We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointed this time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Princess Royale Resort
Ranked #4 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stay at the Princess Royale every year for a big cheer event in Ocean City. This year, while we were there, we had a bad experience with the elevators in the building. It would go up to second floor, then drop down a bit, then go up and then drop down. We ended up getting caught between floors and bailed out fast! When I mentioned it to security, he knew exactly which one and said they had been having trouble with it. THen fix it! Don't jepordize the safety of your guests! We were disappointed that we were not credited for our trouble. Other than that, it is a beautiful hotel and we love the location. Easy access to all of OC.

Room Tip: If you have kids, you definately want the second floor pool side units!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissMelis2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessRoyaleHotel, General Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Miss Melis, Thank you for being our guest every year for the cheer event, we look forward to hosting the participants and families and enjoy their enthusiasm. I do apologize for the mechanical problem with one of our elevators that weekend. We have a 24/7 service contract with a national elevator company. The techs were dispatched immediately and were able to correct the problem. I'm glad you enjoyed everything else during your stay and we look forward to hosting you and your family again soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Foelber
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,887)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,422 - 1,428 of 2,887 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014

The suite is nice , TV in the sitting room , as well as in the bedroom ,so I can let my husband sleep while I watch the morning news and have my coffee. We've been here before , and so, get the stay one night , get one night for free , promotion . Great price ! We stay here at least twice a year . The breakfast at Schooner"s is terrific. ! Mostly because, you are looking at the Ocean , while having a leisurely breakfast . Anita at the desk was very helpful . Good location, nice staff , clean comfortable rooms, big pool , we like it there .

Room Tip: Ocean view is perfect for us .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Of all the Ocean City Hotels I have stayed at over the years, the Princess Royale is by far my favorite. The purpose of this trip was a Mid-Spring weekend getaway with my nine year old son. We both enjoyed the spacious swimming pool and had fun in the game room. All of the Hotel staff we encountered were friendly. We definitely plan on returning this summer with the rest of our family.

Room Tip: During this trip I booked a room with a pool view and indoor balcony. Next time I would request an O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at Princess Royale in November for Thanksgiving and received a coupon at that time for a free Thursday night when booking Friday night, so we took advantage of that in April. The price we paid for an oceanfront suite (living room, kitchenette, bedroom) was only slightly higher than what we would have paid for two nights bayside in a regular room, so it made sense to treat ourselves to the oceanfront suite.

Check in went smoothly, the gal at the desk is just perfect for her job. Our room was all that we expected it to be except for a little evidence of wear and tear and age on some of the furnishings. Our room had an ocean front view with a side balcony, which actually turned out to be a blessing. Sitting on the side of the building protected us from the strong breeze coming from the southeast.

We slept very well in our bed -- terrific mattress and pretty good pillows. (I have to say that on our last visit, we had one pillow that was outstanding.) Linens were clean as were the bath towels. The shower had a good flow to it. (Be warned that there is an awkwardly-located soap dish right at elbow height. After you hit it once, you learn your lesson!) Coffee was supplied but we never used it. Refrigerator worked well. All the expected kitchen supplies (plates, cups, cutlery, etc) were in order. Both televisions worked perfectly.

We found that all the staff we chatted with were very professional. This goes beyond just those behind the desks. We talked to some young men in the elevator who were very informative about the local foxes. (I saw a red fox from our balcony in the morning.) Another fellow was quick to respond when we let him know that we didn't think the elevator in the parking garage was working. There were also some young men doing some general sprucing up who gave friendly greetings. And the gal the runs the snack / sundries shop off the lobby just has a wonderful enthusiasm about her. (If you don't want to make the coffee in the room, coffee is available after 7:00 a.m here and on some mornings, Krispy Kreme doughnuts are available.)

Princess Royale is one of our favorite hotels and I'm always glad when we are able to get a great promotional rate here and able to book a few nights within our budget.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjajsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessRoyaleHotel, General Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear CJAJSMOM,

Thank you for being our guest and for your comments, I'm very glad you enjoyed Thanksgiving with us and were able to take advantage of our Welcome Back weekend special deals in one of our OceanFront suites.

I've shared your comments with our staff who are looking forward to a fantastic Warm and Sunny spring and an even better summer. Thanks again for staying with us and I hope you are able to visit again this summer - we have some great new packages and deals.

Sincerely,
Michael Foelber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We were supposed to be in South Beach for the long weekend but couldn't get confirmed seats for our flights. Not wanting to cancel our weekend we looked for someplace driveable yet on the ocean. We were able to check this place out online and none of us had been to Ocean City, Md. before. Since it is pre-season we were able to find what we thought were reasonable rates. Our room offered 2 comfortable queen beds and a sleeper sofa. The décor is outdated but some updates have been done. Everything seems freshly painted and the pool area in good condition. There are not enough lounge chairs in the pool area but plenty of tables & chairs outside of the pool area for snacking. There is a flat screen in the bedroom but an old tube TV in the LR. There is a refrigerator, microwave and 2 burner cooktop for those not wanting to eat all meals out.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The resort has become our favorite vacation site in Ocean City.The staff is very accommodating and the pool and gym are first rate. We were also fortunate to be upgraded to a Condo at no additional cost. We hope to visit the Royale many more times in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We frequently stay at this hotel in Ocean City. Always clean and the staff is always accommodating. Beds are comfortable. Nice having a suite for every stay. Room service is reasonable and fast. Have stayed at many hotels in OC MD, but always come back to the Princess Royale, our favorite.

Room Tip: Have not been assigned a bad room yet. If walking is a problem, ask for a room close to elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessRoyaleHotel, General Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Cindy, I'm so glad you enjoyed your well deserved weekend getaway at our resort. In addition to our clean and comfortable accomodations, I'm especially proud of the exemplary service delivered by our staff. Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to hosting you again soon. PS We just installed the largest hand blown glass chandelier on the eastern shore - it's located just off the lobby.

Sincerely,
Michael Foelber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
3.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
3.6 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#3 of 104 in Ocean City
2,455 reviews
4 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#14 of 104 in Ocean City
3,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#34 of 104 in Ocean City
891 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Royale Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Royale Resort

Address: 9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-2745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#6 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: $104 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Princess Royale Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you want it all in Ocean City the Princess Royale is where you will want to stay! If you are a first time visitor or a loyal repeat guest you will love our 2014 upgrades! All 310 suites feature brand new carpeting, furniture, wifi and all new heating & AC! And, our multi-million dollar renovations of all meeting and banquet space is breathtaking; even more perfect for your wedding, meeting, convention or reunion. Not only do we have the perfect accommodations for you but we also have the perfect rates for any budget; AAA, AARP, Military, Super Summer Savers including daily breakfast for up to 4 people, Rodney specials including half off or even FREE nights in the Summer and even our famous Welcome Coupon; which provides FREE Thursday or Sunday nights in the off-season when staying Fri and Sat at standard rates. We have 30 2 & 3 bedroom condos as well as 310 two-room suites including a bedroom with choice of 1 king or 2 queen beds featuring the incredible Tempur-pedic mattresses as well as living room with comfortable sleep sofa. All suites have a fully equipped kitchen including fridge w/ice maker, microwave and cook top. We have everything for the perfect getaway for couples, families and groups from 7 to 700! Be sure to check out Schooner's Oceanfront Restaurant, indoor pool w/tropical Atrium, saunas and hot tubs, convenience/gift shops, complimentary wi-fi access in all suites, fitness room, complimentary covered self parking and valet parking in July & August. Also in July & August we host a nightly All-You-Care-to-Eat Seafood Buffet in addition to Ocean City's ONLY live comedy show--back for summer of 2014 by popular demand Monday-Saturday at 9pm nightly! Also back for July & August 2014 are FREE movies on our Beach every Thursday night Be sure to visit our new Creative Day Spa to complete your trip to Ocean City with a manicure, pedicure, facial, massage, couples massage, body butter ecstasy wrap and more! We are the prefect place to do it all-- or do nothing-- your choice! The Princess Royale is a SMOKE FREE environment for your comfort and pleasure. At the Princess Royale the only thing we overlook...Is the Ocean! Our staff is committed to exceeding your expectations and we look forward to serving your hospitality needs on your next visit to Ocean City! See you soon at the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Princess Royale Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Royale Hotel Ocean City
Princess Royale Ocean City Maryland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing