We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite getaway on the Eastern Shore”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Suites and Beach
Ranked #1 of 5 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
McLean, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favorite getaway on the Eastern Shore”
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We have stayed many times at the beautiful and relaxing Sandaway. Every room we have stayed in was charming with every detail considered. The Gibson family's love of this Inn is evident in the special touches throughout the Inn including fresh coffee and the perfect blend of a light breakfast outside your door...in a hand-painted basket with Oxford scenes. The views are breathtaking, relaxing and unique. We slip away every chance we can to this very special place! Combine the Sandaway with dinner at the Robert Morris and you have a perfect weekend- in all seasons!

Room Tip: We have stayed in most ...favorite is waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VAHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    88
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
21
284
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Como, Mississippi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

An absolutely beautiful location. I felt like I was a guest at a luxurious private estate. The grounds were immaculate and to sit under under the oaks and watch sailboats gliding in and out was so relaxing. The main house is impressive and masterfully renovated. The newer cottages are inexpensively built but well appointed and very comfortable. The staff was very professional. Breakfast is adequate, the complementary snacks in the lounge a welcome addition. The town is picturesque and so inviting. A wonderful experience, can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panolayankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Visited Sandaway for our anniversary, and booked the Sandaway suite. Previous visit we stayed in the carriage house, and liked the place so much we came back. The Suite is roomy, with a king size bed and large tub (not whirlpool). Did have a TV, but we never turned it on. It has a private screened porch on the lawn side of the house, with a wicker loverseat. It's comfortable enough, but we would have had to move the loveseat so it was blocking the door to both have a view of the water. The bed was a bit firm for my taste, and I did have to use the steps to get into it (I'm 5'4). Keep the shades drawn in the bathroom, as there is no view put the septic tanks and driveway. The view from teh bedroom is of the lawn and has a side river view.

The 1st day we did the basket breakfast - 2 pasteries, 2 yogurt, cranberries, coffee and orange juice. I'm not a big breakfast eater, and we wanted to sleep in, so this worked great. 2nd day we went to the Inn on the corner and used our 10% discount - I had the eggs benedict, and wish I'd read the menu more carefully, because they substituted crab meat for ham. Husband liked his breakfast, but next time I'll ask for the ham, as the crab taste is too delicate and is overwhlemed by the egg and sauce.

I spent the afternoon in the hammock chair while my husband did his conference call on the porch. Was a lovely view, and I almost fell asleep a couple of times, it was so peaceful. I love watching the sail boats. I also walked down to the boat house to get some fruit punch and snacks (included in price), but the ducks weren't out begging for the crackers this visit. Last time they hung around for a couple hours. May be too early in the season. The boat house has a couch and TV, plus a breakfast set, but no bathroom. Would be nice place to stay at night if weather is bad to watch some TV or play a game. Also spent some time in the chairs under the tulip poplar (l love big, shade trees).

There aren't a lot of restaurants in walking distance, but the ones we went to were good. The "beach" is small and rocky, but I prefer to just cool my feet instead of swim, so not an issue for me. Plenty of shade, but also plenty of sun on the lawn. It's quiet, except for birds and in late afternoon when the sailboats are coming back to the yacht club next door - a horn or canon goes off when the boats get close, probably as a traffic control measure.

On the previous visit we were out at night looking at the stars, but it was stormy at night this time, so didn't have the opportunity. It was nice sitting on the porch looking at the lightening and listening to the rain pound on the roof. I really loved the chair hammocks. When the wind was blowing, you could hear the waves lapping against the shore.

This is not a place for someone who likes to party, and definately not kid oriented. If you don't want to rent a boat or spend the day exploring, then I recommend you pack a nice picinic basket, a bottle of wine or two, and just sit on the lawn iwth a good book or binoculars. Ice is easy to get, esp. if you're staying in the main house, as it's just inside the door.

We've stayed in 2 rooms, as I said. The carriage house had a slightly better view but no screened porch. The suite didn't have the best view, but I liked the easy access to the main room, hammocks, and lawn. Plus it's got the most romantic furnishings. We've booked again for July 4th, but this time got the rooms on the 2nd floor of the main house facing the point where 2 rivers meet. These have screened-in private porches.

If you want to get away from the city and really relax, this place lets you do it. It's not the most feminine or fancy B&B I've been to, but that will probably be a plus for the guys. You can rent bikes or boats if you want to be active. One couple brought kayaks. If you want to do absolutely nothing, it's a great place for that as well...and you can beat most of the beach traffic back across the bridge if you leave before 11am.

Overall, a wonderful retreat.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dawn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We were able to get away for one night and wanted to stay on the water. The Sandaway was a great selection. The room was large and the nicely appointed. The breakfast basket had more than enough food and it was nice to just take our time in the room. The town of Oxford is very charming and we enjoyed walking around. We also liked just sitting and staring as the boats sailed by. A very relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the porch attached.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCaprilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

I was looking for a waterfront vacation stay within a reasonable driving distance from Central NY. I found the Eastern shore of the Chesapeake, Oxford, Maryland, and best of all Sandaway Waterfront Lodging .
There is nothing I could have asked for to make this a better stay.
The room was charming and comfortable with the sunrise appearing at the foot of the bed. The wave noises drifted in and out of the windows featuring a Tred Avon River view. Breakfast came in a bushel basket with all anyone could need.
The expanse of lawn ended at a private beach perfect for launching my canoe. Sea glass artfully decorated the beach sand. For wildlife enthusiasts the Osprey, Buffle Head ducks and Eagles were easily seen from water or shore.
A stone's throw from the property was the ferry to Bellevue and St. Michael's beyond. Pick up a bike map for the state or county. The bike signage was welcoming, and frequent on the roadsides.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TDoherty54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

My spouse and I were looking for a serene and cozy getaway for the weekend and we found it here at Sandaway. We stayed in the Sandaway Suite which had a four poster, canopy bed with the most wonderful sheets (Comfy sheets is the brand). The room was immaculate and spacious. The location of this lodging can't be beat. We had our own private porch and had a great side view of the Chesapeake Bay. Our bathroom was huge with a tub for two, shower and two sinks. We would return here again for sure. Next time we would try one of the rooms directly facing the bay with even better water views. You can see the rooms pretty well on the website. We ate the best crab cake dinner ever at the nearby Oxford Inn at a 15% discount. This inn is a gem. If you want quiet and serenity, this is for you. True, as the other review said, the breakfast offered is a simple continental style brought to your room. We knew this upfront and this was fine for us as we don't eat too much in the morning. We slept in and then went to lunch at the nearby Masthead which was also wonderful. The owner and the staff were great.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennsylvaniaVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Great selection of rooms, many with waterfront views of Tred Avon RIver. Oxford is a historic quaint town, great for walks. Robert Morris Inn restaurant is only one block away with great food. The Sandaway's waterfront grounds are great, even in winter. This is the place to go to get away from it all and just relax

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 4036balto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxford
7.2 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
0.6 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
6.9 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Robert Morris Inn
Robert Morris Inn
#2 of 5 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
7.9 mi away
Tidewater Inn
Tidewater Inn
#4 of 9 in Easton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Suites and Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Suites and Beach

Property: Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Suites and Beach
Address: 103 West Strand Road, Oxford, MD 21654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Oxford
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Suites and Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandaway Waterfront Lodging has 18 B&B style accommodations in Oxford, MD - just seven miles from St. Michaels. Most rooms at Sandaway are waterfront with porches overlooking the Tred Avon River, Choptank River, and Chesapeake Bay. Guests at Sandaway can enjoy the waterfront lawn and private sandy beach. Sandaway is a member of Select Registry - Distinguished Inns, Small Hotels, and Bed and Breakfasts of North America. Oxford, Maryland was recently voted the best waterfront town in the world. Recent upgrades to Sandaway Waterfront Lodging include cable television in every accommodation. All Suites also now have a mini-fridge. The wireless high speed internet connection was recently upgraded. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Suites and Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing