We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just ok”
Review of Sahara Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sahara Motel
Ranked #53 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Huron, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Good: location, two pools, very clean
Ok/not my fav: Double size beds... Forgot how small they really are! Internet only worked when we went down to the lobby :(. I know people say they don't need wifi on vacation, but we not own smart phones, so we do rely on it a lot to look up attractions, restaurants, etc..
We would stay here again? Probably not, just bc there are so many other places to stay..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funinthesun44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    89
    48
    20
    30
See reviews for
119
68
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Got away for a few days to the beach and this was my first time staying at Sahara. I was pleased to see the nice clean rooms. Bathroom a bit small and wifi could not connect to,in my oceanfront room, but minor things. Had a good time and would stay again.

Room Tip: Loved ocean front on the boardwalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melinda1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just stayed there this past week. Room was clean, place is very well run. Shower is clean and great! Beds were clean. Maid service everyday! Pools were very nice. Coffee shop was very nice and a great breakfast, really was! Internet WIFI was spotty, but HEY you're on vacation! from my spot on the beach to the motel was 5 minutes, Look forward to going back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PhillyBilly87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from our annual ocmd vacation. The Sahara is your average beach motel. If you are expecting or looking for the Hilton or any hotel chain this isn't it,which I knew but it seems after reading many reviews people are dumb and jaded. It's a nice place to stay on a budget. We stayed in the ocean front building ocean view side. Pros : convenient, close to everything on the boardwalk and great bars/restaurants, Clean rooms except for a few hairs in the bathroom,private balcony,fridge and microwave,very friendly front desk staff and housekeeping. Cons: no elevator,noisey guests yelling talking loudly banging walls and doors all night long, tub filled up and did not drain well,air conditioner is behind a wall partition so room doesn't get very cold,dust build up on air conditioner and adjacent wall. Other than these few small things I enjoyed it and will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ejspock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Great location, clean, close to boardwalk, great restaurant
on sight. Was told they had wi-fi. We stayed in the towers,
they reset the internet twice with no luck. After that was told
"I don't know what to tell you we have had problems in that
building".( other people had same problem) Husband a big coffee drinker
no coffee pot in room. (all other places we stay at have in room)
Will not stay again due to no internet when told there was and
they act like they don't care.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baseball96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Carmel, PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Wasnt very impressed with this hotel stay. The bedspreads were old, the beds were awful to sleep on and pillows were lumpy. We had a nonworking minfridge which they did replace. Wifi was not available in our part of the building, they told us we were to far on the edge, the router is in the middle of the building(disappointed teenagers for internet use). It was clean but for the price we paid to be near the boardwalk i expected more

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgrosser74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Wappinger, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for five nights.
As others have stated if your looking for the Hilton this is not it.
We stayed in a poolside room in the building where the office is.
Best part of this motel is the location. Your on the boardwalk.
It's far enough away from the noisey part of the boardwalk but a short tram ride right to all the action.
We had no complaints about the cleanliness of our room.
We had the beds made,fresh towels, and vacuumed each day.
Bathroom was small but clean.
Pool was clean and it was very quiet at night.
Fridge and microwave in every room was great.
We really didn't spend much time in our room.
The beach is right there to enjoy.
The cafe attached across the street has great breakfast and an early bird special.
If your looking for an affordable motel right on the beach this is a great pick.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jess R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Ocean City Oceanfront
0.6 mi away
Seabonay Motel
Seabonay Motel
#71 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#60 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#32 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Spinnaker
The Spinnaker
#21 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.4 mi away
Safari Motel Boardwalk
Safari Motel Boardwalk
#48 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sahara Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahara Motel

Property: Sahara Motel
Address: Oceanfront at 19th Street, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your next Ocean City, Maryland vacation at the Sahara Motel, a complex offering four buildings with rates and locations to suit your needs. Choose from direct Oceanfront/Oceanview, Poolside, West or Tower buildings. All are reasonably priced and just steps away from the Ocean City Boardwalk, amusements, restaurants and shopping. Our oceanfront hotel provides one of the best beachfront views in Ocean City, Maryland. Also the home of famous Jay's Sahara Cafe. Relax on Ocean City's white sandy beach and let the ocean wash over your feet. Stroll the Boardwalk or take a refreshing swim in either of our two sparkling pools. Sample one of Ocean City's nearby golf courses, or just relax on your private oceanfront balcony. We are convenient to all of the most exciting attractions in Ocean City, Maryland. Discover and enjoy Ocean City, Maryland at the Sahara Motel. We are your family's place at the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sahara Hotel Ocean City
Sahara Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing