We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management off site at Robert Morris Inn”
Review of Robert Morris Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Robert Morris Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I took my management team for an off site to go somewhere secluded but still unique where we could focus on business and not be distracted by a lot of other things to do. Oxford, Maryland is a very nice quaint town with not a lot of distractions. The accommodations were perfect and the room for a meeting was excellent. I can't say enough about the staff. They were warm, welcoming and customer focused. And finally, executive chef Mark from England created a stellar menu and even more stellar meals. I can't say enough about Ian and Mark (the Inn Keepers) and their focus on excellence and on the customer. I look forward to getting back to the Robert Morris Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for the larger room facing the water and ferry.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulK1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Many thanks for your kind words and we were delighted to introduce new customers to the Inn. Great group to look after and we look forward to your return. Mark will have some new recipes for you to try!
Mark & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
There are newer reviews for Robert Morris Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 246 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012

I had wanted to stay here for years, and finally got the opportunity when we attended a wedding down the road in Oxford. I reserved the Bottle Cottage since it guaranteed a view and a "porch". What a joke! First, the website states that these rooms are "more modern". This means 1960's or 70's, not current. The decor is painfully dated, the window-type air conditioner also ancient (meaning it barely functioned, and couldn't be put down below 72 or it would freeze up), and the "screened porch" is a 3' x 4' breezeway with a folding chair. Really? And for this we paid over $300? Never again. The service was terrible; I asked for an iron and the front desk woman said she couldn't bring it over, that I had to come over and get it because she was alone and couldn't leave the desk. When I got there 30 seconds later there was another woman sitting in the office. I was also told that they only had one iron for all the rooms and that I had to bring it back when I was done. Well, we were on our way to a wedding and running late and the iron was still quite hot so I didn't want to carry it, so I told her she could send the housekeeper over to pick it up in a few minutes when the iron cooled down. She was furious! When we returned from the wedding we were exhausted (the temps were over 100 and it was an outdoor event) so we just collapsed into the bed, which was lumpy and was 2 twins pushed together... aargh! But we fell asleep, only to be awakened around 2 a.m. by someone trying to get into our room via the porch. Not secure at all. The woman with the British accent is the worst of the lot, she is just unpleasant and not service-oriented at all, very unexpected in a hotel that charges these prices. I will say the included breakfast was very good and the service was excellent in the restaurant. But we will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveladdiction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to review the Inn and we are disapointed you were clearly unhappy with your visit. Our room rates are much lower than you suggest as a visit to our website will clearly show. We all suffered record breaking temperatures which places great strain on AC systems. We did politely and gently comment that if the are turned down to 60 they would freeze up, which they did. Ordinarily this will never happen but these were extreem temperatures. The cottage rooms are the most popular as noted in these reviews and our staff generally complimented on their customer contact skills. We will review those standards with those on duty during your stay.
Regards
Mark & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

What can I say
loved the hotel from the moment i set foot in the place, to say it is a hotel of relaxtion is an under statement. i have had a very fortunate last 15 years of being able to travel most of the world because of work. However when any of my friends asks, where was the best ? it is this one by a far mile. The hotel is excellent Oxford is so laid back it is the top of my place to return to, some of the friendliest people I have ever met. I would put the hotel and Oxford on one of your top 10 to see before you depart this planet, its worth it.

Room Tip: we had a villa type room near the main hotel
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikec-edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Wow . . what a great review, thank you so very much. We are so fortunate to have such a wonderful property in such a special and historic town, set quietly on this peninsula. We look forward to your return.
Mark & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This Inn has was built before the Revolutionary War and has only reopened two years ago to guests. It is owned by the chef of the Robert Morris Inn Restaurant. They have done their best to use period wallpaper, covers and antiques abound throughout the Inn. We were in one of the few king bedrooms, which were really two twins pushed together. For a romantic weekend it wasn't the best choice of bedding, but it was comfortable enough that we both were able to sleep well.
We stayed on the 2nd floor during 100+ plus degree weather and the window air conditioners did an adequate job of keeping our room cool. We did hear from another couple who stayed on the third floor that the first night was OK, but the second night was almost unbearable and they didn't sleep well. They were also traveling with an older dog who had a hard time with the steps and heat.
We had a nice sitting room with a love seat, stuffed chair, coffee table and bureau. The bedroom had only enough room for the bed and a small bureau. It was comfortable to walk around, but a bit cozy if two people wanted to pass the same area. The bedroom and sitting room were divided by a small bathroom that had a built-in shower stall. I don't believe any of the rooms have a television, which we didn't miss. The staff was very gracious and accommodating, fulfilling every request with a smile.
We were there celebrating our anniversary and found everything exactly as described. If you like modern conveniences - this is not the place for you. But, if you like antiques, history and something totally different from the ordinary you will love this place. We had a great time.

Room Tip: The rooms are very small and we were glad that we upgraded to the king room, since these rooms were...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Many thanks for your kind review and we are so pleased you chose to spend such a special time with us. Record high temperatures made life very difficult and our AC and maintenance manager were kept very busy keeping on top of this. We look forward to your return.
Mark & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My wife and I attended a wedding reception here on Sunday, and I was very impressed. Lovely setting, delicious food and wow, the bar was beautiful. We will definitely be staying here on our next visit to Oxford.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

What a great event this was to look after and we were honored to have been chosen to do so. Many thanks for your kind comments and we look forward to your return.
Mark & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed the Inn and the beautiful town. Lovely stay. Friendly staff. Great tavern. Excellent food. Fantastic access to the ferry and a quick trip to St. Michales. Definitely will return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJAYSEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Many thanks for your kind review and we are delighted you enjoyed you stay at our Inn. The Ferry trip to St Michaels is a "must not miss" but remember it does not usually run December through to Easter.
Mark & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

The Inn, built in the 1700's, retains the feel and charm of that pre-Revolutionary period. It is located in historic Oxford, a delightful little town that was founded before 1700. The Inn has a great location, overlooking the Tred-on-Avon river. The view looking across the river is spectacular, though very few of the rooms in the Inn have such a panoramic view. The town has many historic old homes and buildings that are well preserved and that are still inhabited today. The Inn is perfectly located--just across the Strand from the ferry dock--which gives visitors to acces the Ocford-Bellvue ferry with ease. The ferry is the best way to get across the river and to visit the neighboring town of St. Michael's, which has many quaint shops and delightful restaurants. The only negative to the Robert Morris Inn is that the rooms and their furnishings need updating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IAP65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

We are delighted you enjoyed the delights and charms of this historic town and our Inn. We are truly blessed with our setting and the natural beauty of the Eastern Shore. As mentioned in previous reviews, we refurbish all our bedrooms next year. We look forward to welcoming you back at some future time and thank your for your comments and business.
Mark & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxford
0.6 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
42 reviews
7.2 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
5.6 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Suites and Beach
6.8 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
7.8 mi away
Tidewater Inn
Tidewater Inn
#4 of 9 in Easton
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robert Morris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robert Morris Inn

Address: 314 N Morris St, P.O. Box 40, Oxford, MD 21654-1019
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range: $108 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Robert Morris Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the home of Robert Morris who gained fame as "Financier of the Revolution". General and later President George Washington was a close friend and visited Robert Morris often. In more recent times author James Michener outlined his famous novel, Chesapeake here and fell in love with our renowned crab cakes. More history is located here. Now the Eastern Shore's most unique historic restaurant with rooms under celebrity Chef Proprietor, Mark Salter and Ian Fleming. Enter the Inn and step back 300 years: a pristine yet historic interior welcomes with timber beams, panelled walls and open fires in the cooler months. Through to Salter's Tavern featuring historic red brick walls and old slate floors, with magnificent fires in the cooler months and offering casual outside dining on our Terraces and Veranda during balmy warm summers. This is a truly historic Inn, cosy with a natural patina running through. Friendly, great cuisine and understated professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Robert Morris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robert Morris Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing