We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Step Back in Time”
Review of Robert Morris Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Robert Morris Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2012

The Inn, built in the 1700's, retains the feel and charm of that pre-Revolutionary period. It is located in historic Oxford, a delightful little town that was founded before 1700. The Inn has a great location, overlooking the Tred-on-Avon river. The view looking across the river is spectacular, though very few of the rooms in the Inn have such a panoramic view. The town has many historic old homes and buildings that are well preserved and that are still inhabited today. The Inn is perfectly located--just across the Strand from the ferry dock--which gives visitors to acces the Ocford-Bellvue ferry with ease. The ferry is the best way to get across the river and to visit the neighboring town of St. Michael's, which has many quaint shops and delightful restaurants. The only negative to the Robert Morris Inn is that the rooms and their furnishings need updating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IAP65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

We are delighted you enjoyed the delights and charms of this historic town and our Inn. We are truly blessed with our setting and the natural beauty of the Eastern Shore. As mentioned in previous reviews, we refurbish all our bedrooms next year. We look forward to welcoming you back at some future time and thank your for your comments and business.
Mark & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 248 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2012

Located in the picture-perfect sleepy town of Oxford, the furnishings & rooms are dated, but clean & comfortable. We arrived late in the evening to find a bag of house-made goods awaiting us. Breakfast in the lounge is included with a broad selection of a la carte items. With friendly & helpful staff, we wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jawanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to review our Inn following your visit. We are absolutely delighted you enjoyed your time with us and appreciated the character of this truly historic gem. We will be very carefuly refurbishing our bedrooms next year and look forward to welcoming you back!
Mark & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

When I made my reservation, I was informed the Inn only had a "cozy" cabin room available. Slightly concerned, I asked for photos and a better description of the size. The Inn was not able to provide photos but assured me the room would be a "standard room with no seating area, a little on the smaller size."

Overall, the inn is in need of a good renovation and deep cleaning, but I will keep my comments to Room 14 in particular. When my wife and I arrived, the minuscule size of the room was the least of it. The window was open (no a/c), letting in not only the bay breeze but also the noise of the kitchen's HVAC unit located just outside the window on the lower roof. When we mentioned the noise to the front desk, we were assured it would cease around 10pm, once the kitchen closed. What wasn't mentioned was the fact the ventilation system would blow the fumes from the kitchen through the open window and into the room. Which would be fine, assuming the odors of fry oil and fish are your thing.

Other than the size of the room and generally awful decor (see my photos photos--wallpapered ceiling?), the other issue was the bathroom. I understand that when bathrooms are not part of the original floor plan, you have to accept some compromise. But the mini-sink and coffin-like shower were just absurd.

Even at $145/night during the off season, it's not worth it. At the end of the day, there's rustic charm and then there's decay and inattention to detail. I strongly recommend considering one of the many other options in the area until the Robert Morris Inn takes time to address some of these issues.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mikedc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to review our Inn. I wish you had mentioned something to myself or Mark when you visted as only then could we have done something to satisfy you. We have a couple of those rooms and we try to be very honest about them too. Priced actually from $120 to include full cooked breakfast for two, they have to be the least expensive waterfront property rooms on the entire Eastern Shore and their tiny size and old fashioned decor is why. Aside from the view of the flat room your photographs do show a very old fashioned room but nevertheless where there is a clean bathroom, shower and bedroom, just old fashioned and tiny. Previously guests have been happy because the rate is so very low. It as an old and historic building at over 300 years old and whilst we all work hard to keep it clean and presentable it will always feel that. As mentioned elsewhere on this site we refurbish late 2013 and every room will be entirely refurbished, prices will of course go up then to reflect that. I do hope you will consider joining us then and if you are not happy at that time please do ask for Mark or myself and we will do everything we can to make you comfortable.
Regards
Mark and Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Make sure you don't have to cancel or change your reservation. Ridiculous 7 day in advance cancellation policy and no attempt by inn to accommodate. My vacation time was cancelled by employer 4 days before reservation and I was basically told "tough luck", we're keeping your money anyway. There was no attempt to be helpful at all. I'll never know if the place is ok or not because I got nothing for my money. I would have to surmise that the inn is subpar because they would not need to subsidize their income by keeping money for no service.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank CCW60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Cancellation policies are nothing unusual or new, every hotel and Inn has them and in rural areas 7 days is not unusual either. Rent a car, book a flight, virtually in every walk of life there are cancellation policies. If not business would shut down with empty capacity. Ours only applies if we are unable to re-sell your room. We were unable to re-sell yours give the two days notice we received. The flowers you booked were from a local supplier so we paid the cancellation for those ourselves! We are very public about our policy we informed you verbally when you booked and sent a seperate copy of our terms and conditions when we confirmed. On every single page of our web site where we have room information, that same policy sits on the left hand side and there is an additional seperate part of the site dedicated to terms and conditions. Our staff are very experienced, professional and caring and would never say or infer what you are suggesting, it is unfair of you to say that about them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

My wife and I, along with our three dogs, had a great time staying in one of the rooms in the Bottle Cottage behind the Inn. A large direct water view bedroom with seating area coupled with separate bathroom and makeup/dressing areas. The atmosphere, service and food were fantastic. Location is superb providing great views and opportunties for peaceful evening strolls. Would highly recommend for overnight stays to get away from the hustle and bustle of big cities. If nothing else, you must go to the Inn to try Chef Proprietor and British Master Chef Mark Salter's exquisit cooking. A Christmas we won't forget and look forward to many other visits to the Inn.

Room Tip: Pets are only allowed in the Bottle Cottage rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimSwigart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind and generous words, it is much appreciated by us and our valued team. We look forward to welcoming you and your wonderful dogs on another occasion.
Mark & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

The Robert Morris Inn was just fantastic. I was a resident of the Inn for a week, I had seen the wedbsite and it looked fantastic but when I arrived it was even more romantic. I just loved the rustic charm. It was like I had just travelled back in history. . My wife and i dined in the restaurant and in Salter's Tavern, the staff were fantastic and I was particulaly impressed with the restaurant Manager Eve. When you are at the Robert Morris Inn you must understand the History that this very special place represents. see you all soon

Room Tip: We stayed in a Admiral room but had a chance to see the cabin and the bottle cottage style rooms, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eastcoldale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are absolutely delighted you enjoyed your time with us and yes, we are fortunate in having a great team at the Inn. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Inn when you next visit the USA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I have had several opportunities to dine at the Robert Morris Inn - the food is Fantastic and the Service is incredible. Most recently I was able to spend a weekend at the Inn. The rooms provide plenty of space and rustic charm, you can feel the history of the Eastern Shore of MD in Every facet of the Robert Morris Inn. I would highly recommend a weekend Trip to Oxford/Stay at The Robert Morris Inn, it is a great escape- and perfect way to recharge your batteries. If nothing else EAT THERE!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eringrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2012

Wow . . . many thanks for taking the time to review our Inn and your generous comments. Staff as well as guests stay here and they join us in thanking you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn.
Ian & Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxford
0.6 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
45 reviews
7.2 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
5.6 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Suites and Beach
8.8 mi away
Knapp's Narrows Marina & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robert Morris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robert Morris Inn

Address: 314 N Morris St, P.O. Box 40, Oxford, MD 21654-1019
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range: $132 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Robert Morris Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the home of Robert Morris who gained fame as "Financier of the Revolution". General and later President George Washington was a close friend and visited Robert Morris often. In more recent times author James Michener outlined his famous novel, Chesapeake here and fell in love with our renowned crab cakes. More history is located here. Now the Eastern Shore's most unique historic restaurant with rooms under celebrity Chef Proprietor, Mark Salter and Ian Fleming. Enter the Inn and step back 300 years: a pristine yet historic interior welcomes with timber beams, panelled walls and open fires in the cooler months. Through to Salter's Tavern featuring historic red brick walls and old slate floors, with magnificent fires in the cooler months and offering casual outside dining on our Terraces and Veranda during balmy warm summers. This is a truly historic Inn, cosy with a natural patina running through. Friendly, great cuisine and understated professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Robert Morris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robert Morris Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing