We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Ocean City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econolodge Oceanblock
Ranked #7 of 18 Ocean City B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean. Fully-equipped kitchen was great especially with a family on a limited budget. We were able to save money on eating-out which allowed us to enjoy other activities. Rates were reasonable. Restaurant was reasonably priced and food was good. Tiki bar had an upbeat environment and good entertainment. No complaints at all during our 3-night stay. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Book a room by tiki bar to watch band from deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SandyClymer_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 174 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2011

My family and I decided to visit OC at the last minute. We were on a budget and lucked out getting Oceanblock for $150 a night. We were greeted by friendly front desk staff who were kind enough to let us check in early. The hotel which listed as "Newly Remodeled" still looked a little dated. Our room had a nice and clean kitchenette with a full oven (only one rack) and plenty of dishs. Our family of six (two adults, three tweens and a toddler) had enough room to move around. The "heated" pool was a clean and we have plenty of chairs. A drawback is you have to walk through the tiki bar to get to the pool. As a parent, I wasn't too thrilled with my kid seeing the rowdy, drunk vacationers. Another drawback was the housekeeping. She didn't sweep the pile of sand that was in the bathroom nor did she make one of the beds because a "personal" item (kids necklace) was left on the bed. The beach is right out the door and you can see it from most rooms. It's also on the line of Fenwick Island, DE and about a 30 minute bus ride from the boardwalk. We'd stay again if we can't find something closer to the boardwalk.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SydsMommie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Our family of 3 (mom, dad, teenage son) and one extra teenager stayed here for 5 nights in August 2010. Check in was super fast and they let us check in about an hour early. We got a pool view room as requested. The room, bathroom and kitchenette were all very clean. They need to purchase new bedspreads. The fold out couch had a large stain and the mattress was severly worn...but still usable. The kitchenette had sink, fridge with freezer, oven and 4 burner stove, small microwave, plastic dishes, tiny plastic coffee cups, real glasses, and a few forks, knives and spoons and a full size coffee maker. Coffee and filters are provided as well. Bathroom was well stocked with towels and toiletries. Balcony has two plastic chairs, but no table. There is a dining table with 4 chairs in the room as well. Old style TV with remote. A/C works great. Shower goes from hot to cold with no warning, so be careful with kids. The pool was pretty clean, but lots of people seemed to use it as a place to rinse off after the beach, even though an outdoor shower is provided. Annoying! The pool deck has plenty of tables, chairs and lounge chairs. The pool bar was really a nice feature as well as the attached cafe. The food is above average and well priced. Service staff is excellent. The walk to the beach is very easy. Parking was never a problem. I would love to see the rooms spruced up a little...but for the price we paid, it was a good value. I would stay here again and would suggest it to friends looking for a clean hotel at a budget price.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KCashVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
troypurn, General Manager at Econolodge Oceanblock, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2010

Dear Guest, Thanks so much for your positive review about the Econolodge Oceanblock. We take great pride in providing the best possible guest experience possible. We are continually upgrading the rooms and have plans for all new flat screen TV's and carpet throughout the building for next summer. Thanks again and we hope to see you again next summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

This place was not special, but there wasn't anything wrong with it at all. It was clean and roomy. The kids had plenty of room to move around. There is Wifi and a pool. There is also a Tiki bar on premises with a restaurant. We had breakfast at the restaurant 2 mornings, and it was good both times.

Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank JamieMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

This hotel is a good hotel if you're the kind of people that spend most of the time out on the beach or wandering through Ocean City. It's a hotel that gets the job done - a place to sleep, clean up after a day at the beach, get something to eat. There is a balcony that has partical veiw to the beach. I not going to lie but there is traffic noise, but my dad and I find it very relaxing to sit there and watch the cars go by, like you are watching time go by. It's a resonable price and very close to the beach, mini golf, and restaurants. The air condition is cranked so reasonable to bring a sweatshirt. My family will be visiting again!

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BetaGirl425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Econolodge in Ocean City Maryland, and I must say, we enjoyed the hotel and the nearby dining and amusements very much. The poolside bar and outside dining was great, a cold drink and some snacks after a day at the beach ! There was plenty of parking, a short walk to the beach, and the room was comfortable and practical. We used the in room safe, and the cost is taken off the bill when you check out....just ask. Already looking forward to next years trip.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drummer74_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

booked this hotel through kayak and was somewhat pleased as I had stayed in this hotel about 10 years ago and had an awesome experience. sadly the only upgrade in those ten years has been to paint the outside turquoise. When checking into our room we found what appeared to be body hair on top of a comforter and corn chips on the other bed and on the balcony deck. the room also had a slight feet and mold smell. as my buddy and i are used to when paying cheap prices we just stripped the comforter and went about our way. the sliding door was broken and the desk ignored our request to fix it. it was probably for the best as the room got way too hot at night and we had to open the door all night. we attempted to run the ac unit but the mold and mildew clearly gave us allergy symptoms. as it was difficult to sleep between the temp changes, moldy air and one pillow on my bed we decided to leave a day early and i checked into the zyrtec suite at home that evening.

another disturbing thing was we noted several of the housekeeping staff on break in a guest room that appeared to have people checked into it. there were suitcases about and the maids were sitting on the beds laughing.

also note the heated pool was 65 degrees

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheWalkinDudeJCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
8.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocean City
Comfort Suites Ocean City
#50 of 104 in Ocean City
309 reviews
8.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#28 of 104 in Ocean City
320 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sea Bay Hotel
Sea Bay Hotel
#32 of 104 in Ocean City
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#34 of 104 in Ocean City
388 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
#44 of 104 in Ocean City
334 reviews
6.5 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#4 of 104 in Ocean City
2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econolodge Oceanblock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econolodge Oceanblock

Address: 14502 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842-4371
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean City
Price Range: $113 - $939 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econolodge Oceanblock 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econolodge Oceanblock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Oceanblock Hotel Ocean City
Econo Lodge Ocean City
Ocean City Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing