We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econolodge Oceanblock
Ranked #7 of 18 Ocean City B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 2, 2011

When we booked a week at the Econo Lodge in March, little did we know it would collide with Hurricane Irene. The staff at the motel, especially Marsha and Kelly were so accommodating, so friendly, and so competent, that we only missed one day due to weather. The room was large and immaculate. It had a well-stocked kitchenette, a modern bathroom, and a great flat screen TV. The location is great. We hope to be back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hmorgan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 174 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2011

Really nice place and GREAT front desk staff!!! Very close to the beach and a GREAT PRICE for families on a budget. Will stay on our next trip to OC. Close to great food and a mini golf right across the street. Room size is nice, as we had 5 on our trip and it worked out nice. Cleaning staff was honest.

Room Tip: Talk to cleaning service daily to let them know what you need done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank H2Vacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Our family was hesitant regarding the Econo Lodge as our family had a previous experience with this hotel brand in another city. However, the price was right and the location was perfect. The hotel was clean and the staff polite and professional. The room was a good size, 2 double beds and pullout sofa, with a table and 4 chairs for eating meals. Lots of elbow room for everyone. Kitchen area served our purposes. Minimal dishware, but what was there worked for us. We loved the location, next door to Delaware and a short walk to the ocean. Pool was great, restaurant we never ate at, but we heard was good from other hotel guests. Pool was very busy everyday with lots of families. The balconies were a good size too. Lots of parking - undercover or open lot depending on the size of your vehicle. We will bring our aerobed next year though. Mattress on sofabed was not too good. We will book here again next year! The first place we have found in Ocean City that is reasonably priced and clean that we will return to!

Room Tip: Upper floor for balcony & partial view of ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Canomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

I had a trip scheduled for the weekend of August 27th....the same weekend that Hurricane Irene is supposed to hit the east coast. Well, I was pretty upset because I looked on the website and saw that I had already missed the cancellation deadline. Lo and behold, this morning, I have a message on voice mail from Kelly at the EconoLodge stating that Ocean City is in the process of being evacuated and that she was going to refund my credit card. I was completely astonished; she had called every single person that had a reservation for this weekend and said the same to them. That is excellent customer service; I know they are losing a ton of $$. This location will definitely get my business again.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We came back to this hotel because of the price, location and the fact that it has a pool and restaurant. The hotel has been updated since last year. They have new flat screen TVs in the rooms, new carpeting and new bedding. Service is still excellent. The entire property is very clean. My only complaint this year is that they allowed anyone to use the (small) pool. Last year we really enjoyed the pool. This year it was like Spring Break...jam packed with people who were renting condos across the street and a loud young adult softball team who piled their empty beer cans up around the pool deck. I wish they would limit pool use to hotel guests. Other than that, everything was great.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KCashVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The room was big: 2 double beds, a pull-out sofa, table and chairs, patio, kitchenette, and bathroom. We stayed on the first floor facing the pool, which didn't allow for much privacy, although since we stayed in the last room, we had slightly more privacy than any other first-floor pool-side room. The room was clean, but the stairwells (outdoor) continuously had cigarette butts and gum on them (as if they didn't regularly upkeep them). Being ocean side made for a short walk to the beach. The Rio Grande Cafe and TIki Bar had good food and drinks and was usually open pretty late if it didn't rain. Overall, a good value.

Room Tip: If you want privacy, don't stay on the first floor - unless you have problems with steps, as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ginger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean. Fully-equipped kitchen was great especially with a family on a limited budget. We were able to save money on eating-out which allowed us to enjoy other activities. Rates were reasonable. Restaurant was reasonably priced and food was good. Tiki bar had an upbeat environment and good entertainment. No complaints at all during our 3-night stay. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Book a room by tiki bar to watch band from deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SandyClymer_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#32 of 104 in Ocean City
888 reviews
6.5 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#4 of 104 in Ocean City
2,405 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bonita Beach Hotel
Bonita Beach Hotel
#16 of 104 in Ocean City
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#28 of 104 in Ocean City
320 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#34 of 104 in Ocean City
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econolodge Oceanblock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econolodge Oceanblock

Address: 14502 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842-4371
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean City
Price Range: $113 - $939 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econolodge Oceanblock 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econolodge Oceanblock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Oceanblock Hotel Ocean City
Econo Lodge Ocean City
Ocean City Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing