We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Princess Royale Resort
Ranked #4 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2010

We spent four nights at Princess Royale in early September. Our room was very nice and the bed was very very comfortable. So comfortable that, although I am normally up and at 'em by 5:30, I missed the sunrise three of the four mornings we were there (and I love watching sunrises).

Everything in the room was clean and neat and we were well-supplied with toilet paper and soaps and shampoos. (We decided to not use housekeeping services and I was able to get anything we needed from one of the housekeepers in the hallway.)

The room includes a kitchen area with a stove, dishwasher, microwave and refrigerator. We didn't need these items, but for a family that wants to save on food while vacationing, this is a great asset.

The beach in front of the Princess Royale is very nice. Umbrellas could be rented with the plus that they also planted the umbrellas for you. (We joked about slipping the guy a few bucks to put ours in the sand for us because we couldn't get ours in as deep as the young fellow did.)

Our room was oceanview this time instead of oceanfront. To be honest, if money isn't a factor, I'd choose oceanfront. We didn't hear nearly as much street noise when we were oceanfront as we did this time in the oceanview room. The oceanfront room just seemed more private than the oceanview room. But if you are on a budget, the oceanview room does give a good view of the ocean, not just a little peek like you get at some hotels.

There are a lot of amenities here that we did not take advantage of -- gift shop, sundries shop, pool, hot tubs, work out room, jewelry shop, and salon come to mind. We did eat several times at Schooners, the in-house restaurant and there is review of that in the dining section of tripadvisor. Schooners is a very nice place for a meal or a snack or a drink and seating is available outside if you want.

The only category that I did not give a full 5 rating to was service and this was because of the attitude of some of the folk at the front desk. I've written to a manager and she assures me that she will address this issue. Other staff that we encountered were great.

We will not hesitate to return to Princess Royale in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjajsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,866)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,414 - 2,420 of 2,866 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2010

I'd like to keep this short and sweet: I will NEVER book a room in this hotel again EVER!!!
The staff at the front desk was rude and inconsiderate! I brought a guest with me for a conference and they harassed him! He has never been treated so badly in all his life and I've never been so embarrassed! I remember calling back a few times for general questions about the suite and they were rude and did not take the time to answer the questions throughly. The waitresses at the restaurant were NOT attentive and did not exercise any kind of customer service! The cleaning staff allowed themselves into my room without me asking while my guest was there sleeping and startled him! He had to lock the door from that moment on! Ugh! This is BY FAR the worst hotel EVER!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Solomami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessRoyaleHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2010

We are in receipt of your review and regret that you did not enjoy your stay. However, I am at a loss of how or why the Front Desk staff would have "harassed" your guest. With regarding the Housekeeping, certainly, if you or your guest did not want the staff in your suite during normal cleaning times all that was necessary to do was place the Do Not Disturb sign on your door and/or utilize the dead bolt and security latch.

Again, we regret that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel and hope that on your next visit to Ocean City that service, staff and accommodations exceed your every expectation.

Diane Anderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Was looking for a few day getaway after Labor Day and Princess Royale had a good deal. The suite was large and comfortable, the entire resort was excellent, and the staff was openly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MWR913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessRoyaleHotel, Public Relations Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2010

Thank you for your posting as well as your postive review. We appreciate your patronage and your feedack and look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Ocean City.

Sincerely,

Diane Anderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Princess Royale with our children ranging in age from teens to toddlers and it was all that the website said. First when we pulled in they were friendly to all of us from check in to check out. The employees that we encountered were all friendly and very helpful. The pool was great and very clean. The beach was wonderful and not that busy. Being a few blocks from the boardwalk made it nice with a family, we could choose when we wanted to be in the crowds, the only complaint that we encountered was that the public was leaving all of their trash on the beach, but in the morning it was combed and ready for more. I am a smoker but I do not view the beach as a giant ashtray. Our suite was very clean and the maid service was there every morning to make our beds and restock our towels and hygiene products like clockwork. I would definately suggest this hotel to anyone and the price is amazing for the stay. AAA review Princess Royale for a great family vacation we all had a great stay.
-----Sherry in PA

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sherry010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessRoyaleHotel, Public Relations Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2010

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to serving your hospitality needs on your next visit to Ocean CIty. Thank you for your patronage and postive feedback.

Diane Anderson
Princess Royale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

We found the hotel to be extremely nice and everyone that worked there was willing to help. This hotel has good access to the beach, and is far enough away from the boardwalk to make it quieter and would be very family friendly. It is close enough to everything that you can take the bus (stops right outside the hotel) wherever you need. I can only think of one negative: we wanted an upper floor, but only got on the 2nd floor. It had a nice view, but their were a few palm trees in the way. Ask for 3rd or higher if you want to be on the ocean front.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank curisgrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessRoyaleHotel, Public Relations Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2010

Thank you for your review. We are certainly pleased that we exceeded your especiations and we will make every effort to accomodate your request for an upper floor on your next visit to our hotel.

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Ocean City.

Diane Anderson
Princess Royale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

My husband, 19-month old daughter and I recently stayed at the Princess Royale on our trip to Ocean City. I had read the reviews here and was somewhat hesitant to book this hotel, but was pleasantly surprised by what we found. We stayed in a Side Oceanview King room and were extremely happy with it. It was very clean and looked recently renovated with new furniture, new granite countertops in the kitchen and bathroom, new tile in the shower (but with old shower head and fixtures) and one of THE MOST COMFORTABLE BEDS I have ever slept in in a hotel (all rooms have new tempurpedic mattresses). Parking was not a problem at all. They had an area designated just for over-sized vehicles (car-top carriers, trucks, etc.) which we used. The indoor pool area was nice as well, and the pool was kept at a nice temperature. The hotel's location right on the beach is GREAT, and even with a Side Oceanview room we had an excellent view of the beach and ocean. The front desk staff was pleasant on both check-in and check-out. We had an issue with our bill being incorrect, which was addressed the day after we checked out. I have read on previous reviews that management staff is unwilling to help with issues, and speaking for myself, I did not find that to be the case, as they addressed my problem in a timely manner. The hotel is in a good location along the main drag in OC. There was shopping and restaurants (The Bull in the Beach was a particular favorite) within walking distance. Overall, I would reccommend this hotel to anyone looking for a clean hotel with a great location at a great price!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RNMommy120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessRoyaleHotel, Public Relations Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2010

Thank you for your review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. September is spectacular in Ocean City....the weather is great; as are the rates.

Thank you again and we look foward to seeing you on your next visit to Ocean City.

Diane Anderson
Princess Royale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

A wonderful view of the Ocean. Quiet room well appointed with amenities, great idea having ice maker in the room!
Belhop staff very friendly and helpful.
Thanks to all!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mr2turtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessRoyaleHotel, Public Relations Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2010

Thank you for your review as well as postive feedback and patronge. We are glad you felt your vacation was peaceful and an oasis. September is an awsome time to visit of that is the type of getaway that you desire.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Ocean City.

Diane Anderson
Princess Royale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
3.6 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#6 of 104 in Ocean City
2,290 reviews
4.0 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 104 in Ocean City
3,586 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#32 of 104 in Ocean City
884 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Royale Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Royale Resort

Address: 9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-2745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#7 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: $105 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Princess Royale Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you want it all in Ocean City the Princess Royale is where you will want to stay! If you are a first time visitor or a loyal repeat guest you will love our 2014 upgrades! All 310 suites feature brand new carpeting, furniture, wifi and all new heating & AC! And, our multi-million dollar renovations of all meeting and banquet space is breathtaking; even more perfect for your wedding, meeting, convention or reunion. Not only do we have the perfect accommodations for you but we also have the perfect rates for any budget; AAA, AARP, Military, Super Summer Savers including daily breakfast for up to 4 people, Rodney specials including half off or even FREE nights in the Summer and even our famous Welcome Coupon; which provides FREE Thursday or Sunday nights in the off-season when staying Fri and Sat at standard rates. We have 30 2 & 3 bedroom condos as well as 310 two-room suites including a bedroom with choice of 1 king or 2 queen beds featuring the incredible Tempur-pedic mattresses as well as living room with comfortable sleep sofa. All suites have a fully equipped kitchen including fridge w/ice maker, microwave and cook top. We have everything for the perfect getaway for couples, families and groups from 7 to 700! Be sure to check out Schooner's Oceanfront Restaurant, indoor pool w/tropical Atrium, saunas and hot tubs, convenience/gift shops, complimentary wi-fi access in all suites, fitness room, complimentary covered self parking and valet parking in July & August. Also in July & August we host a nightly All-You-Care-to-Eat Seafood Buffet in addition to Ocean City's ONLY live comedy show--back for summer of 2014 by popular demand Monday-Saturday at 9pm nightly! Also back for July & August 2014 are FREE movies on our Beach every Thursday night Be sure to visit our new Creative Day Spa to complete your trip to Ocean City with a manicure, pedicure, facial, massage, couples massage, body butter ecstasy wrap and more! We are the prefect place to do it all-- or do nothing-- your choice! The Princess Royale is a SMOKE FREE environment for your comfort and pleasure. At the Princess Royale the only thing we overlook...Is the Ocean! Our staff is committed to exceeding your expectations and we look forward to serving your hospitality needs on your next visit to Ocean City! See you soon at the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Princess Royale Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Royale Hotel Ocean City
Princess Royale Ocean City Maryland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing