We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough - stayed with my dog.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel to your Saves list
Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   10100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #27 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good enough - stayed with my dog.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here with my dog. I was testing taking him on trips with me. The hotel is not brand new and spotless but it is not bad. The dog fee is $35 per night which I don't understand. A second person would have had more of an impact than a medium sized dog. The provisions for dogs is very good. There is an outside pet play/do their business area that is fenced in. I have stayed here before and would do so again. The food here has always been very good. They have a new outside pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rev_Dennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We're happy to be able to accommodate the whole family in our hotel. We're definitely a bunch of pet lovers at the Clarion! We look forward to welcoming you and your pet back on your next visit to Ocean City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    266
    143
    63
    41
See reviews for
290
178
13
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
291 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for Corvette weekend in early Oct. it's big enough to hold a few hundred corvettes and owners, and has a hall for entertaining and food for a crowd. Place is in good shape, and the staff were nice. Check-in and out we're very fast. I'm sure all of the 'vette owners appreciated the large parking spaces as well - no dinged doors!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dcshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
We look forward to having you all visit with us every year! It's fun for the staff, and we're glad it's enjoyable for you, too. Thanks for posting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was my husband and I first stay at this hotel and also our first time traveling with our dog. I thought the hotel was very nice and clean. Check in was very quick and when I asked some questions the front desk was very knowledgable. The room had a nice view of the beach and was very clean for being a pet room. Housekeeping does a great job!! The dog park area was really nice, that is one reason why we choice this hotel over another Choice hotel. I can't trust my dog off leash, so this was a nice way for him to be off leash and stretch his legs. When we stepped out the second day I let front desk know so that the housekeeper could clean our room and she had it done by the time we got back. Everyone was very friendly! We hope to come again off season, since that is the only time dogs are aloud on the boardwalk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KStumpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
It's great that you were able to enjoy your time away with the whole family! We hope you make it back in the off season so your dog can enjoy the boardwalk and the beach! Thank you for the post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I didn't notice any big problems here. Except I was told I was being upgraded to an ocean view and no extra charge, and I was charged extra. If I hadn't paid attention I would have paid for it all, but the staff was very nice when I brought it to their attention and fixed it promptly. My room was nice. I was here for a conference and the food service was great and the bartender in the ball room was an amazing good sport for our scavenger hunt game. I would stay here again. I did hear complaints about the heaters not working for a few people, but my room was nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thatoneone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This property needs to be upgraded and new management installed. The bathroom door did not close, one of the towell racks was broken, and the vinyl was peeling off the bathroom wall. It was obvious that these problems were not new and of long standing. The staff constantly barged on the elevators pushing guests against the wall. In one instance, the staff made a person in a motorized wheelchair back out of the elevator so that they could put a cart on and then allowed the wheelchair to get back on. Both my wife and I talked to the manager on duty (Mark). Our impression was that he could not have cared less about our comments. As to the issues regarding the elevators, Mark indicated that the hotel did not have a service elevator so, apparently, inconveniencing the guests was OK and standard procedure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JKPhilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
I sincerely apologize that you walked away with the impression that Mark didn’t care. That’s absolutely not the case; inconveniencing our guests is not okay, and definitely is not standard procedure. The items in the room that you reported have been fixed, and due to you voicing your concerns, the staff has been informed that the guests always have the right of way on the elevators. This has been supported by signage posted in the employee areas. Mark took your feedback very seriously, as he does with every guest. We do hope to welcome you back soon, and show you that customer service is our first priority. Thank you for taking the time to post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Clairion use to have reputation for being slightly above average hotel but it has declined....at one point it was the only game in town and was very good but not now ..service people were nice enough except for bartender who was more interested in serving the "locals' than serving other patrons....but one in our group had fleas in her room and had to be moved...saw lots of families there with their dogs....lobby area is tired and needs to be updated and the carpet in restaurant, bar and conference rooms need to be replaced or get a good cleaning. Floors were sticky and no rest rooms on first flr of conference area...patrons had to go up steps or use an elevator to 2nd flr restrooms. I was there for a conference for 2 days and others in our group went to other hotels at better rate and more up to date accomodations. Food was average.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxx2cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
I do apologize that you had issues with some aspects of your accommodations during your stay, and for the behavior of the bartender. We value all of our guests, as the guests are the reason we are all here! Our conference center was renovated about four or five years ago, and we continue to renovate the hotel in the off seasons. We appreciate feedback from all guests, and thank you for posting your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I attended a conference held annually at the Clarion. The staff is friendly and the meals were pretty good. The meeting rooms were suitable. However, I think the carpet has been in the meeting room areas and hallways for at least a decade and it is worn and has an unpleasant small in some places. My room was OK, but the bathroom was very small and cramped. The place feels worn down and somewhat dingy. It is in need of refurbishment and upgrading.

Room Tip: High up offers good ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Our entire convention center was renovated four or five years ago, including carpet, vinyl, and draperies in our Crystal Ballroom. We are continually renovating and refurbishing the hotel, generally in each off season. Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#17 of 108 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,285 reviews
4.1 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#1 of 108 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,537 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocean City
Comfort Suites Ocean City
#43 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
3.5 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#18 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

Property: Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel
Address: 10100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Ocean City
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#6 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#23 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel is the finest all non-smoking hotel in Ocean City, Maryland, featuring luxurious hotel rooms and a 40,000 square foot Conference Center. Located directly on the beach and overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, you'll get the best in Ocean City resorts with unmatched comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Otel, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Resort Fontainebleau
Clarion Ocean City
Ocean City Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing