We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night with family”
Review of Plaza Tapatia

Plaza Tapatia
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
York, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great night with family”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had a great experience, the food was excellent and the staff was great. Food served in a timely fashion and was delicious! So happy that there is an excellent Mexican restaurant in the area and will be back many more times!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    9
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
berlin md
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Disappointment at Plaza Tapatia”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have frequented this restaurant many times over the past years and have never had an experience such as the one we had last week. We invited a group of friends to join us for Mariachi night and planned to have a wonderful evening. Well, needless to say, it was a complete disaster. The poor server had no idea how to take care of a group and had food and drinks arriving at separate times. The drink orders were confused and only half of us received what we had ordered. The food was mediocre for sure and my husband was served his dinner after everyone else had eaten. We had a young child with us and his dinner arrived when we were almost ready to leave.
My husband visited the restaurant subsequent to this to discuss the matter. He was told that it would be referred to the manager and he would call him to see exactly what had happened. They also informed my husband that it was a new chef and it was his first night! No one ever called and it has been almost a week now so I do not think they will.
We will not be visiting this restaurant again and would certainly not recommend it to anyone.
Based on this I do not think we will return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carol a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food's Gone Downhill - New Chef”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Went recently to Plaza Tapatia again in Ocean Pines. First time ever there we were disappointed. Server got half the orders, including drinks wrong. And the food was not great. Chicken fajitas came out dry and barely warm. Talked to someone there who said it was a new chef. Apparently not wo good. Did experience their mariachi band which visits once a month and is wonderful. So the night was not completely bad.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Pines, MD
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Happy Hour Prices - Dinner Was Ok”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We are locals and finally decided to try Plasa Tapatia for dinner. Went early on Monday evening so no wait for a table. First, the happy hour prices and drinks are fine. I have steak and shrimp fajitas. They were kind of dry, but ok. My wife had taco salad and it was good. I have had better mexican meals at Cactus Cafe and in Montgomery County, but would go back for another meal. It would be a good place to take a large family as they have an extensive menu and prices are low.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kmox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food - Reasonable Prices”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We and friends had the pleasure of going to Plaza Tapatia now located near Ocean Pines for dinner recently. Now located in a much nicer place, we were previously fans of their food when located on route 50 although the building and facilities were old and dilapidated. The food was great as usual. Chicken fajitas this night although the Carnitas is usually our choice. And we picked a great night - the once monthly visit of a mariachi band who entertained us royally. Staff was friendly and accomodating. And all for a very reasonable price. Love Plaza Tapatias.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Plaza Tapatia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing