We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice two night stay”
Review of Robert Morris Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Robert Morris Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Groupon made this a good deal and we found the Inn quaint and comfortable. The A/C was working due to some electrical work and probably due to a previous reviewers complaint. We had bedroom #1 which was adequate but the bathroom would be a real challenge for an overweight person. since it is so small. We found the staff to be very pleasant and the food above average. The included breakfasts were excellent. The Lobster dinner was good. This is definitely a locals place for dinner (not many choices in Oxford). The town is exceptionally quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dickpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Many thanks for your kind words and generous comments, we are all delighted you enjoyed your experience at The Inn. We are constantly restoring parts of this incredibly historic building and yes recently rewired this part of the building. The room is one of the original ones, being over 300 years old. It is a good size with great views but the bathroom is indeed very small. To change this and make it larger would mean loosing most of the historic aspects. It is unlikely we would be permitted to do this, nor would it be kind to this iconic piece of history. Again our thanks and when next joining us please let us know you want a large bathroom and we will guide you to a different room choice.
Regards
Ian & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 246 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

We recently celebrated our anniversary again at the Robert Morris Inn and it was another wonderful stay! The inn looks out over the picturesque Tred Avon River. The cuisine is absolutely wonderful and our stay included a 3 course gourmet dinner and a full, delicious breakfast. This is an exceptional value with spacious rooms and fantastic service. Their award winning crab cake and spring rolls are unforgettable as are so many items on the menu. I brought our daughters down for the on Easter weekend a few years ago while visiting colleges in the area and had a great visit! We stayed at the Robert Morris and then hopped the Ferry there at the inn and shopped in St; Michael's, and then made pottery stayed for live music in Easton. Go for a romantic getaway with your love, or a charming, historic experience with the family. Don't miss the Chesapeake Maritime Museum and watch boats being restored, and climb the lighthouse while you're there. Then go back to the Robert Morris Inn for a fabulous 3 course dinner and and relax on the water. You will fall in love again with the best of Maryland's Eastern Shore. Just ask for "Janet" in reservations and she will be sure to welcome you with her lovely British accent and excellent attention to detail. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LissaBoundsHammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

High praise indeed! It was a pleasure to welcome you back and delighted you enjoyed your experience. We appreciate the great staff we have and they join us in thanking you. We never forget you have a choice so will do our best to keep improving what we do.
Regards
Ian & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

On a May Monday evening, I ventured out from my Eastern shore resort in search of sustenance from an establishment not characterized by generic offerings based on ho hum preparations and barely edible foodstuffs. Two friends of mine raved about the Robert Morris Inn in Oxford, MD (just 60 minutes from the Bay Bridge and 28 minutes from Cambridge, MD) and so I ventured out, open to the possibilities of savoring a new food experience.

The pastoral landscape from Cambridge is dotted with beautiful farmlands and when you arrive in Oxford, everything slows down to a manageable 25 mph - the RMI tavern is located at the end of the road, with ample parking. Come early and come often.

The tavern is decorated in warm mahogany and comfortable tables - I arrived close to 830pm and the server, Spencer (a budding chef in the making), mentioned the specials - a crab salad, a lobster salad and a Prime Rib special, which was so tempting, but I was here for the seafood - after all, it is the Eastern Shore!

The lobster appetizer was brought out and it was visually stunning - a serving of lobster amid perfectly cooked asparagus, greens, and prosciutto complemented by yellow tomatoes with a delectable sauce. The care that chef Mark Salter and his team takes in preparing vegetables is amazing and shows tremendous passion - to have the crunch of red pepper alongside perfectly cooked asparagus is one thing, but to imbibe this with a reduction of savory oil and seasonings brings the dish to a WOW - MUST HAVE status.

I opted for one of the house specialties - the Crab Cake - also beautifully presented but more important, the taste transcended any other crab cake that I've ever had. Atop spears of wonderfully flavorful asparagus surrounded by amazingly warm yellow and purple potatoes, the crab cake is poised with a tomato icing reminiscent of a slow cooked sauce from Palermo. I delighted in each bite and was pleasantly surprised to notice that the more I ate this meal, the better it got. It was as if God had declared "Let there be crab cake" - and this appeared. I'm not exaggerating - It was that good.

Executive chef and owner Mark Salter graciously spent time with me to share his philosophy of cooking and food preparation - I delighted in sharing my appreciation for a confluence of amazing cooking, aesthetics, and attention to detail which resulted in a meal that easily ranks as my number one for memorable food experiences.

But there's more. Normally when I have a great meal, the appetizer and entree are so much more than I can handle that any "room for dessert" query results in a "Just the check, please" response. In this case, I wanted the full soup-to-nuts experience. Since Mark was tableside and so generous with his time, I asked him to recommend the dolce finale - in response, he brought over what was undoubtedly the best bread pudding that I have ever eaten. And yes, it displaces the famous Rose Petal Crème Brulee from the now closed Coppola's Rubicon in San Francisco. The depth of flavors of Salter's crème fraise atop the bread pudding and raspberries alongside the baked/steamed/baked again brioche is uncanny. This painstaking method results in a bread pudding texture that is both crispy and soft, sweet and savory. Paired with a strong, hot cup of fresh brewed coffee (drink it black, trust me), this Act 2 was literally a new beginning.

Bottom-line? Run. Don't Walk. This was an amazing meal which makes the Robert Morris Inn in Oxford, MD one of my top food destinations - 2 hours from my home in Washington, DC to have brunch, lunch, dinner, anything at all from Salter's kitchen is a small price to pay. Mark mentioned that they offer brunch, and that just seems like it would be mind blowing. All in all, my Monday night venture into the warm Spring evening resulted in a transcendent sensory and aesthetic experience that is unforgettable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

High praise indeed. Thank you so much for your kind words and generous comments and of course we are all delighted you enjoyed your experience so very much. With my eighteen years of experience on the Eastern Shore working with local suppliers, I am assured the best produce as soon as it becomes locally available. Crabs, Corn, Peaches, Asparagus, Beets and so much more demonstrate the truly word beating produce we have access to here. I'm pleased you enjoy what we do with it and appreciate your support and business.
Have a fabulous 4th of July and we look forward to seeing you again.
Mark & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Small rooms
No air conditioner. The fuse kept blowing, ie the electricity kept going out. It seemed to happen every time we turned on the air conditioner.
Surly managent didn't seem to care when I told them the electricity was out He offered no apology nor solution

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joe Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travelers and we were so please and so very grateful that you raised your concerns with us at that time. This permitted us to resolve the electrical problem then and also to compensate you beyond your own expectations. Imagine our confusion when we read your review. The room is a good size as can be seen from its photograph (left hand photo) on our web site under rates room and breakfast. Also you do not share with travelers that you had a full size single bed added to the room for your son which of course significantly reduces the room size. We apologised then and followed up afterwards too, with no response. If you feel we failed you beyond what we have already done please do reach out to us again.
Happy fourth of July.
Ian & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Oxford, MD is a great little historic town and the Robert Morris Inn provided an enjoyable stay. Stayed in the Bottle Cottage with King Bed and direct view out the front window overlooking the water and the oldest privately owned operating ferry. The room was as expected, comfortable with sitting, bath and two sink areas. Breakfast each morning was delicious especially the fresh fruit. Dinner included wonderful crab cakes - you must try them! Staff very friendly and helpful. Would definately visit and stay there again.
Julie B
North Carolina

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear Julie
Many thanks for your kind words and generous comments, much appreciated by all. We never forget you have a choice and are grateful you decided to stay with us. Best wihses and we look forward to your return.
Regards
Ian & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Excellent view, very good food, dinner and breakfast were excellent. Staff extremely pleasant and helpful. Beautiful and peaceful small water town. Nice drive from the beach. Close yet so far away. The inn was built in 1710 and the entire town is historic , great for history buffs. You can walk or bicycle ride the whole town. This trip is for those that need no entertainment.

Room Tip: Bottle cottage has water view and tv. Next to inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DANA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Many thanks for sharing your thoughts and views on our historic Inn and the charming town of Oxford. We are deligted you enjoyed your experience here and look forward to your return. We do also have a delightful residents lounge with television, books and magazines.
Regards
Ian & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

In the sleepy little town of Oxford, MD, lies the Robert Morris Inn. At first glance, it appears quite charming, but the closer you get the worse it looks. In fact, the photos on their website appear to have been taken years ago when it was alive with all it's glory. It is an old, outdated, antiquated inn listed on the historical registery; in bad need of repair. From the back of the building, I was appalled by it's condition, an eyesore for guests staying there. There is yellow caution tape stretched out on the porch roof of the building to keep visitors from walking out on it, from their rooms. Old rotten wood and loose boards are noticable from the side and back of the inn. The only thing it has going for it are the original paintings gracing the walls, and the talents of the chef's creations in the tavern at dinner. The food, however, was superb. The black slate flooring in the tavern is dark and dreary, and gives no ambiance to the place at all, and if you want fresh air and sunlight, I suggest you eat on the terrace. Inside the inn itself, has a stale musty odor and the furnishings are lack luster. Housekeeping services also has much to be desired--rooms are in unkept condition, dirty, and not at all worth the price they charge. Complained to management about the dirty sofa and seat cushions upon our arrival, and she made no attempt to check it out, and housekeeping didn't take care of it until I left them a note in our room. They were disgusting and I wouldn't even sit on it. Under the seat cushions were the same--crumbs of food and hair... If it wasn't for the view of the water, from the "bottle rooms", which there are two, and the friendly people as though you feel that you have stepped into a "Norman Rockwell" painting, I would have left as soon as I came. And the "bottle rooms," was once a small house divided into two separate rooms with a private entrance to each which appears to have been maid quarters for the original residence, at one time. Just to sit out and look at the water and watch the ferry come and go is relaxing, but if you are looking for something more to do than that, then you have come to the wrong place because there is nothing to do here unless you go across the river to Saint Michael's, and that too is a step back into time. So, don't waste your money, or your time to come here as there has to be better inns or bed and breakfast's to stay at in this civil war circa area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Hazel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Many thanks for visiting our Inn and delighted you enjoyed your dining experience. The Vermont slate flagstone you refer to are dark but they are, like the Inn itself very historic and unique. The Inn is all about history and remains one of the most iconic and unique buildings on the Eastern Shore, if not America and we would be most reluctant to change any of those attributes. The tape your refer to was quite simply because we were waiting for permits and approval for new railings and timber repairs that will be historically acurate and appropriate, as we continue to protect and enhance this 1710 historical gem. These materials are being built by specialists off site and will be installed at the end of July. We are most grateful that you raised your concerns about your room as it gave us the opportunity to make amends immediately. We are puzzled as we did this and also checked with you that you were satisfied and we were given the impression you were. We would have happily moved you rooms had it been requested. Both our web site and front desk detail the many activites available in this area: sailing, cycling, kayaking, walking, antiqing, retail therapy, two amazing Refuge Parks for walking and much, and most of this can be arranged same day or within 24 hrs. We can appreciate that the calm and peaceful qualities of a small colonial town may not suit all and that the charm of a unique and historic 1710 Inn may not win everyone over, but in an ever stressfull modern world we hope many continue to find some refuge in such special towns and buildings on the Eastern Shore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxford
0.6 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
43 reviews
5.6 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
487 reviews
7.2 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Suites and Beach
6.8 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
7.8 mi away
Tidewater Inn
Tidewater Inn
#5 of 9 in Easton
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robert Morris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robert Morris Inn

Address: 314 N Morris St, P.O. Box 40, Oxford, MD 21654-1019
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range: $131 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Robert Morris Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the home of Robert Morris who gained fame as "Financier of the Revolution". General and later President George Washington was a close friend and visited Robert Morris often. In more recent times author James Michener outlined his famous novel, Chesapeake here and fell in love with our renowned crab cakes. More history is located here. Now the Eastern Shore's most unique historic restaurant with rooms under celebrity Chef Proprietor, Mark Salter and Ian Fleming. Enter the Inn and step back 300 years: a pristine yet historic interior welcomes with timber beams, panelled walls and open fires in the cooler months. Through to Salter's Tavern featuring historic red brick walls and old slate floors, with magnificent fires in the cooler months and offering casual outside dining on our Terraces and Veranda during balmy warm summers. This is a truly historic Inn, cosy with a natural patina running through. Friendly, great cuisine and understated professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Robert Morris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robert Morris Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing