We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I hope you like the smell of Mildew and Chicken Wings!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Ranked #28 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“I hope you like the smell of Mildew and Chicken Wings!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Anyone who has stayed in Ocean City knows the boardwalk hotels are not the cleanest or as nice as the ones on the higher numbered streets. This being said this hotel states that it is Oceanfront and not behind a Hooters restaurant! There is one building on the property that is Oceanfront but the rest of the buildings are scattered all over the place and we happened to be in the one that housed the indoor pool. The smell of Mildew as you entered the property is overwhelming. I just used the stairs instead of waiting for the elevator. The rooms were clean but run down. The A/C unit is a window one so it blows out onto the patio. There is a mini fridge and microwave in the room so you can store a small amount of items. Beware if you move your car and try to get a parking spot you will have to walk a few blocks, if you have just made a grocery store run can be quite the pain because you have to cross the main street to get from parking to the hotel. They offer free breakfast, but the day I went in I couldn't even find a place to sit. They fail to mention that you will be dining with all of the staff from the hotel, and after taking a good look at the cleanliness of the area where the food was put out, we opted to grab a quick bite elsewhere. This hotel is good for a weekend but I would never stay for a week. But if you are looking to be close to Hooters by all means this is where you want to be!

Room Tip: Only stay Ocean Front, even then you are right beside the smell of grease traps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsscaramo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    116
    61
    22
    10
See reviews for
128
94
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Downingtown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The Comfort Inn at 5th & Boardwalk has always been our go-to hotel. It isn't the fanciest by any stretch of the imagination but it's location is fabulous.

We have always stayed in the building that has the "Ocean View" rooms - they are less expensive and you still have a decent view of the beach. Since I get up early I enjoy sitting on the balcony with my coffee and watching for the dolphins to swim by - and yes, I have seen them almost every time we have stayed here!!! We were sad that they didn't have any vacancies for SunFest this year so we had to find a room elsewhere - now we know to book a little earlier!! A little note - they allow smoking in some of the rooms of this building - so if you are sensative to the smell of smoke, make sure you book in the non-smoking rooms of the ocean front building!!

The rooms are basic beach hotel rooms - but always clean, which is most important. They have a small fridge, some plates and utensils, a small coffee pot and wi-fi is available. Just steps from the boardwalk and beach. Easy access to the free parking (1 space per room) so leaving to go out to dinner was a breeze because there was always a space to come back to.

The have an indoor and an outdoor pool - I'm not a swimmer but my husband is - he tried out the indoor pool which, at the time of our stay was little dicey...the water had a greenish tinge to it so he decided to skip it this trip...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StaciKing921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Right in the middle of everything. On the boardwalk but quiet. Rooms were adequate. Breakfast was nice. Service was very good. All in all, nice hotel. Great to see they have handicapped accessibility. Even the pools were equipped with wheelchair access. Kudos on that!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank planningjunetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I read lots of reviews on trip advisor before settling on the Comfort Inn. It was the perfect location for my 9 yr old son. We were within walking distance of all the games and rides on the boardwalk. We had an easy walk onto the beach. The room was clean and of adequate size for two. The bathroom was small but updated. We had a 1st floor oceanfront room, which sounds great except for the noisy boardwalk at 2am. The free breakfast had several options including cereal, eggs and sausage, and pastries. Staff was not overly friendly but certainly handled all of our requests quickly.

Room Tip: Expect noise from the boardwalk if you have an oceanfront room. Great for viewing fireworks on Tues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redaduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I checked in for three nights. I was in the pink building behind the ocean front one. 1stfloor Was given a password for the internet and could not log on. Apparently there is a different code for that building....1AM I hear a thump above me that sounded like a bowling bowl was being dropped. I called the front desk at 2AM, the desk clerk said she would take care of it.
It continued and I called back at 2:25 and she said she was up and checked it out and they were quiet. She asked if it sounded like furniture being moved and I said it did and she explained it's the sliding glass patio door. Needless to say my first night was sleepless and the guest above me was up all night. Other than that, it's a nice place to stay. Comfortable beds, nice breakfast and housekeeper Don was very nice and accomodating.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diske1142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel. We had a room in the main building which was clean and pretty big. It had a small breakfast table, fridge, microwave, oven, sink & sofa. Our room was on the side but you could see the ocean from the balcony.
There is a really nice deck right on the boardwalk with plenty of lounge chairs for a great view of people on the boardwalk and beach. The outdoor pool is really small but they also have an indoor pool in the 2nd building which I did not see.
The free breakfast in the lobby was fair. Nice parking lot with plenty of space. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Carol, our housekeeper, was one of the nicest people.
This hotel is a little pricey but worth it for the great location and pool deck right on the boardwalk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mln304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittstown
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Great location right on boardwalk steps from the beach not too far to walk to the rides & games. Indoor & Outdoor pools rooms were clean, staff friendly & helpful! The free hot breakfast was great saved a lot of $$ there. Don't know why other reviewers had problems but we never experienced any! Would definetly stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paige W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocean City
Comfort Suites Ocean City
#47 of 103 in Ocean City
297 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
3,218 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront
1.5 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#7 of 103 in Ocean City
2,120 reviews
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn Oceanfront
Quality Inn Oceanfront
#39 of 103 in Ocean City
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Boardwalk

Property: Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Address: 507 Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-4167
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Boardwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Boardwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Boardwalk Hotel Ocean City
Comfort Inn Ocean City
Comfort Inn Boardwalk Ocean City Md
Ocean City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing