We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Princess Royale Resort
Ranked #4 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place To Stay”
Reviewed June 15, 2009

We went to Ocean City for an athletic event and Princess Royale was the chosen place to stay for the team. What a great idea. Everything was clean, the staff was very friendly. Check-in was fast and easy. The rooms were very big. The hotel's pool and ocean was easily accessible. The pool was very big and not crowded and the beach area was just as nice. The restaurant offered good and affordable food of all kinds, which the kids liked. The hotel is also close to alot of stores that are within walking distance. If I went to Ocean City again and was loking for a place to stay, The Princess Royale would definately be at the top of the list.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ldybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,515
    761
    214
    101
    151
See reviews for
1,301
663
32
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (834)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2009

Wonderful stay, all good except the towels... Scratchy.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Letsgonowandagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessRoyaleHotel, Condo Mgr. at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay however I am sorry that you were not pleased with the towels. As all 310 of our one bedroom suites were renovated, all the linen and terry in your suite should have met your expecations. However, please be assured that your comments will be reviewed and corrective action taken.

Thank you again for your time as well as your patronge. We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to once again serve your hospitality needs on your next visit to Ocean City!

Diane Anderson
Princess Royale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2009

I reserved this hotel because it said "non-smoking environment". However, guests and their guests are permitted to smoke on the balconies, outside of all entrances and immediately beyond the pool area. I was sick within the 12 hours and consequently did not enjoy the stay. When this reported, I was told that there was nothing that could be done, that smoking outside of the rooms is permitted in this manner. If second-hand smoke is an issue for you and your family, particularly your children, then don't stay here.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WashReport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessRoyaleHotel, Condo Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2009
We, too, very much wish that all guests would respectfully observe our policies.

Smoking is NOT permitted at the Princess Royale and this has been our policy since February of 2008. We are a 100% smoke free property; this also includes the balconies, pool and entrances to the hotel.

As much as we would like, unfortunately, not all guests follow the rules. However, it is important to note that guests that smoke in their suites or condos, including the balconies are assessed a $200.00 smoking fee.

I regret that you were inconveninced by others smoking. We do our best at all times to police this matter daily to ensure the comfort of all our guests and staff.

Thank you,

Diane Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2009

my stay here was amazing by the pool and the arcade and the food and eveything was great. but when we tried to play ping pong we couldnt find the ping pong balls but everything else was amazing except the pool table when i put my money in there was no pool balls and when i wanted my money back it never gave me it back.but hen everything was great the food,the waterfall was so pretty when i walked it and it wasnt vacant like the other hotels and the beach a little to salty but the best place evey where gonna come back this summer for my daughters birthday so if there is any specials or coupons to stay please tell us!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apple21peace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

I stayed at the Princess Royale last summer with a group of friends and our experience overall was pretty good! The beds and pillows were tempur pedic and were amazingly comfortable. We had a side ocean view room with 2 double beds + sofa. It fit 5 people perfectly. The mini kitchen was very ideal for us since we did do some grocery shopping while we were there. The hotel is beach front so it's just a short walk to the beach, where the area is very nice. There's a sun deck for laying out and even a tiki bar. We got the room at an affordable rate through a promotion so we split the cost and went for 5 days pretty cheap! The only thing I didn't enjoy at the hotel was the indoor pool. To me it had a smell, but it was also full of kids so I guess someone could of had an accident! The other con is the far location from the boardwalk but if you take the bus then you can get there easily! Overall the Princess is a nice affordable choice for families and singles alike.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jj0816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessRoyaleHotel, Condo Mgr at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2009
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you on your next visit to Ocean City, Maryland.

DIane Anderson
Condo Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2009

Stayed on 4/24-4/26/09. The room upon entering smelled like cat urine. Only was to describe it but it wasnt really a cat im sure. Im guessing the room hadnt been used in quite a while and there was mold or something on the A/C unit. It was hot this weekend so we turned the air conditioning on...that did nothing. dispite calling down stairs, noone ever showed up to fix it. My biggest problem was that when I got home and was ready to pay my credit card online for the weekend..the had charged $50.00 more that the amount on my reservation confirmation. I called and they said this was incase " I wanted to make any calls or order room service, etc." Well I didnt and she assured me that it would be credited back, but it makes me wonder how often they do this that it goes unnoticed by the customer. Seems like a scam to me. Also if you own a truck dont go here. The parking garage cannot handle a large vehicle. it wont fit around corners. THIS IS NOT A JOKE. GARAGE SAYS NO TRUCKS..IM INCLUDING LARGE SUVS..EXPEDITIONS, ETC.

Helpful?
3 Thank sony420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessRoyaleHotel, Condo Mgr at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

With regard to a pet "odor" in your suite, we do not allow pets nor have we ever. And, as each of our 310 suites were recently remodeled, I am at a loss as to what could have caused the issue. And, it was not that the suite has not been recently occupied as we were sold out the previous weekend with a convention as well. I do apologize and had you simply called this to the attention of the Front Desk we would have been happy to immediately relocate you to another suite more to your liking.

As with every lodging establishment that I am aware of, when you leave a credit card at the Front Desk it is NOT charged for more than the amount of your confirmed stay. There is, however, an AUTHORIZATION so that should guests wish to charge incidentals to their suite-- such as restaurant or bar charges-- then the hotel is assured that your account can accommodate these charges. With all due respect, this is certainly not a "scam" as you stated in your posting but rather standard operating procedure within the travel industry.

Please note, however, that as per the two large signs at the Front Desk, if you are using a DEBIT card, as opposed to a CREDIT CARD, the authorization can effect your available balance. Depending on your bank's policy, this authorization "falls" off your account within a few business days. A credit is not issued as a charge is never applied; it is simply an authorization. Otherwise, guests could charge meals, bar tabs, phone calls, movies and other incidental charges to their suite and them simply leave without paying if there was not an authorization on the account on file. Again, this is very standard in the travel industry. However, if you contact your bank they can better explain their policy regarding authorizations.

With regard to our parking, which is complimentary, we have two garages; one attached to the hotel and another in front of the hotel. There IS, in fact, space in the garage in front of the hotel that can accommodate larger vehicles. In addition, in season we offer complimentary valet parking.

I trust this addresses your concerns. I regret that we did not exceed your every expectation.
Thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clay, New York
Level Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2009

We stayed at a pool side room, which was nice because we could still see the ocean from our room. The room was very spacious, since it had a kitchen, living area, and a bed room. The bed was very comfortable. The atmosphere was great for kids, since there were lots of arcade games, foosball table, pool tables, and a pool full of kids to play with! On the downside, the pool/arcade area was quite loud, and the sound came into the room. Also, the pool was very crowded, it couldn't really be enjoyed by adults or quiet swimmers. I also wish the water had been warmer! The restaurant there was good for breakfast, and we all really enjoyed our stay there. We are planning to go back next year!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teknoturtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessRoyaleHotel, Condo Mgr. at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your suite as well as our most popular amenity-- the Temper-pedic mattress.

I am sorry that you found the sound level in the pool and Atrium area not to your liking. We do, for our guest's comfort, close the indoor pool at 10pm each night and the Atrium area itself at 11pm to ensure that the suites overlooking this area are not disturbed.

Of course, we do also offer suites and condos that do not overlook the indoor pool and atrium/game area and that have a side or direct front view of the the ocean that you may prefer on your next visit to our hotel.

You may want to visit our web site for a virtual tour of our many different room types.

Thank you again for your posting and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Ocean City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
3.6 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
2,056 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
3.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 103 in Ocean City
3,070 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#28 of 103 in Ocean City
844 reviews
3.0 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Royale Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Royale Resort

Property: Princess Royale Resort
Address: 9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-2745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#7 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Princess Royale Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you want it all in Ocean City the Princess Royale is where you will want to stay! If you are a first time visitor or a loyal repeat guest you will love our 2014 upgrades! All 310 suites feature brand new carpeting, furniture, wifi and all new heating & AC! And, our multi-million dollar renovations of all meeting and banquet space is breathtaking; even more perfect for your wedding, meeting, convention or reunion. Not only do we have the perfect accommodations for you but we also have the perfect rates for any budget; AAA, AARP, Military, Super Summer Savers including daily breakfast for up to 4 people, Rodney specials including half off or even FREE nights in the Summer and even our famous Welcome Coupon; which provides FREE Thursday or Sunday nights in the off-season when staying Fri and Sat at standard rates. We have 30 2 & 3 bedroom condos as well as 310 two-room suites including a bedroom with choice of 1 king or 2 queen beds featuring the incredible Tempur-pedic mattresses as well as living room with comfortable sleep sofa. All suites have a fully equipped kitchen including fridge w/ice maker, microwave and cook top. We have everything for the perfect getaway for couples, families and groups from 7 to 700! Be sure to check out Schooner's Oceanfront Restaurant, indoor pool w/tropical Atrium, saunas and hot tubs, convenience/gift shops, complimentary wi-fi access in all suites, fitness room, complimentary covered self parking and valet parking in July & August. Also in July & August we host a nightly All-You-Care-to-Eat Seafood Buffet in addition to Ocean City's ONLY live comedy show--back for summer of 2014 by popular demand Monday-Saturday at 9pm nightly! Also back for July & August 2014 are FREE movies on our Beach every Thursday night Be sure to visit our new Creative Day Spa to complete your trip to Ocean City with a manicure, pedicure, facial, massage, couples massage, body butter ecstasy wrap and more! We are the prefect place to do it all-- or do nothing-- your choice! The Princess Royale is a SMOKE FREE environment for your comfort and pleasure. At the Princess Royale the only thing we overlook...Is the Ocean! Our staff is committed to exceeding your expectations and we look forward to serving your hospitality needs on your next visit to Ocean City! See you soon at the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Princess Royale Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Royale Hotel Ocean City
Princess Royale Ocean City Maryland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing