We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our stay at Fenwick”
Review of Fenwick Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fenwick Inn
Ranked #22 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Lewisburg PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our stay at Fenwick”
Reviewed July 25, 2007

I rented this room online just days before heading to Ocean City, MD for vacation. Our party consisted of two adults (parents) and two children, ages 8 and nearly 2. Immediately upon entering the room, I was very impressed. The cleanliness and size of the room was excellent. We had a small fridge and microwave in our room. While the view was not breath-taking, the window was huge and the view was not at all bad. All interactions with staff were positive. This hotel is just a block away from the beach. We all enjoyed the indoor pool (despite its being littered with sand). It was well worth the money! I would definitely stay here again, as well as recommend it to others.

  • Liked — size of the room
  • Disliked — sand in the pool
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank niffer110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    256
    185
    102
    102
See reviews for
386
278
22
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
141 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2007

We have stayed at the Fenwick Inn twice and for the most part enjoyed our stay very much. Although the Fenwick Inn is not the best quality resort in the area, its prices are very reasonable. For labor day weekend we paid less than $100 per night. The room was clean, although the bathroom needed some remodeling. The staff was very helpful and accomodating. The pool was great, except since the hotel's cheap price attracts some riff-raff a glass bottle of beer was dropped on the pool deck, even though coolers of beer were not permitted in the pool area. The person who dropped it did not even tell anyone, so that it could be cleaned up before someone walked on small shards of the glass.

There is a really nice Mini-golf directly beside Fenwick Inn, which we enjoyed two or three times during our weekend. The beach is also a short walk across the road and since it is farther from the boardwalk, it is not nearly as crowded. The small restaurant across the street from the Fenwick is very good for breakfast. We did takeout and sat on the beach eating our breakfast, which was great!

As far as the proximity to the boardwalk, Fenwick leaves something to be desired. It takes at least 30 minutes by bus to get to the boardwalk and it can take more than an hour during the busiest nighttime hours. However, since we paid half of what the hotels on the boardwalk were, this was not unexpected.

Fenwick Inn is best for younger visitors who do not mind walking to the beach or traveling a long distance to the boardwalk. The price is right for a weekend, but if you are staying for a longer period of time, you may want to pay extra for a hotel closer to the boardwalk and on the beach side of the road.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Distance from the boardwalk
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank squashirt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2007

My hotel REQUIRED Friday & Saturday night minimum reservation ended up being worthless and costing me $86.11. Because I had no need to be in O.C. Friday, but had a reservation for Friday & Saturday, I didn't arrive to the hotel until Saturday late morning. I went to check in and was told that my "Friday & Saturday minimum per hotel policy for the weekend reservation" was automatically turned into a no-show and my room was sold for Saturday. I'm still trying to figure that one out - kinda goes against their own policy, don't ya think? Amber was extremely rude. The hotel was dirty. The location at the top of the strip is out of the way. Don't ever stay here. It may be one of the cheaper hotels in the area, but at Fenwick, you get what you pay for. In my case - nothing.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DivaRnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Hyattsville, MD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2006

Just got back from a weekend in Oceacn City, where we stayed at the Fenwick Inn. This was our second time staying there. This visit the TV cable programming didn't work, and the maintenance man couldn't figured out the problem. He actually reprogrammed the TV twice to no avail!!! So supposedly that swapped out the TV for another one. Cool fine, on to the next problem. The rooms come equipped with a mini fridge and microwave. Nice, but shouldn't they work properly???? The microwave only worked on the popcorn setting. The decor was abit outdated and I actually saw wallpaper peeling away. Overall, you get what you pay for. For 2 nights stay and a food voucher not bad for the price. But, next time we'll spend the extra bucks to stay at a more reputable hotel.

  • Liked — reasonable price
  • Disliked — TV not working
  • Tips/Secrets — shop around and compare
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank laughing808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2006

My family and I stayed here this past weeked (8/18-8/20) because we decided last minute to take a trip down to OC from Long Island and everything was sold out (although driving back from the boardwalk I would see nicer hotels along the strip and "vacancy" flashing). My impression of the lobby was eh, nothing spectacular. The elevators are old and worn and slow. The room is big, comfortable and it was remodeled (again, nothing spectacular) though the bathroom needs some major remodeling work. I hate to admit it but my bed was really comfortable! The room decor is ok, nothing spectacular. But the most memorable part of my stay was the cockroach in the bathroom. I got up in the middle of the night to, well...you know... and there it was crawling on the counter. I have traveled and stayed at numerous places the past 5 years and never have I encountered a cockroach. I don't care if the hotel is old or new. To me, a roach is gross and I don't want to have to stay in a place that has them!

The restaurant upstairs wasn't bad. I only had breakfast (sit down). I also had the breakfast buffet which I wasn't impressed with, but that's me. I don't care for buffets.

Another downside to the hotel is the location. The traffic is unbearable to the boardwalk. It probably was better to use the bus but we like to drive. The beach access is across the street but we haven't gone. For what we paid, we could have gotten a closer hotel to the boardwalk. Definitely not work $269 a night (which was what we paid). I could have had a room at the Dunes Manor Hotel close to the boardwalk for the same price but by the time I went back to reserve it was sold out.

I was not impressed with OC. I guess because I have beaches here. I really need to visit Montauk.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ammie805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltsburg
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2006

Over the 4th of July we stayed at Fenwick Inn in Ocean city MD. My only disappointment with this hotel was the fact that you had to cross the Coastal Highway to get to the beach everyday. The staff was very friendly and even the maids were nice and willing to talk to you if you ask them a question, most of them spoke French but had very good English to convey a message.
They had a n indoor pool with a little mushroom fountain which the kids loved. They also had sprinklers the kids could move around like a squirt gun on the sides of the pool.
The adults could enjoy their large hot tub which was quite hot.
The rooms were large, and you can get street view or bay view from the back if you are up high enough, We could see a little of the ocean from the 5th floor facing the Coastal highway.
Parking was easy. We saw at least 5 wrecks when we were there on the Coastal Highway, I would recommend this hotel for people with older kids who can cross a busy highway safely but if you have little ones i would stay on the Ocean Block Side.
This hotel runs about 119.00 with a aaa discount a night. it also has a lounge area vending machine room and arcade games.
The hotel is much older than alot of Ocean City's hotels but it is spacious.
I would stay here again

Helpful?
15 Thank Farmerjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2006

all of the negative reviews I read before I went are true--I did not have a choice to change hotels because I was with a golf group that had prepaid. It is really a non professional hotel of staff, cleanleness, up keep--it is a very old hotel that needs to be shut down and gutted--the rugs in the room are not exceptable to walk on, kept my shoes on when walking from one area to next--the smell of mildew is horrible--my friends in the next room killed a roach and left in a corner of the bathroom I am sure it is still there. If you are use to going to hotels where you registarwith a professional staff, and you have a bellman take your luggage to your room, ( carry your own or get a cart) and you can stop in the restaurant & lounge for food and beverage, and you can get into bed and under the sheets, do not go to the Fenwick.
PS I never got into bed, slept with comfortor on only.
I guess the hotel does not read these reviews for if they did I am sure they would change

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
18 Thank pianoman37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#29 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cayman Suites
Cayman Suites
#25 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
#30 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocean City
1.2 mi away
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
#68 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sea Hawk Motel
Sea Hawk Motel
#39 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenwick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenwick Inn

Property: Fenwick Inn
Address: 13801 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842-4499
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fenwick Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Fenwick Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenwick Hotel Ocean City
Fenwick Inn Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing