsons even gave us a lovely gift!

We could not have asked for a more beautiful location. Our party stayed in the main house and the rooms were very cozy. The beds were extremely comfortable with the Comfy brand sheets and I noticed that the bathrooms, down to the corners, were clean.

It is nearly impossible to describe the beauty of the grounds. Large trees spot the property, which sits on a small beach where the Tred Avon laps at the sand. There are numerous lounge chairs to take advantage of and even a small boathouse for guests to enjoy. The town of Oxford itself is small and very relaxing.

We are already planning the trip back next year for our one year anniversary!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmilyNewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We have stayed many times at the beautiful and relaxing Sandaway. Every room we have stayed in was charming with every detail considered. The Gibson family's love of this Inn is evident in the special touches throughout the Inn including fresh coffee and the perfect blend of a light breakfast outside your door...in a hand-painted basket with Oxford scenes. The views are breathtaking, relaxing and unique. We slip away every chance we can to this very special place! Combine the Sandaway with dinner at the Robert Morris and you have a perfect weekend- in all seasons!

Room Tip: We have stayed in most ...favorite is waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VAHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Mississippi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

An absolutely beautiful location. I felt like I was a guest at a luxurious private estate. The grounds were immaculate and to sit under under the oaks and watch sailboats gliding in and out was so relaxing. The main house is impressive and masterfully renovated. The newer cottages are inexpensively built but well appointed and very comfortable. The staff was very professional. Breakfast is adequate, the complementary snacks in the lounge a welcome addition. The town is picturesque and so inviting. A wonderful experience, can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panolayankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxford
7.2 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
0.6 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
39 reviews
5.6 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
0.1 mi away
Robert Morris Inn
Robert Morris Inn
#2 of 5 in Oxford
240 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Suites and Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Suites and Beach

Property: Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Suites and Beach
Address: 103 West Strand Road, Oxford, MD 21654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Oxford
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Suites and Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandaway Waterfront Lodging has 18 B&B style accommodations in Oxford, MD - just seven miles from St. Michaels. Most rooms at Sandaway are waterfront with porches overlooking the Tred Avon River, Choptank River, and Chesapeake Bay. Guests at Sandaway can enjoy the waterfront lawn and private sandy beach. Sandaway is a member of Select Registry - Distinguished Inns, Small Hotels, and Bed and Breakfasts of North America. Oxford, Maryland was recently voted the best waterfront town in the world. Recent upgrades to Sandaway Waterfront Lodging include cable television in every accommodation. All Suites also now have a mini-fridge. The wireless high speed internet connection was recently upgraded. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Suites and Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing