We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The taste of my hometown”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grace Garden

Grace Garden
Ranked #10 of 56 Restaurants in Odenton
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Odenton, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The taste of my hometown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

I am a local Sichuaness, just have been in States for half a month, unfortunately, I have already started missing the spicy favor of my hometown.I tried one so-called Sichuan Restaurant last week,which is very disappointing. It was my first time had been to Grace Garden with my husband, the boss is so nice after I explained where I am from,he offered us extra spicy flavor on my dishes. I ordered two typical Sichuan dishes, 水煮牛肉 and 辣子鸡丁,the flavor is so similar to the taste back home. I really enjoyed the meal!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hermione C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    9
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Never would have guessed that this place would be so good by the look of the place, but it was absolutely delicious. Authentic menu and Western menu as well. Some items on the menu have to ordered 2 or 3 days ahead of time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShawH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don't Judge a Book by its Cover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Grace Garden is the type of place that my Chinese husband and I would never look at twice.
This approximately 10-table restaurant is in a small strip mall in an area that is devoid of good Asian restaurants. BUT, based on a blog that my husband read and always in search of a good Chinese eatery, we made the hour-plus trip from our home to try it, inviting our two sons also to make a long trek to eat with us, None of us regret the journeys! Ignore the absolute non-descript (although clean) decor (just what one would expect from the exterior) and concentrate on the food. Don't even look at the American menu, but ask for the traditional Chinese menu (a mixture of mild Cantonese and spicy Sichuan dishes), and you will be in for a real treat. We all agreed that the fish noodle (yes, noodles made from fish) was a real standout, followed closely but the Taiwanese chopped fish and pork dish (somewhat spicy). The Empress Chicken at $26 is well worth the cost but does need to be ordered 2 days in advance. The Ha-Ka Tofu (one of many tofu dishes listed) is delicious - fried tofu squares stuffed with pork in a flavorful brown bean sauce. I can't wait to try some of their other tofu dishes, especially the Ma-Po tofu (tofu with a shrimp paste in a crab sauce) which is one of my favorites from other restaurants. We also had stir-fried chives as a vegetable and the very spicy dish described as pork belly with rice powder. The service provided by the owner-chef's wife and is friendly and helpful.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robtlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gambrills, Maryland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Ask for the Special Menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

They serve Americanized Chinese food but ask for the Eastern Menu to try real Chinese food-especially the fish noodles. Make sure you tell them MILD if you don't want to burn your mouth.

Helpful?
Thank GypsyPearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annapolis, md
Level Contributor
339 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Did Take-out and we will be back.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Annapolis does not have good Chinese restaurants. We have given up enjoying this cuisine unless we are traveling. The places here all suffer from the same approach: too sweet, too much fried foods, no spice, and little or no authenticity.

Thank goodness for Grace Garden - really fresh ingredients, well seasoned, and well executed. No mystery meats are used, or fillers like celery and enormous slices of onion. The Mongolian Beef was tender, delicately sauced, and served with just spring onions. The spicy house special chicken, was a hefty sized portion with nice chunks of sauteed meat and chiles.

I look forward to trying the various other items especially from the traditional Chinese menu. At last, we can enjoy this cuisine again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank llpupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grace Garden also viewed

 

Been to Grace Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing