We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and quiet”
Review of Sahara Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sahara Motel
Ranked #52 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
PA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Clean and quiet”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We have stayed here twice. It is not a 4 star resort but is perfect for a get away for a beach vactation. Nice Staff the Resteraunt on premise is great for breakfast. I will book again nest year for a few nights.

Room Tip: If you want an Ocean front room book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SHOESHOES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    91
    48
    20
    30
See reviews for
121
68
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The ocean front location was wonderful! Really enjoyed watching the sites of the ocean and boardwalk. The only things unenjoyable were the tiny space in the bathroom and the air conditioning unit that was behind a wall partition. The bathroom area was way too cold and the wall blocked the air from circulating throughout the room. The temperature outside was hot for that weekend and a cool room would have been inviting. The fridge and microwave was a big plus but could have had an iron and board for daily use.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mouse310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife are in Ocean City at least 2-3 times a year and always prefer to stay on the north end of the Boardwalk for the convenience without the crowds. This was our first stay at the Sahara and we'll certainly consider staying again.

It's obviously an older beach motel with multiple buildings on both sides of the street, but the building containing the oceanfront rooms has always appeared to be very well maintained from the boardwalk, which was certainly a factor in our decision to give it a try.

We stayed in one of the oceanfront rooms, and didn't mind the stairs to the third floor. There was ample parking in the lot at that building, despite the fact that they were close to full during our stay. Ice is on the ground level and required a quarter to use (I assume because it's accessible by the public), which is no big deal as long as you're prepared with a quarter or two during your stay.

Overall, the rooms are small. There's enough space in the living area, but the bath/sink area borders on microscopic. That said, it didn't really detract from our experience, as it served the purpose adequately. The balcony was big enough for two to sit comfortably and furnished with ubiquitous plastic lawn furniture. Our room was clean when we checked in. The TV was a modern flat panel and the cable service consisted of a full basic cable spread, which was nice after we settled in for the night.

I was tremendously impressed with the service from the front desk. After we had returned to our room for the first evening of our stay, I had to call the front desk to report a non-working A/C unit. The gentleman I spoke with came up right away and verified that the unit wasn't working, went to get a second person to assist him, and replaced the defective unit with a brand new A/C right out of the box - all within half an hour of my initial call to the front desk. Not bad at all!

We did not try the hotel restaurant, but the menu has plenty of breakfast offerings and not a bad selection for lunch. The pool appeared to be clean and well maintained. Check in/out times were 2pm and 11am, respectively, which is a bit better than most of the competition - especially the 2pm check in.

My biggest complaint is a security issue. They have not upgraded their locks and while magnetic cards have their problems, they're generally more secure than the standard Schlage exterior door locks which are still used at the Sahara. Any guest with nefarious intentions could go into any hardware store and have a copy of their room key made. It's not the best feeling to know that the management has no real control over the number of keys to the rooms.

The issue of the outdated locks notwithstanding, we will definitely consider the Sahara for future trips. It was a great value despite a few minor details.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WalksSoftly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed at this hotel with my fiance for the H2oi event in Ocean City. The best thing about this hotel was the location. Location was superb, right on the boardwalk at 19th st. An easy walk to many bars and restaurants, like brass balls and shenanigans. And a modest walk to everything first street has to offer. The hotel itself was just average, nothing special. Rooms looked a bit outdated, as was the TV. The fridge was newer and was a nice feature. I did notice the air conditioner did have a bit of musty smell if you were close to it. Up looking at it I did notice that it did appear to have a bit of mildew growth on it which should have been cleaned. If your just looking for room to sleep in at night that is nothing special but on the beach, this hotel isn't a bad deal. With that said I will be looking for a different place next time I'm in Ocean City.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebelKB475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Had to leave my room in the middle of the night due to being up 2 nights in a row due to loud people below us along with the partying and the marijuna so bad the smell came up to our room. This was our first and last time we will stay here. Security and front desk were notified i also called police due to the office staff not attending to our complaint. This is the worst time i have ever had such a bad experience in ocean city..i will be passing the word...do not stay at sahara motel in ocean city maryland.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wsbsteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I love the place. The room/ bath stuff my be dated but its always clean. If we ever have a problem they are on it quick, and the price is the best in Ocean City. When we are there we don't spend time in the room anyway so why worry if you do or you don't have a flat screen tv. If you do you shouldn't go to OC for a vacation then.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigspades76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The sahara is very nice, good rates, good location, all you need to make your stay in ocean city awsome !!! We stayed in the back tower, 1st floor and it was close to every thing we needed. The pools were clean, the sahara cafe food was good , its located right behind a shopping plaza which was great, it was our first time staying there, and will stay there when we go back in 2013!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaurieandSpike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#28 of 103 in Ocean City
307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#61 of 103 in Ocean City
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Seabonay Motel
Seabonay Motel
#68 of 103 in Ocean City
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Spinnaker
The Spinnaker
#21 of 103 in Ocean City
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Empress Motel
Empress Motel
#62 of 103 in Ocean City
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sahara Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahara Motel

Property: Sahara Motel
Address: Oceanfront at 19th Street, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your next Ocean City, Maryland vacation at the Sahara Motel, a complex offering four buildings with rates and locations to suit your needs. Choose from direct Oceanfront/Oceanview, Poolside, West or Tower buildings. All are reasonably priced and just steps away from the Ocean City Boardwalk, amusements, restaurants and shopping. Our oceanfront hotel provides one of the best beachfront views in Ocean City, Maryland. Also the home of famous Jay's Sahara Cafe. Relax on Ocean City's white sandy beach and let the ocean wash over your feet. Stroll the Boardwalk or take a refreshing swim in either of our two sparkling pools. Sample one of Ocean City's nearby golf courses, or just relax on your private oceanfront balcony. We are convenient to all of the most exciting attractions in Ocean City, Maryland. Discover and enjoy Ocean City, Maryland at the Sahara Motel. We are your family's place at the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sahara Hotel Ocean City
Sahara Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing