We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I wouldnt stay there again! The only good thing was their cafe!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sahara Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sahara Motel
Ranked #55 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
New Stanton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I wouldnt stay there again! The only good thing was their cafe!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I guess you get what you pay for......hotel was not clean at all! My room had cobwebs in the corner of the ceilings,there was a inch of dust on everything, the mirrors were smeard,the window that faced the ocean was horribly dirty, and there was hair in the shower from whoever stayed there the night befor ewwwww! The hallways were dirty also! There was no elevator (which sucked cause we were on the 3rd floor). The pool had bird feathers in it and the maids were rude! The only good thing was their cafe...good food for cheap....that was it! Even tho i wouldnt stay at the hotel I would go back 2 the cafe to eat (it was not dirty at all!) I give this hotel a BIG thumbs down!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    89
    48
    20
    30
See reviews for
118
67
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northeastern Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just got back from a 2-night stay. We stayed in the Tower Building, which has 4 floors and an elevator. The price was very good compared with most of the places I checked. Room was very clean - it had a bit of a musty smell when we checked in, but apparently this was because the A/C was off - once we ran it for a short while, the smell was eliminated and was no longer an issue. Bathroom was very clean, which is something I have found to be an issue with many hotels/motels in OC. Check-in was quick, as was the check-out. Staff was extremely friendly. TV was small, but adequate. It's a bit further uptown than we normally stay, but still within walking distance of most of the Boardwalk restaurants and shops. We have been coming to OC for many years, we had never stayed at this motel, and I'm leery of staying at places I have never tried, but this is one I would likely return to in the future. We did not experience any issues that would prevent a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I booked a room at the Sahara Motel for one night in late August. We have been going to OC for many years but never tried the Sahara. We were very pleasantly surprised to find the room very clean and large enough to accommodate the both of us nicely. The price was affordable and our room was just a short walk to the boardwalk. The staff was very nice and as a bonus at the base of our building was the Sahara Café that serves breakfast and lunch. Overall the stay was excellent and I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mthom2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ridgeville, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Good: location, two pools, very clean
Ok/not my fav: Double size beds... Forgot how small they really are! Internet only worked when we went down to the lobby :(. I know people say they don't need wifi on vacation, but we not own smart phones, so we do rely on it a lot to look up attractions, restaurants, etc..
We would stay here again? Probably not, just bc there are so many other places to stay..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funinthesun44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Got away for a few days to the beach and this was my first time staying at Sahara. I was pleased to see the nice clean rooms. Bathroom a bit small and wifi could not connect to,in my oceanfront room, but minor things. Had a good time and would stay again.

Room Tip: Loved ocean front on the boardwalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melinda1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just stayed there this past week. Room was clean, place is very well run. Shower is clean and great! Beds were clean. Maid service everyday! Pools were very nice. Coffee shop was very nice and a great breakfast, really was! Internet WIFI was spotty, but HEY you're on vacation! from my spot on the beach to the motel was 5 minutes, Look forward to going back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PhillyBilly87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from our annual ocmd vacation. The Sahara is your average beach motel. If you are expecting or looking for the Hilton or any hotel chain this isn't it,which I knew but it seems after reading many reviews people are dumb and jaded. It's a nice place to stay on a budget. We stayed in the ocean front building ocean view side. Pros : convenient, close to everything on the boardwalk and great bars/restaurants, Clean rooms except for a few hairs in the bathroom,private balcony,fridge and microwave,very friendly front desk staff and housekeeping. Cons: no elevator,noisey guests yelling talking loudly banging walls and doors all night long, tub filled up and did not drain well,air conditioner is behind a wall partition so room doesn't get very cold,dust build up on air conditioner and adjacent wall. Other than these few small things I enjoyed it and will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ejspock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront
0.6 mi away
Seabonay Motel
Seabonay Motel
#70 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#54 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Hotel
#38 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.5 mi away
Flagship Hotel Oceanfront
Flagship Hotel Oceanfront
#42 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Spinnaker
The Spinnaker
#22 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sahara Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahara Motel

Property: Sahara Motel
Address: Oceanfront at 19th Street, Ocean City, MD 21842
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your next Ocean City, Maryland vacation at the Sahara Motel, a complex offering four buildings with rates and locations to suit your needs. Choose from direct Oceanfront/Oceanview, Poolside, West or Tower buildings. All are reasonably priced and just steps away from the Ocean City Boardwalk, amusements, restaurants and shopping. Our oceanfront hotel provides one of the best beachfront views in Ocean City, Maryland. Also the home of famous Jay's Sahara Cafe. Relax on Ocean City's white sandy beach and let the ocean wash over your feet. Stroll the Boardwalk or take a refreshing swim in either of our two sparkling pools. Sample one of Ocean City's nearby golf courses, or just relax on your private oceanfront balcony. We are convenient to all of the most exciting attractions in Ocean City, Maryland. Discover and enjoy Ocean City, Maryland at the Sahara Motel. We are your family's place at the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sahara Hotel Ocean City
Sahara Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing