We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The Atrium is Loud, Even at 3 AM!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Inn Oceanfront
Ranked #25 of 108 Hotels in Ocean City
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The Atrium is Loud, Even at 3 AM!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The facilities were alright and the room was okay, but the service from the Staff was cold and borderline rude. I had to call the front desk three times to complain about a party going on in the atrium at 1 and 2 AM (it was Sunday night). My wife and I were trying to sleep and these people were yelling and screaming and running up and down the halls until almost 3 AM. It was ridiculous! I can't imagine staying here in the peak season and putting up with that! I won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean at either end of the hotel. Do NOT get one in the middle if you exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dell65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    184
    87
    42
    61
See reviews for
251
161
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Willards, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times, but this last time was the worst. We checked in on a Saturday and checked out on a Monday in the off season. I liked this hotel because of its tropical decor and it's indoor pool. I live in the area and stay here as a way to celebrate my grand daugters birthday. On this trip I had my 11 and 6 year old grand daughters with me who look forward to swimming in the pool. On this last stay on Sunday the pool was closed. I was told in the morning the pool was closed due to a bacteria and would re-open later that day. After waiting most of the day I asked again about the pool and was told I could use a "sister hotel" that was almost a mile away. We used the "sister hotel" and were unhappy with it's pool acommendations. On Monday the pool was drained and we were told the pool was being painted. When I confronted the manager about the situtaion they acted like they had no idea that the pool was closed at all. The manager offered a 20% discount on my future stay, but I have seen on many hotel booking websites if you book early you can get a 20% discount. I feel that the hotel knew before I checked in about the pool painting and lied about the pool having bacteria and telling me it would be open later so I wouldn't check out early and request a refund for Sunday night. I also think they should have told me before my stay so I could have stayed somewhere else. I feel very decieved by this hotel and I don't have any plans to ever stay here again.

Room Tip: This hotel has many two types of rooms, one with an ocean front balcony with the main entrance to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Have been coming here for 18years and never had a bad experience. The staff at the front desk are great to work with and Kevin, Kate,Dan and the rest of the staff at the atrium is alwsome! Not to mention the birds. Can't wait till next year!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveH0180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel is located in a great spot in Ocean City. There were a lot of great restaurants within walking distance and it was close to easy access out of town. The rooms are clean and comfortable. They also had really nice atrium with exotic birds that made coming back to the hotel room fun.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanK53642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Once again, almost on the anniversary of my last stay at this value packed blockbuster property, staying here, you just can't mess up! The consistently warm and courteous staff kept the bar high again during our stay! During idle chit-chat at check in our guest receptionist identified immediately with our hunger cries from afar-and awarded us with a complimentary Pizza Pie! Wow! my room was spacious and clean again, with warm generous heat pumping non-stop thruout the entire course of the weekend. I polnt this out as we had to endure blustery 07 degree temperatures thruout the entire weekend, so functioning reliable heat is a huge benefit! Also In my opinion, cookware and flatware is an added value that you cant put a price on, and came well in handy over the course of my stay. The Quality Inn of Ocean City just can't mess up! Derrick M.

Room Tip: Request Rooms Facing the ocean - The sunrise will steal your breath away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DERRICK M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This place has everything. Great winter get-away hotel. Has the atrium with tropical birds you can feed in the am. Nice and warm. Has a Bar and small restaurant. Indoor pool and small childs pool with 2 hot tubs. Exercise Room as well as a game room. Plus you can see the ocean! Coffee,tea,hot chocolate 24-7. Paper and fresh fruit every am is free. Rooms have full kitchens, mice size refrigerator and microwave.

Room Tip: do not book a room near the stair well-too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frostburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I walked in to the atrium and realized I had stayed here about 20 years ago. It was very nice back in the early 90s, unfortunately it looks exactly the same -- very, very dated. Now, that's one thing -- I can deal w/ dated as long as it's clean. However, such wasn't the case. We were in a group of 20 and had 5 rooms on the oceanside 3rd floor. Two doors down from us, they had little ants crawling all over the table by the bed. We then noticed the same tiny ants crawling over the kitchenette table and wall next to it. Another in our group reported dried urine on the floor by the toilet. Our tub was a dirty with small hairs in it obviously left from someone shaving. When one of the beds was turned down, there were crumbs in it -- either the sheets weren't changed from the previous guest or the maid was eating on the job. Either way, that's sorta gross. When I told the front desk, the girl did say "sorry about that" and agreed to have the sheets changed, but no major shock or extreme apology. Another room in our group smelled of smoke, despite the fact it's a non-smoking facility. The small "conference area" on floor two in the atrium was a bit dirty as well -- ants crawling all over the bookshelf in there, dirt on a rail from a plant that was moved who-knows-how-long-ago, a wrapper tossed on the window sill that obviously was there for a while and was still there when we left. While the staff is friendly, it appears understaffed -- we never saw housekeeping, whereas I'm used to seeing carts in the hall and passing housekeepers, etc. This despite the fact we spent a considerable amount of time in the hotel the one day and the atrium design allows one to see all hallways in the place. People brought takeout to the atrium conf. area one night and left their boxes, bags, etc (trash) sitting there when they were done. Yes, that's not the hotel's fault these particular customers were rude slobs (particularly when there is a trash can right outside the door or they could have used the ones in the lobby or their rooms) but the fact they sat there all night and smelled the place up, until we cleaned up so we could use the area for our group to meet in the morning shows they don't have enough people working to check on and clean up such things. On the plus side, the location is great, the design of the hotel w/ the atrium is a neat concept, and it does have an indoor pool w/ two hot tubs. The rooms are spacious, have a kitchenette w/ cabinets, dishes, DW, full size fridge, and microwave. However, none of those things outweigh the negatives. I certainly will not stay there again.

One other thing -- the heat in our rooms was set at 80 when we went in. Yes, it was January, but still this is far too hot. The other rooms in our group had the AC kick on when they turned it down. In ours, the heat went off, but no AC came on, so we had to open the sliding door to get it cool enough to tolerate. Part of the issue, I believe is that the AC is connected to a sensor on the sliding door to prevent people from running the AC w/ the door open in the summer. I noticed our sensor had been ripped off. I'm sure someone in the summer time did this to attempt to avert this system -- they wanted to travel from room to balcony w/o opening the door and wanted to keep the room cool and thought they could do it this way, but it backfired and shut the AC off completely rather than allowing it to run w/ the door open. And here it was January and it still was not fixed. Imagine the poor customers who were given this room while it was still hot out? They would have had no AC -- I'm sure they complained about that, were moved to another room, yet it still never got fixed. Again, would not recommend this place.

Room Tip: If you're going to stay here -- and I wouldn't -- get an oceanfront room as opposed to an at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MRR385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#26 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 770 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#19 of 108 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,293 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
#35 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn Boardwalk
Quality Inn Boardwalk
#59 of 108 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
1.0 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#16 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 739 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#32 of 108 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Oceanfront

Property: Quality Inn Oceanfront
Address: 5400 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn Oceanfront’s five story atrium is filled with koi ponds, tropical foliage and various exotic birds. Efficiency rooms feature a fully stocked kitchenette and a private balcony. The hotel offers an outdoor pool, children’s playground, heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi and a sauna. Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be enjoyed at the Atrium Café located next to the indoor pool. Beachside chair and umbrella rentals are conveniently located in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Quality Inn Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Oceanfront Hotel Ocean City
Quality Inn Ocean City
Ocean City Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing