We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it for location, service and food.”
Review of Robert Morris Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Robert Morris Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Oxford MD is a beautiful place for a quiet getaway. We stayed two nights in the Bottle Cottage of the Inn. The cottage rooms are roomy and comfortable but in need of updating. The cottage is what might be called a story and a half house from the 1970's (?) which has been split in half. the large picture windows make the room very bright and the view of the river and ferry are terrific. The yard of the cottage, overlooking the water is a great place to sip some wine in the sun after touring the area or enjoying the water. The rooms of the main inn are historical but quirky. I think there is quite a bit of room for taking some of the quirky away, yet leaving the historic, casual charm. I was told that new ownership (3-4 months) is professional and is interested in moving the Inn toward its potential.
The bar area with its brick and wood decor, looks like a great place to enjoy a wintery afternoon, and was a pleasant place to have a drink before dinner on the brick porch surrounding the Inn. The formal dining room is large but also in need of some updating.
The food which has recently been updated by Mark Salter was terrific and the menu provided a nice choice of meals including some vegetarian offerings. The scallops were stunning and herbed in ways that I hadn't considered before. The rockfish over the chorizo-fennel-tomato ragout was also delicious. I could go on about the food, but it should be experienced. Ingredients seemed fresh and as labled on the menu were sourced from local suppliers.
The staff at the restaurant and the inn were also incredibly professional and welcoming without being cloying. Our ninja waiter at dinner, Eric, was one of the best waiters we have experienced, anywhere. He went about his business professionally and discreetly. His was service unseen these days at few but the finest restaurants. The entire staff could not be nicer or more professional.
The new owners are off to a great start. I believe that my rating can only go up in the future. I can't wait to go back and see the progress.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bay traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 250 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2010

New owners have brought great food to this isolated little village on the water, and the emphasis is now very definitely on the restaurant. There are certainly sumptuous meals to be had, but the owners need to put the same vision into the Inn to up their game.
They have inherited a heritage property and the rooms reflect that with roll-top baths and four poster beds, but there's not a sitting/resting room for guests inside where you can settle down with a book, a coffee or a newspaper -- and that is something that needs sorting out.
Instead -- during our visit -- the obvious contender, a room to the left of the front door, was set out as a private dining room and not used during the three days we were there. Meanwhile if you are staying in the Inn there's no communal space at all that is not about dining. The whole of the glorious old porch is laid out with dining tables, where as guests would love a section of it to be given over to rocking chairs with a view of the bay.
And there is a massive underutilised parking area out back, why not give over some of this space to a leafy garden with outside tables and chairs? Other stuff that inns on our travels offered, but not found here, included bikes to borrow, flasks of tea and coffee that could be taken to your room and boxes of board games.
Our other criticism was the air conditioning which was not up to the sticky summer temperatures at all.
So a glorious old property, offering great food, but right now I would stay down the road at the Sandaway , which has a lovely garden, beach area, and an outdoor summer house stacked with water and games, and head off to the Robert Morris for dinner or cocktails at the highly recommended bar.
Possibly a star of the future, but not at full shine yet.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytraveller577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Dinner at the Robert Morris Inn was unbelievable. The Chef, Mark Salter, only recently opened the Inn to dinner and word has gotten around. We started with wine and weren't sure what we would like so the manager brought 4 bottles for us to sample. A nifty touch to ensure the satisfaction of the customer. For appetizers, we tried Chef Salter's Chesapeake Sample and Vietnamese Spring Roll. Both were fantastic. The peppered steak entre was only slightly overdone but the sauce made up for that. And we topped off our meal with the vanilla/chocolate custard (nicely light after a filling meal) and fresh peach trifle.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JC82010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

With it's current casual atmosphere and fresh, upscale food, Chef Salter has created an absolute gem. My husband and I came with another couple tonight fot the first time and were impressed from start to finish. The rockfish and crab, all local, were divine and the deserts were a fresh summer time treat. Our server Jo anticipated every need we had and we never had to ask her for anything. With her service she was delightful and knowledgable and we will be back again in the future. Thank you Robert Morris Inn!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LTyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Sandaway Lodge (the waterfront property that is part of the Robert Morris Inn). See our review under Sandaway Lodge. Just perfect.
Have to comment here on the Robert Morris Inn dining. Absolutely superb! Atmosphere is casual, food is upscale, even when it is simply Crab Soup or a green salad. The maitre 'd (Gabe) is such an asset! Personable, warm, and genuinely interested in the experience of the patrons. Chef Salter, who used to be at the Inn at Perry Cabin, is now here, and food is simply divine. We had several meals here, from breakfast to dinner, and each one was superb. The wait staff is getting its "sea legs", and service is a little slow, but no one minded waiting, since everyone is so nice and pleasant, and the food so excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GayleMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

We were absolutely delighted to learn that the Robert Morris Inn has two new owners that are breathing new life into an absolutely fabulous historical inn. The restaurant has been resurrected and is sure to please any palat with its new world class chef at his newest helm!! We were so tickled to see this new piece of history unfold before our very eyes!!! I can't believe I am actually looking forward to Christmas at the beginning of the summer only to see this gem in its full glory!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picturelady3inpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ianiglasgow, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2010

Thanks you so very much for your kind words. Grateful you chose to spend such an important occasion with us and delighted that you enjoyed it. It was a pleasure to look after you both and Mark and I look forward to welcoming you back when you will find the Tavern and Dining Room thriving, already our Verandha Dining is proving a big hit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

We just returned from a midweek getaway to relax and rejuvenate. We could not have picked a more beautiful location!! We stayed in one of the river rooms at the Sandaway Lodge, part of the Robert Morris Inn. It was a gorgeous, serene location from which to watch the many sailboats, workboats and watermen, and birdlife -- from the sitting area in our room, our private, comfortably furnished screened porch, or the large property itself with its many Adirondack chairs, lounges, and small beach. It was the PERFECT way to recharge, and the small historic town of Oxford has some great restaurants. As other reviewers have noted, the Sandaway is literally 1/2 block from the ferry to St. Michaels.

The room was large, pleasant and airy with a king-size bed and a very nice sitting area (with spotty wi-fi access), and the huge, spotless bathroom with ceiling fan, separate clawfoot tub, soft towels, and huge bottle of bubble bath was fantastic! I do have to say, though, that it could REALLY use an update. The old-fashioned wall decorations, loveseat, and bureau are beautiful, but the bed was a bit "tired" and the room smelled somewhat musty. The bed linens were not at all of the premium quality that I generally expect in a B&B costing $300/ night.

We were disappointed that the inn no longer serves dinner. The large dining room is still set up, but in general the dining area and public rooms of the original inn seem gracious, but in a faded, out-of-date way. The "Lite Fare" breakfast was good, but just adequate. On our second day we found out that seconds are available ... it would have been great to have been told this on our first morning!

Overall, though, I would enthusiastically recommend the Sandaway for anyone looking for a tranquil, romantic getaway. Check out the weeping beech tree!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teacher19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxford
0.6 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
45 reviews
7.2 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
5.6 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Suites and Beach
7.2 mi away
Parsonage Inn
Parsonage Inn
#2 of 13 in St. Michaels
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robert Morris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robert Morris Inn

Address: 314 N Morris St, P.O. Box 40, Oxford, MD 21654-1019
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range: $107 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Robert Morris Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the home of Robert Morris who gained fame as "Financier of the Revolution". General and later President George Washington was a close friend and visited Robert Morris often. In more recent times author James Michener outlined his famous novel, Chesapeake here and fell in love with our renowned crab cakes. More history is located here. Now the Eastern Shore's most unique historic restaurant with rooms under celebrity Chef Proprietor, Mark Salter and Ian Fleming. Enter the Inn and step back 300 years: a pristine yet historic interior welcomes with timber beams, panelled walls and open fires in the cooler months. Through to Salter's Tavern featuring historic red brick walls and old slate floors, with magnificent fires in the cooler months and offering casual outside dining on our Terraces and Veranda during balmy warm summers. This is a truly historic Inn, cosy with a natural patina running through. Friendly, great cuisine and understated professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Robert Morris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robert Morris Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing