We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good hotel but showing it's age.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel
Ranked #32 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Maryland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good hotel but showing it's age.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We've been staying at the Clarion for many years, back when it was the Sheraton. Back in the day, it was impeccable in every way. It has gone through several renovations, but it definitely needs another. The carpet needs replacing, the bathrooms needs updateding, the electrical outlets for all the new devices need to be improved upon.
I've also attended conferences here. The facilities are excellent and I would highly recommend this as a conference destination.
The staff has remained excellent and professional, the dining room with full view of the ocean has a good menu and good service, the casual restaurant/bar remains good. The indoor pool and health club amenities have been maintained well.
The owner is often in the hotel and is always open to speaking to guests.
With a good renovation, the Clarion could be a 5.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 60811Traveler626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for your continued patronage. At the bottom of your review, it's noted that the last time you stayed with us was almost a year ago. We have completed several renovations, including new carpeting, new draperies, new lobby furniture, and more. Hopefully, you will be back to visit with us soon and will see the improvements for yourself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    282
    162
    75
    52
See reviews for
320
203
15
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was our first time traveling with our 2 Boston Terriers. We had a pleasant experience. The room was nice with a decent view. The room was not worn out and stained like you think a room that always has dogs staying in it would be. The staff was very friendly. Pet "bathroom" area was clean. Most guests picked up after their pets and the hotel provided bags to do so. The only complaint would be the smell of the room. Not as fresh and clean as "non-pet" hotel rooms smell. I'm sure there is some kind of deodorizer they could use to take care of that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TWONBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
I'm very sorry to hear that your room had an odor. We continually strive to exceed our guests expectations; unfortunately, there is the rare occasion when something happens to make a guest's stay less than perfect. In those instances, we encourage our guests to let the front desk know if there is any issue at all so we can take care of it in as timely a manner as possible. I do hope that we will be welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, MD
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Needed a break and spontaneously decided to take the kids to OC for a night. We live on the Eastern Shore, so we avoid Ocean City after Memorial Day. March and April are when we prefer to visit, especially since rooms are cheaper and dogs are allowed on the beach during these months. Last minute trips aren't easy for pet owners, because it's usually expensive to board them and/or hard to find someone to housesit on a moment's notice. In any case, the Clarion is one of the few remaining hotels in OC that will allow you to bring dogs.

My problem is the exorbitant taxes (which the Clarion can't do anything about), compounded by the $35 pet fee, or $50 for two dogs, which they do have control over. I know there's extra cleaning involved after a pet, but for one night, off season, it cost +$180.00. That's too much...$50 for two dogs? C'mon. It's the same amount of cleaning for two as for one...why the extra $$.

The children enjoyed the indoor pool, and the bar immediately adjacent offered decent happy hour specials. It was nice to relax with a view of the ocean, comfort food (chicken wings), and happy children playing in the pool a few yards away.

The hotel was obviously swanky in its day, but the years are beginning to show. Our base rate was $106 before pets and taxes, which is a fair price. The room was clean, but very basic. Too, keep in mind that "ocean front" hotels aren't necessarily indicative of a great view. This hotel has "standing balconies", which means there's a sliding door that opens to a slab of cement that one person can stand on at a time. When I booked the room and was provided a total cost, I was also told "exceptional view". That helped to sell me, but when we arrived in our room the immediate view was of the hotel next door. Bummer! We had to walk (individually) onto the balcony and look to the left (over the rooftop and a/c units of the bar/indoor pool) to see the Atlantic. Lastly, the beds were just not comfortable.

Also know that for that price, breakfast is not included...not even a danish and coffee. The breakfast bar is $15 per person, which is ok for the honeymooning couple, but probably not so much for the family of 5.

I guess the point of this review is that for an off season price, this hotel is acceptable...but I can not begin to imagine paying summer rates to stay here. $180 per night would've ticked me off had I not known that part of it was for the dogs.

Room Tip: Room 514 has a better view of the building next door than it does of the ocean. Plus, why is the cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennyMadison_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
I'm pleased that overall, it seems as though you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate that you chose the Clarion Resort for your night away. There are very few hotels in Ocean City that welcome pets, and our rates are right in line with what other establishments charge. We sincerely believe that our buffets are very reasonably priced for the high quality of food we offer. Please keep in mind that we do offer children's pricing for all buffets. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skaneateles, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We returned to the Clarion Fontainebleu for a night at the beach. We got a view of the Atlantic, the ability to let the pup run on the beach, and an excellent meal in the restaurant. While definitely off-season, the staff are great and the rooms clean. Our request for a room closest to the water was graciously accommodated. Altogether another good experience here. Would love to go back during warmer months.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reviewer1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
The warmer months are here, so we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
197 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Another business trip for me but I've stayed here before a few years ago. The good things about the Clarion are it is on the beach in north Ocean City, MD. You are away from the boardwalk but can take a bus during the summer. Every room seems to have a view of the ocean since rooms have a small balcony on side of building. The hotel room was good size with 2 double beds, a sofa bed, mini fridge, microwave, coffee pot and safe. The safe is a nice touch. The bed was soooo comfortable! I didn't hear anyone in the hall but there weren't too many there this time of the year anyway (during the weekday). The room was very clean. Dining room has great view of the ocean and meals were tasty. Great conference rooms with good service. The hotel and dining staff were super friendly. Lobby was inviting.

Here are a few downsides... The hotel room was a bit "tired." Tub was discolored. The doorway to bathroom was small and no way a wheelchair would fit. The bathroom itself is quite tight and tiny. Seemed like the number of electrical outlets were limited for the need to recharge electronics. The closet doors are still the same old sliders from years ago...they didn't slide then and they still don't, at least in this room. They fell off the tracks and I couldn't get them back on.

In the end, the hotel is average in today's hotel climate. If you can put aside those few downsides mentioned above, then this is average hotel for a good price. They are not deal breakers at all. If I was traveling with my family, I myself would opt for someplace a bit newer due to my personal tastes. Pictures included. The friendly, courteous, and helpful staff do provide a higher level of service that help mitigate the age of the hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank DE_Auditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for complimenting our staff. We do strive for excellent customer service, and we're happy to see it recognized. Just a note that the Ocean City buses run all year. We do have handicap accessible rooms, with larger, accessible bathrooms. If a guest needs those accommodations, please request them at the time of making the reservation.
Lastly, yes, our closet doors do need replacing in some rooms. We hope to be able to complete that renovation in the next year. Again, thank you for posting, and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b more
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I give it a 9+!!!!
great service
internet
clean rooms
I didn't hear any noises but the water
leave feeling good..
banks in area
creamery
good food
whirlpool spa
scented room
lava room
gym with everything
indoor swin pool.........
the choice of any room........
close to everything even burger king delivers.......

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on "TOP FLOORS"...They have different types of rooms so check out more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thanks for posting; so glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope you make the Clarion Resort a regular stop on your vacation itinerary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here over a weekend during my daughters cheering competition. The hotel seems clean enough but is starting to look dated. It was about a 5 minute drive to the convention center.

Check in went smooth enough though there was a short wait to get on an elevator. It was even worse on Sunday with everyone checking out at the same time and filling the elevators with those giant luggage carts. If you're hungry and don't want to go far, there is a restaurant on site that has a seafood buffet. I don't remember the exact price but it was just over $30 per person.

The hotel itself is situated vertically along the beach which means that all of the rooms face the parking lot to the left or right of the hotel. No ocean front rooms. There is a small (standing room only) deck off the room and if you stretch your head you can see part of the beach.

There is a nice sized safe in the room as well as a fridge, microwave and flat screen TV.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank promoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
No need to stretch your neck! If you look out to one side, you have a view of the Atlantic Ocean; and if you look to the other side, you have a view of the bay. The way the building is situated allows almost every room to have these views. Since we do sit right on the beach, our restaurants and decks offer that great ocean view as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 mi away
Marigot Beach Suites
Marigot Beach Suites
#41 of 108 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocean City
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#19 of 108 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 108 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,864 reviews
6.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocean City
Comfort Suites Ocean City
#47 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

Property: Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel
Address: 10100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Ocean City
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#6 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#23 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel is the finest all non-smoking hotel in Ocean City, Maryland, featuring luxurious hotel rooms and a 40,000 square foot Conference Center. Located directly on the beach and overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, you'll get the best in Ocean City resorts with unmatched comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Choice Hotels so you can book your Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Resort Fontainebleau
Clarion Ocean City
Ocean City Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing