We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Great Place It Used to Be Plus Bad Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coconut Malorie Resort
Ranked #84 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Frederick, MD
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not the Great Place It Used to Be Plus Bad Experience”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at Coconut Malorie several times during the 90s and thought of it as the best of the best in Ocean City. Big rooms, great service, and we could walk to Fagers Island, where we enjoyed the nightlife.

Fast forward to 2014, on our annual January trip to Ocean City, we thought we'd spend a bit more than usual and go back there. Unfortunately, it did not pan out well. The rooms, while still large, had not been updated at all since our last visit, save for the TV which probably dated back to 2002 and didn't work. The fixtures in the bathroom were rusty and dated and the toilet barely flushed. The mattress was uncomfortably firm as well. The sliding door to the balcony wasn't very tight and we could hear the wind quite loudly. It was pretty disappointing.

However, things got worse when the hotel lost power (seemed to be confined to two blocks of OC) during some rain. Then it started raining in our hotel room around the sliding door/window I mentioned above. To top it off, we heard LOUD banging and voices down the hallway, which we thought was maintenance working on something, but when I went into the hallway, I learned it was a domestic situation where a guy was busting up the room and the police came to haul him away.

The weather, power outage, and police acticity was NOT the hotel's fault, of course, although it made our choice clear that we needed to go somewhere with power, working tv, that was quiet and not raining in the room. The front desk clerk was understanding and agreed the reverse the charge, although I will be very relieved once I see the transaction clear. We went back to Holiday Inn Express, which is very nice, accomodating, and less expensive with breakfast included.

Room Tip: I would actually recommend another hotel if you want a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hawknoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    70
    60
    53
    64
See reviews for
81
117
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hope mills, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We just met our family half way for New years / christmas at the Coconut Malorie, just arrived home yesterday. All of our rooms were very nice! Comofortable! quiet! (well besides us and our family i think at times we were pretty loud) All the staff was very nice, even house cleaning! The stay was great! We had a large family there and it went wonderfully!!!!! NOT ONE COMPLAINT. NOT ONE BUG. CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN and they dont make pizza so that might have been an issue someone had with whoever they ordered from who delivered! :( loved our stay thank you coconut malorie

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We came to this resort the weekend after Christmas for our daughter's birthday. Great time, but the rooms need to be updated and the maintenance staff needs to be aware when people are in the room instead of just barging in w/out knocking!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starrynite96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel thanks to some leftover RCI points. The lobby was very nice and decorated for Christmas. Our room was clean but needed updating. The carpet in the bedroom showed signs of wear, and the tile in the rest of the room was old and needed updating. There was a musty smell to our room which was cured by opening the patio doors for a few minutes. The heat/air did not seem to work so our room was in the mid-upper 70s during our stay. The walls are very thin - we could hear the people in the room next to us and even hear their conversations. The water pressure in the shower was not great. However, the water was nice and hot. The "kitchen" consisted of a refrigerator, two stove top burners, and a microwave. There were place settings for four which was nice for morning breakfasts and snacks. The deadbolt on our door did not function. When I mentioned it to the front desk clerk, he told me they were supposed to automatically lock after the door was shut?

WiFi signal was average in our room. Internet did not work at times during peak hours, but was good when most people are sleeping or not in their rooms.

We also were charged a $35 "cleaning fee" because we used RCI points. It probably would've been cheaper to just book a room at the hotel rather than use RCI points after the RCI booking fee and the cleaning fee.

A few updates and some TLC is needed, but our stay was comfortable and we enjoyed our weekend in Ocean City.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nags Head, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We did an off-season weekend stay on our way south. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the lobby was nice. However, the rooms were not well-maintained or clean.

We took a studio over a 1 bedroom because the 1 BR only had a queen bed, while the studio had a king. On the way to our room, we killed a cockroach in the hallway.

It was less then I was hoping for: poor water pressure in shower, grungy floors, loose fixtures, musty smell, and broken doors & curtains. Overall, the place is dated and a bit shabby. Also had to put up with noise from late night partiers at the Fager's Island bar next door.

On the plus side, the coffee in the lobby was good. :)

If you have a choice, look elsewhere. Otherwise, it'll do in a pinch.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hal064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
199 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We went to Ocean City, MD for a getaway over Thanksgiving and the resort was right on the bay and good rates because of off season. When we arrived Melody the group Sales Manager was so nice and she upgraded us to the suite, which had a great view, and was so neatly decorated. We had a relaxing enjoyable vacation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoAnn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed for a few nights in november 2013 with a friend. We ordered pizza when we got in and about an hour later i went for another slice and noticed there were tiny bugs crawling all around it. That freaked me out so we threw it away. I later saw the same little bugs crawling around on the bathroom counter. I looked at them and they kind of look like ants/termites but much smaller. Other than that I really had no problems besides the smell of the place (mold and lysol?)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Getslayerized
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.7 mi away
Princess Bayside Beach Hotel
Princess Bayside Beach Hotel
#64 of 103 in Ocean City
450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Bay Hotel
Sea Bay Hotel
#32 of 103 in Ocean City
402 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
#38 of 103 in Ocean City
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#29 of 103 in Ocean City
846 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Ocean City Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Oceanfront
Quality Inn Oceanfront
#35 of 103 in Ocean City
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Malorie Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Malorie Resort

Property: Coconut Malorie Resort
Address: 200 59th Street on the Bay, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Malorie Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coconut Malorie Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Malorie Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing