We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
Ranked #35 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Red Lion, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I meant to write this review a few months ago, but forgot! My wife and I stayed here for a few nights back in May for my birthday. Obviously, down in Ocean City, there are a million hotel choices, so it was hard to pick one. I have to say that we were more than pleased with our choice here. This hotel is a fantastic little place, right in the action there in OC! The hotel is ocean front, they have a pool, the hotel is clean and fresh, the service was good. They had some nice little touches as well, like having beach chairs that we could use for free. Our room was a two room suite, with a small kitchen area as well. The oceanfront room was fantastic, and the balcony view could not be better. Plus, you are not far from all the action...Seacrets is not too far north, the boardwalk is not too far south. Within a 5 minute walk, there are a handful of decent restaurants as well. I will absolutely come back...nice place for OC!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, definitely get an oceanfront room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks so much for your review! Better late than never! We are a great quaint little hotel located directly on the beach. We have worked hard to upgrade the rooms and your vacation experience. Like you said, we are walking distance to all Ocean City has to offer. Thanks again for the review, and thanks for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    108
    50
    19
    21
See reviews for
148
83
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Atlantic Hotel was right on the boardwalk, and walking distance from everything. The entire staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. Also, I have never been to a cleaner hotel. From the rooms, to the rooftop deck, the pool, to the lobby and halls. Can't wait to stay there the next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dcm89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Ocean City enthusiast, we believe you have reviewed the wrong hotel as we are not located on the boardwalk.

We do however have a great hospitable staff ready to accommodate your beach vacation! Please consider our great hotel for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent 2 nights here and had a great time. The staff is friendly and responsive. The rooms are very clean. We were pleasantly surprised by how quiet the hotel was at night. We couldn't hear anyone else in the halls or in the other rooms. We've stayed in other Carousel Hotel properties before and had some noise in the rooms from other guests. We'r really glad we gave the Atlantic Oceanfront Inn a chance. They are in a great location and you can't beat the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear guest, thanks for the great review, and thank you for being our guest! Our staff are some of the best in Ocean City. Even though our hotel is located close to great dining & nightlife, we are quietly situated directly on the beach and seldom can one hear any commotion from the attractions. Thanks again for your kind words and review, we look forward to having you as our guest again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Creek
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My son picked this hotel in February. After reading various reviews, I had my doubts. But I was presently surprised by everything associated with this hotel. Starting with the very efficent front desk associate Chelsea, who handled all our requests promptly and with a smile. The room on the 5th floor was clean and spotless and the view of the beach/ocean was spectacular. And this was the first time I did not have an aching back after a nights sleep. Very comfortable beds. Thank you for 5 wonderful days and nights. We will be coming back very soon.

Room Tip: Stay above the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks for choosing the Atlantic Oceanfront Inn for your beach vacation! We have read, discussed and solved the issues from the previous reviews. Our team of experienced staff is here 24 hours a day to ensure your beach vacation exceeds expectations! We hope you had a chance to experience everything the Carousel Group Vacation Package has to offer including free family photo night vouchers, nightly ice shows, theme nights, discounted dining and more! Thanks again for your business and thanks for the great review!

We cannot wait to have you again at our beachfront hotel on 45th st.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Spent 3 nights during the last week of August. Everything was terrific. Room was very clean, the beach was right out the door, and we had a great view of the ocean from our room. Hotel staff was very courteous, check in was easy. This is a great location, not too far from the boardwalk but quiet during those evening hours when you just need to unwind.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PPeters60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks for the great review! We work hard to provide a superior product and it truly shows. Our hotel staff are some of the most hospitable in Ocean City. Our location is close to great dining and nightlife, and directly on the beach. We hope you had a chance to enjoy all the Carousel Group has to offer including free family photo night, discounted dining, free nightly ice shows at the Carousel, and complimentary beach chairs. Thanks again for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endicott, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We spent 4 nights here and had a blast. We had been a little concerned after reading some negative reviews, but we didn't see any of the issues they complained about. If you want a 5 star hotel then stay in one. Our 5th floor corner 1 bedroom suite was kept spotlessly clean, the beds were very comfortable, and the view from the balcony was fantastic. All the staff was very friendly. The wifi worked great even on the beach. We had no trouble with parking even when coming back from a late night at the boardwalk. The hotel is within easy driving and walking distance to everything. We can't wait to visit again next year.

Room Tip: Get a room above the first floor to have a view of the beach over the dunes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks for the great review! Whenever we get a negative review we look at it as an opportunity to improve our operations or improve our product. We are always looking to improve our hotel and listening to our valued guests on trip advisor is a great way to get the feedback we need in order to make these improvements. We hope you had a chance to enjoy all the Carousel Group has to offer including free beach chairs, discounted dining and skating passes, free family photo night and a ton of shared amenities through the Carousel.

Thanks again for being our guest, we look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I booked our room back in April, I checked the reviews then and the Atlantic Oceanfront Inn seemed like a great place to stay for a reasonable rate. Last week I was looking around their site and checked a few other reviews and discovered a number negative reviews and immediately I panicked.. We kept our reservation and I packed cleaning supplies. I was anticipating a filthy room and awful staff... What I got was the complete opposite. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was super clean, I didn't have to use any of the cleaning supplies I packed. We stayed in an Oceanfront King Suite. We had 3 adults and 2 teenagers, with plenty of room to spare. Beach access is very close and the hotel lends very nice beach chairs at no cost. There is an umbrella rental on the other side of the dune. Our room had a balcony and we were fortunate enough to observe dolphins swimming up the coast while we ate breakfast. I do however, have 2 complaints... The pool only goes up to 5 feet deep... And there is not enough parking. The staff said there was 1 parking space per room. Friday evening we went out and when we returned at approximately 10:30pm there was NOT ONE SINGLE parking space for us. We were, luckily, able to grab a public space out front. May I suggest, if you only have enough spaces for the number of rooms you have.. Please, Please number them with the room number. There is absolutely no reason we should be searching for a parking space. Other than that we had a wonderful vacation and can't wait to come back next summer (hopefully by then the parking issue will be resolved).

Room Tip: There is no restaurant or fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your business and thanks for the great review! We do realize that a few of the previous reviews did have some negative comments in them, but as promised, we have addressed these issues and corrected all the issues which needed to be corrected.
We do apologize if you didn't feel our pool was large enough, we do feel as though it is appropriate for the size of this hotel. Our parking policy is one vehicle per room, but as you stated, there are plenty of free off street parking spots available in the area. We will be looking further into the parking situation this upcoming year.

Thanks again for the great review, and thank you for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Oceanfront
Quality Inn Oceanfront
#38 of 103 in Ocean City
671 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#63 of 103 in Ocean City
291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#19 of 103 in Ocean City
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#28 of 103 in Ocean City
313 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
3,369 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#6 of 103 in Ocean City
2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanfront Inn

Property: Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
Address: 4501 Atlantic Ave., Ocean City, MD 21842-3228
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atlantic Oceanfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great hotel under new ownership and management for Summer 2009! Located directly on the beach with ocean front rooms & balconies. Newly renovated rooms include flat screen TV's, pillow top mattresses, Fully equipped kitchens with refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffeemaker, and toaster. Hotel amenities include outdoor pool, post-checkout changing rooms, complimentary coffee, book & game loans, and a positive smiling staff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Atlantic Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanfront Hotel Ocean City
Atlantic Oceanfront Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing