We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Bar B Q”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Famous Dave's

Famous Dave's
Ranked #23 of 133 Restaurants in Owings Mills
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ohio
Level Contributor
479 reviews
356 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great Bar B Q”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

I had never been to this chain. I went there with my brother and sister on a visit and enjoyed it a lot. I shared the St Louis and baby back ribs with my sister. While the St Louis ribs were more meaty, I enjoyed both styles. They had many sauces, including sweet, regular, tangy, mustard, hot and real hot... I mix the regular, sweet and mustard and it was very good. My brother got brisket which he said was very good- this place is one of his favorites. We also got some brisket tips as an appetizer which was disappointing- very fatty. I recommend the St Louis ribs very much

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TripPhotographer52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    22
    12
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Md
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“SLOWWW”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Food was as good as Dave's ever is but this was the slowest I've been served in years. The Hunt Valley location is much better.

Helpful?
Thank imaphnmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Famous Daves”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The food was great. The server was very attentive to my children and I. The service was prompt and the food was delicious. We plan on going back there soon

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karola A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“not a fun evening”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

went here around 3pm Sunday 12/15/2013.Four of our party of 7 were early we let the front know there would be 7 of us.As soon as the rest of our party arrived we informed the front.15 minutes later were still not seated.The folks up front were standing around talking.We were going to leave when a manager came up and asked if we were ready to be seated,my expained we had told the front 15 minutes earlier.After this we were seated in minutes.The server was nice and polite but very slow.She would take an order and disappear for a stretch of time.It took awhile for the food to come out.We have eaten at other Famous dave's and we were not impressed with the food at this one.We will not be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ref069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
128 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“I Couldn't Give it 3 1/2 Stars so I Rounded Up”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

I travel a lot and I tend to eat at the chains for one and only one very simple reason. You know what you are going to get.

You might scroll down my list of reviews and find that, with the exception of the old Gaithersburg, MD location, I like Famous Dave's. This is the 4th Dave's outlet that I've been to and it was just a touch below my favorite one in Germantown, MD.

My major complaint about Famous Dave's, in general, is that they bring the food out too quickly and this store was no exception to that. My other issue is that, for whatever reason, they don't really train the wait staff - I asked for balsamic vinegar with my salad so the server brought balsamic vinaigrette dressing. I pointed out to her that I had asked for balsamic vinegar so she brought me a bottle of red wine vinegar. So once again I said balsamic vinegar and she looked at me as if I were speaking Latin. Why oh why can't management tell their young wait staff what balsamic vinegar is and if a waiter doesn't quite know what the customer is asking for, to just ask the chef??

Anyway, the food measured up to the usual Famous Dave's standard. The barbecued chicken breast was done very well and the burnt ends were good but truly not quite burnt enough. Every time I go to Dave's I get the baked beans and the collard greens as my side dishes and these were as good as at other Dave's outlets.

It's a good barbecue place but not the best FD's.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Dave's also viewed

 
Owings Mills, MD
 

Been to Famous Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing