We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Getaway”
Review of Robert Morris Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Robert Morris Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rocky Mount, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing Getaway”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Oxford, MD is a great little historic town and the Robert Morris Inn provided an enjoyable stay. Stayed in the Bottle Cottage with King Bed and direct view out the front window overlooking the water and the oldest privately owned operating ferry. The room was as expected, comfortable with sitting, bath and two sink areas. Breakfast each morning was delicious especially the fresh fruit. Dinner included wonderful crab cakes - you must try them! Staff very friendly and helpful. Would definately visit and stay there again.
Julie B
North Carolina

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Julie
Many thanks for your kind words and generous comments, much appreciated by all. We never forget you have a choice and are grateful you decided to stay with us. Best wihses and we look forward to your return.
Regards
Ian & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    70
    24
    15
    5
See reviews for
28
158
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
DELAWARE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Excellent view, very good food, dinner and breakfast were excellent. Staff extremely pleasant and helpful. Beautiful and peaceful small water town. Nice drive from the beach. Close yet so far away. The inn was built in 1710 and the entire town is historic , great for history buffs. You can walk or bicycle ride the whole town. This trip is for those that need no entertainment.

Room Tip: Bottle cottage has water view and tv. Next to inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DANA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Many thanks for sharing your thoughts and views on our historic Inn and the charming town of Oxford. We are deligted you enjoyed your experience here and look forward to your return. We do also have a delightful residents lounge with television, books and magazines.
Regards
Ian & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

In the sleepy little town of Oxford, MD, lies the Robert Morris Inn. At first glance, it appears quite charming, but the closer you get the worse it looks. In fact, the photos on their website appear to have been taken years ago when it was alive with all it's glory. It is an old, outdated, antiquated inn listed on the historical registery; in bad need of repair. From the back of the building, I was appalled by it's condition, an eyesore for guests staying there. There is yellow caution tape stretched out on the porch roof of the building to keep visitors from walking out on it, from their rooms. Old rotten wood and loose boards are noticable from the side and back of the inn. The only thing it has going for it are the original paintings gracing the walls, and the talents of the chef's creations in the tavern at dinner. The food, however, was superb. The black slate flooring in the tavern is dark and dreary, and gives no ambiance to the place at all, and if you want fresh air and sunlight, I suggest you eat on the terrace. Inside the inn itself, has a stale musty odor and the furnishings are lack luster. Housekeeping services also has much to be desired--rooms are in unkept condition, dirty, and not at all worth the price they charge. Complained to management about the dirty sofa and seat cushions upon our arrival, and she made no attempt to check it out, and housekeeping didn't take care of it until I left them a note in our room. They were disgusting and I wouldn't even sit on it. Under the seat cushions were the same--crumbs of food and hair... If it wasn't for the view of the water, from the "bottle rooms", which there are two, and the friendly people as though you feel that you have stepped into a "Norman Rockwell" painting, I would have left as soon as I came. And the "bottle rooms," was once a small house divided into two separate rooms with a private entrance to each which appears to have been maid quarters for the original residence, at one time. Just to sit out and look at the water and watch the ferry come and go is relaxing, but if you are looking for something more to do than that, then you have come to the wrong place because there is nothing to do here unless you go across the river to Saint Michael's, and that too is a step back into time. So, don't waste your money, or your time to come here as there has to be better inns or bed and breakfast's to stay at in this civil war circa area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Hazel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Many thanks for visiting our Inn and delighted you enjoyed your dining experience. The Vermont slate flagstone you refer to are dark but they are, like the Inn itself very historic and unique. The Inn is all about history and remains one of the most iconic and unique buildings on the Eastern Shore, if not America and we would be most reluctant to change any of those attributes. The tape your refer to was quite simply because we were waiting for permits and approval for new railings and timber repairs that will be historically acurate and appropriate, as we continue to protect and enhance this 1710 historical gem. These materials are being built by specialists off site and will be installed at the end of July. We are most grateful that you raised your concerns about your room as it gave us the opportunity to make amends immediately. We are puzzled as we did this and also checked with you that you were satisfied and we were given the impression you were. We would have happily moved you rooms had it been requested. Both our web site and front desk detail the many activites available in this area: sailing, cycling, kayaking, walking, antiqing, retail therapy, two amazing Refuge Parks for walking and much, and most of this can be arranged same day or within 24 hrs. We can appreciate that the calm and peaceful qualities of a small colonial town may not suit all and that the charm of a unique and historic 1710 Inn may not win everyone over, but in an ever stressfull modern world we hope many continue to find some refuge in such special towns and buildings on the Eastern Shore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We got married in Scotland at the sister hotel to the Robert Morris Inn, the Lake of Menteith on 8 May 2013 (see separate review on Trip Advisor). We decided to honeymoon in the USA and spent 3 nights at the Robert Morris Inn. After such an excellent wedding at the Lake we were hoping for more of the same at the Inn. We are glad to say that we were incredibly impressed by the Inn. It was everything we hoped for. The rooms retain an old-style charm, but are spacious, functional and fun to stay in. The location is quiet and the Inn feels very much as if it is located exactly where it should be located. The icing on the cake is the food. We enjoyed breakfasts and dinners that were a credit to Chef Mark Slater – high quality ingredients, well presented and very tasty. The daily afternoon tea for guests of scones, cookies and hot drinks is a nice touch. The staff are all well trained, knowledgeable and friendly. All seemed to know we were on our honeymoon and had got married at the Lake so we received many lovely congratulatory greetings. We will definitely visit again in years to come.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Again our congratulations and many thanks for your kind words and generous comments. We were so pleased that you entrusted your wedding to us at "The Lake" in Scotland and even more so visiting The Robert Morris Inn as part of your honeymoon. A difficult act to follow but delighted you enjoyed your experience on the Eastern Shore of the USA. Over the many years that Mark has been a hands-on Master Chef he has never lost his passion and energy for really flavoursome cooking. On behlf of everyone, thany you again and we look forward to welcoming you on an anniversary trip.
Ian & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at the Robert Morris Inn for two nights, the 20th and 21st of June. The restaurant was excellent - the best green pea soup I have ever had. They have great breakfasts there, too. There is a ferry boat you can walk to and ride over to Bellevue - but it is better to take your car if you want to go to St. Michaels. We bought some wonderful fresh strawberries and asparagus at a small farm market near St. Michaels. This hotel is a beautiful place to visit and very tranquil. The Inn sits right on the Tred Avon River. They serve tea in the afternoon. It is a good idea to check their web site and find some great deals.

Room Tip: Although the 3rd floor rooms are very nice, if you are older, it can be quite a hike up those stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you so much for staying at our charming and historic Inn. We appreciate your comments and business. This area offers up fabulous produce through the seasons and as you experienced, both in the restaurants and direct from the farm to the public. In the summer the Ferry does offer a great little trip across the river which connects our customers with St Michaels, Tilghman and all the old Waterman communties in between. We look forward to seeing you again.
Ian & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently spent two nights at the Inn on the midweek package that included meals. It was wonderful and we are already looking forward to going back. The two dinners we had in the tavern were superb. The room was small (as advertised) but adequate. The only issue was heat. We were there just before the room air conditioners were put in for the summer. It was unbearably hot in the room but they accommodated us by moving us to an upgraded room which was great. The staff is very helpful, the inn loaded with history, and the food great. Unbelievably good value!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Dale,
Many thanks for your kind words and generous comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your experience at the Inn. Whilst our Cabin rooms are tiny and simple, they are comfortable and give us the opportunity to offer incredible Eastern shore value.
Regards
Ian & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We visited here on Fri-Sun in May for our wedding anniversary. The Robert Morris Inn is indeed historic and very quaint. We stayed in one of the Bottle Cottages. Keep in mind that this is a very small town and the Inn is historic; so if you are expecting lots of amenities, it is not that kind of place. There were a few small maintenance items that could make all the difference - screen was missing on the cottage back door, so keeping the door open for a cool breeze was not an option; there was a birds nest (w/babies) on the porch next to our entrance (very close) so the noise was non-stop and there were bird droppings everywhere. The fan in the bathroom was very squeaky and somtimes it worked and sometimes it didn't. The curtains on the front bay window did not work - which required some manual adjustment. No wash clothes in bathroom. The view was nice; the food at Salters Tavern was good; the service in the Tavern was wonderful - we ate breakfast and dinner there. We considered the maintenance items above as small. We will return to Oxford, but may try one of the other Inns in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginia20170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for visiting our historic Inn and sharing your experience with fellow travellers. Delighted you enjoyed your experience with us and those maintenance issues were resolved when raised by the following customer. When returning please do ask for anything that makes you more comfortable and our team will do their best to oblige. The nesting birds are a real dilema, whilst noisy during the day, they remain part of the "country" experience.
Regards
Ian & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxford
0.6 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
39 reviews
7.2 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
5.6 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#4 of 4 in St. Michaels
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Suites and Beach
6.9 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
7.8 mi away
Tidewater Inn
Tidewater Inn
#4 of 9 in Easton
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robert Morris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robert Morris Inn

Property: Robert Morris Inn
Address: 314 N Morris St, P.O. Box 40, Oxford, MD 21654-1019
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Robert Morris Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the home of Robert Morris who gained fame as "Financier of the Revolution". General and later President George Washington was a close friend and visited Robert Morris often. In more recent times author James Michener outlined his famous novel, Chesapeake here and fell in love with our renowned crab cakes. More history is located here. Now the Eastern Shore's most unique historic restaurant with rooms under celebrity Chef Proprietor, Mark Salter and Ian Fleming. Enter the Inn and step back 300 years: a pristine yet historic interior welcomes with timber beams, panelled walls and open fires in the cooler months. Through to Salter's Tavern featuring historic red brick walls and old slate floors, with magnificent fires in the cooler months and offering casual outside dining on our Terraces and Veranda during balmy warm summers. This is a truly historic Inn, cosy with a natural patina running through. Friendly, great cuisine and understated professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Robert Morris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robert Morris Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing