We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Crab Cake Ever”
Review of Robert Morris Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Robert Morris Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Crab Cake Ever”
Reviewed May 19, 2007

I have been on a quest to find the best crab cake on the east coast. I've been to Maine and other New England spots, but I finally found what I was looking for in the lovely, small town of Oxford Maryland. The Robert Morris Inn boasts the Best Crab Cake in Maryland, as recommended by James Michener, the author, no less. Well, it's true. My husband and I wanted to get away without our two small children for our 10th anniversary weekend. The Robert Morris Inn was a great destination for just that. They do not allow children under the age of 10! It's an historic inn built in the early 1700s. Our room was very quaint and quiet. The staff at the inn is very congenial and we were able to enjoy quiet solitude along the banks of the Tred Avon River, which is near the Chesapeake Bay. The best part, however, were the crab cakes which I had for dinner and then again for breakfast--yes, you can order crab cakes for breakfast in the lovely dining room at the inn. Oxford is a wonderful little town, very friendly, slightly off the beaten path but close to other destinations on the Eastern shore of Maryland as well as Annapolis where we took a tour of the Naval Academy. I highly recommend this inn for a weekend getaway, but most definitely for the crab cakes!!

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — The room was a little small
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Salsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    70
    24
    15
    5
See reviews for
28
158
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2007

The Robert Morris Inn and Oxford, Maryland are a nice quiet oasis in the Tristate area. We stayed at the Sandaway and had a screen porch overlooking the water. We did stay in off-season so the prices were not bad, however, it would be nice if breakfast were included. We did eat our breakfast in the Tavern next to a roaring fire and it was fairly inexpensive. Service was great and the staff in the Inn were friendly.

There isn't much to do in Oxford, so we highly recommend going for the peace and quiet. The RMI Tavern closes at 8pm which doesn't leave much to do in the evenings. This was the only real drawback as we were there on St. Pats day. The 38 Latitude is a short drive away and we had a surprisingly excellent meal there and the bar was packed with locals - lots of fun.

For us, getting away from newborn twins for a night, the RMI was perfect. We highly recommend it for this. If you are looking for more of an adventure and lots to see and do, Oxford and RMI probably aren't the place for you.

  • Liked — peace and quiet
  • Disliked — needs a bit of updating
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank VAPache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland , NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2006

If it is a serene , tranquil and relaxing location you are longing for then look no further :
the Robert Morris Inn, circa 1710 , on the Eastern Shore of Maryland in historic Oxford is the place for you .
Located on the edge of the scenic Tred Avon River leading into the beautiful Chesapeake Bay , the Robert Morris Inn provides a flawless and special experience second to none .
It has wonderfully comfortable rooms : exceptional dining ; and a friendly and courteous staff : and it is not unusual to see hosts/owners Wendy and Ken Gibson catering to the needs and wishes of their guests .
In the historic 300+
year old village of Oxford ,you'll find yourself immersed in the lore of early America .
Without a doubt the Robert Morris Inn brings a sense of pleasure , delight and satisfaction to each of its' guests ; and is the reason it is our absolute favorite of all of our inn experiences .
Robert and Kathleen Nemec......Oakland , NJ

Helpful?
3 Thank cemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balto. MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2006

If you ever need to go back in time there is a place like no other with service an attention of a bygone era, the Robert Morris Inn. The details by Wendy and Ken Gibson, owners and Jay Gibson inn keeper, are evidence of their deep concern for guests, and this concern extends to their food, which is to die for, and the most competent of help, all working as a team to make you want to come back.

Thanks to all at the Robert Morris Inn, they have taken us to oz.

Sincerly,
The Olivers

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank TheOlivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2006

A good example of overstated self promotion. Facility design "handyman gone wild". Decor "early garage sale". Staff "distant". Over priced and dissapointing.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank HawaiiTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2006

Absurdly overpriced, and breakfast isn't even included.

The folks who run the inn have recently embarked on a web-based venture mailing out their crabcrakes (proclaimed to be "the best" by author James Michener) and filet mignon ("better than lobster" per some unnamed sympathizer). Guests are reminded about the crabcakes (and the mail order opportunities) for the duration of their stay. The room was clean, the view was nice, the place was quiet and there were rabbits outside our window. We got satellite radio in the room -- a nice addition, to be sure.

But there were a lot of things just not quite right about the place. For starters, someone went berzerk with the label maker, affixing notes to every mirror in the place, telling us what room we were in, not to smoke, the fire escape is in the closet, you can mail order crab cakes, and so on. The pre-printed welcome note was thumbtacked to the bathroom door, and the shower head was straight out of a junior high locker room (nevermind the K-Mart special plastic soap thing hanging from it). They describe the place as being a six-mile drive to St. Michaels -- an important fact, as there is precisely nothing going on in Oxford. Only a very careful reader will note that it's only six miles after a ferry ride. Said ferry ride costs $8 per car per way plus $1 per passenger, and said ferry ceases operations at 7:30 p.m. Without the ferry, the drive is over 20 miles. Would've been nice to know.

Of course, you can always eat in the restaurant and sample the crabcakes, which Michener said were "the best" and can be mail ordered, lest you forgot. Some guidebooks errantly report they have three restaurants. In fact, they have one. It has two rooms, one of which is sort of divided by the bar. Thus, they'll tell you they have the "more formal" dining room, the tap room and the tavern. All of which serve the exact same menu. And all of which close at 8 p.m. (!). The point of the "formal" dining room was lost on us, as the casual tavern seekers tromp right through the middle of it to get to the tavern. The formal dining room is a bit bright, which only highlights the late-1960s Steak and Ale decor thing they've got going on.

Naturally, I had to try both the mail-orderable crabcakes and the filet mignon. The crab was tasty, although not nearly as good as the one I had the night before in St Michaels at 208 Talbot which came with a light cream sauce and tasso ham -- fantastic. The Inn's filet was tender, but entirely flavorless. Now, I guess part of the charm of the place is they've never changed the menu in the last 3-4 decades. Seems they haven't changed their presentation, either, as my "surf and turf" consisted of the crabcake on one side of the plate, the steak on the other, and a rubbery lettuce leaf inbetween, topped by a grainy tomato slice and a fat Burger-King style onion ring. We also got "accompaniments" consisting of cottage cheese, coleslaw and apple butter. What we were supposed to do with them was never clear. Don't get me wrong ... the food wasn't bad, it just isn't anything to go out of your way for. It definitely isn't justification for the highway-robbery prices they charge for the rooms.

There is none of the typical b'n'b camraderie here. Never saw the innkeepers -- just the all-business receptionist who offered us a "free gift" of a book of all the other inns in their association and the disinterested waitress from dinner.

And did I mention that despite the over-$200 a night price tag, they didn't throw in breakfast?

  • Liked — quiet
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank Yoshi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2005

We are frequent visitors to Oxford. We have stayed at RMI a couple of times although we usually stay other places. If you don't mind the price, Sandaway (RMI's property down the road from the main inn) is great. Very quiet, nice lawn outside facing the water, excellent views -- can spend whole day reading in one of their adirondack chairs overlooking the bay. Its also a good place to launch a kayak, if you have one. (They used to rent them there; not sure if they still do). I think Sandway is a better choice (maybe much better choice) than the Inn itself -- not that there's anything wrong with the Inn. Contrary to the other reviews above, I have never thought much of the RMI restaurant. The tavern or the courtyard outside it are nice for a drink, but the restaurant reminds me of the formal dining room in an old, past-its-prime hotel. Good service, but little or no creativity in the menu or the cooking. My reaction was it has the basics, done with mediocrity, at a high price. So where to eat in Oxford? Unfortunately Mill Street Grill and the place next to it closed. Hopefully one or both will re-open. Those restaurants on Mill Street have had a hard time - new ones open and then go out of business every couple of years. Most of them have been good, but I guess its a largely seasonal business. There's a new place at Oxford Inn that looks promising - but dinner only and I haven't tried it yet. Latitude 38 is not bad -- better than RMI in my view. The place at Pier Street Marina is good -- I think better than Schooner's Landing. Or go to St. Michaels for a wide choice of restaurants (but stay in Oxford, its a much nicer town!)

Stayed July 2004
Helpful?
10 Thank onekbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxford
0.6 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
39 reviews
7.2 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
5.6 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#4 of 4 in St. Michaels
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Suites and Beach
6.9 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
7.8 mi away
Tidewater Inn
Tidewater Inn
#4 of 9 in Easton
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robert Morris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robert Morris Inn

Property: Robert Morris Inn
Address: 314 N Morris St, P.O. Box 40, Oxford, MD 21654-1019
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Robert Morris Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the home of Robert Morris who gained fame as "Financier of the Revolution". General and later President George Washington was a close friend and visited Robert Morris often. In more recent times author James Michener outlined his famous novel, Chesapeake here and fell in love with our renowned crab cakes. More history is located here. Now the Eastern Shore's most unique historic restaurant with rooms under celebrity Chef Proprietor, Mark Salter and Ian Fleming. Enter the Inn and step back 300 years: a pristine yet historic interior welcomes with timber beams, panelled walls and open fires in the cooler months. Through to Salter's Tavern featuring historic red brick walls and old slate floors, with magnificent fires in the cooler months and offering casual outside dining on our Terraces and Veranda during balmy warm summers. This is a truly historic Inn, cosy with a natural patina running through. Friendly, great cuisine and understated professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Robert Morris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robert Morris Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing