We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff lied to me”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Princess Royale Resort
Ranked #3 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Staff lied to me”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I go to Ocean City at least once a year. Last year we stayed for a weekend for a get away for our anniversary. We did enjoy our room but we happened to be there the same weekend as a Mason's event we struggled to find parking and it was difficult to navigate the hotel. This year, having learned a lesson, we asked about the conventions going on. We decided to take our two year old daughter and knew that traveling with a toddler can prove to be difficult at times. When I called to verify about the conventions I was told there were 2 one was so small I was told I would barely notice they were there. When we arrived there was plenty of parking and check in was very smooth, we thought we had hit a home run. The next day (friday)we left after lunch and came back to find the hotel extremely busy. We barely found parking and later found out the hotel has holding four different conventions. Sadly our family will be moving on from this hotel. We scoured ocean city for other hotels while we were there and discovered several that had better parking and seemed less chaotic. I just wish they would have been honest so we could have booked for a less busy weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betterirocz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessRoyaleHotel, Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We are in receipt of your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel an would like to take this opportunity to respond. First, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you felt that you may have encountered. Guest satisfaction is our utmost concern and I regret we did not exceed your every expectation.

As we are a convention hotel with 30,000 square feet of meeting, banquet and exhibit space, we are fortunate to be busy on weekends in the off-season with groups. In fact, there are three (3) Sales Managers on staff whose main responsibility is to books groups and conventions. Additionally, it has become a very common trend, not just at the Princess Royale but throughout the travel industry, that both group and individual reservations are being made more and more last minute.

While many large groups do book in advance, more groups are tending to book last minute. Accordingly, I am sure no one "lied" to you in telling you at the time of your call that only 2 groups were booked during the dates of your stay and most likely what happened is simply that 2 more groups booked after your reservation was made. Please note that if I was provided with your name and date of your stay, I could easily advise you exactly when the other 2 groups were booked. The staff would have no reason to advise you that only two groups were in house if there were four.

However, and with all due respect, on the weekend of your review our hotel was at 62% occupancy meaning that almost 40% of the parking spaces were available. Accordingly, there was plenty of parking available in both garages.

Should you decide to book with us in the future and desire that the hotel have few other guests during your stay, I would suggest that you book not only later in the season but also plan to arrive on a Sunday and depart on a Thursday; keeping in mind that does not apply to holiday and special event weeks as well as the fact that we still have MANY groups midweek certain times. I encourage you to book directly with me personally and I will be happy to not only ensure that there are no groups in the hotel at the time of your reservation but also flag your reservation so that I am alerted to contact you should we receive another last minute booking for your dates so that you can change your plans if desired.

We greatly appreciate your patronage and trust this response addresses your concerns. Thank you for your comments and we very much hope to see you on your next visit to Ocean City.

Sincerely,

Diane Anderson
Princess Royale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,558
    779
    216
    103
    154
See reviews for
1,344
680
33
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (854)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Flushing, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have stayed at the princess royale many times and never been disappointed. Close enough to the boardwalk but not too close. The hotel itself is very nice and comfortable. The pool is nice in case you dont get optimal weather. The suites are spacious and always clean. we recommend this hotel without reservation..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MI C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Warm weather for October. Great stay! Rooms were worn but clean. Staff was exceptional. Had an air conditioning problem, called down and it was fixed within 20 minutes. A. Perfect stay for a 3 star hotel & price. Not fond of the Cabana rooms, pool side but didn't warrant a change of rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wfhahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My sister & I needed a break from recent life stresses. As a returning and frequent visitor to Princess Royale, we stayed at PR - OF hotel. Renovation beautiful, room spacious, quiet and clean. Entire staff respond quickly and efficiently. The pool was clean. Restaurant: staff - very friendly and attentive. Food & prices great. Love location of Princess Royale, because of proximity to Outlets and surrounding conveniences. Back in 2013.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise and ask Front Desk specifying physical limitations i.e. walki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehall, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Directed by fellow employees and it was a terrific piece of advise. Everything was beautiful. Had a clean room and wonderful customer service. Time and vacation well spent. Thank you princess.
Bill and family.
P.S.
Will be back next year 2013. Thanks again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billybob178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We come to Ocean City every year for our summer vacation.We bring the whole family and get a big condo on the beach. This time, it was just the wife and I, and we wanted to check out the Princess Royale. We were very impressed!
We got an oceanfront room which was clean and comfortable, the indoor pool and hot tub was great, and all the employees were friendly and helpful.We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcash28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Overall it is a nice place, but nothing spectacular. I went there for a last minute beach weekend the last weekend of September and I believe it was pretty full. We got an oceanfront room which was nice, quiet, and away from a majority of the rooms which which were oceanview rooms on the sides of the hotel.

The room was clean but was noticeably dated. It felt like a well used beach hotel room. The kitchenette was nice to have.

We had tried to stay in the Hilton Oceanfront suites which was full, and a little pricier, but when I go back to the beach I will look there first and would consider this hotel as a possible second option.

Room Tip: Oceanfront room would be worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roamroam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
3.6 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#6 of 103 in Ocean City
2,179 reviews
4.0 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
3,376 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#31 of 103 in Ocean City
865 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Royale Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Royale Resort

Property: Princess Royale Resort
Address: 9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-2745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#7 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Princess Royale Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you want it all in Ocean City the Princess Royale is where you will want to stay! If you are a first time visitor or a loyal repeat guest you will love our 2014 upgrades! All 310 suites feature brand new carpeting, furniture, wifi and all new heating & AC! And, our multi-million dollar renovations of all meeting and banquet space is breathtaking; even more perfect for your wedding, meeting, convention or reunion. Not only do we have the perfect accommodations for you but we also have the perfect rates for any budget; AAA, AARP, Military, Super Summer Savers including daily breakfast for up to 4 people, Rodney specials including half off or even FREE nights in the Summer and even our famous Welcome Coupon; which provides FREE Thursday or Sunday nights in the off-season when staying Fri and Sat at standard rates. We have 30 2 & 3 bedroom condos as well as 310 two-room suites including a bedroom with choice of 1 king or 2 queen beds featuring the incredible Tempur-pedic mattresses as well as living room with comfortable sleep sofa. All suites have a fully equipped kitchen including fridge w/ice maker, microwave and cook top. We have everything for the perfect getaway for couples, families and groups from 7 to 700! Be sure to check out Schooner's Oceanfront Restaurant, indoor pool w/tropical Atrium, saunas and hot tubs, convenience/gift shops, complimentary wi-fi access in all suites, fitness room, complimentary covered self parking and valet parking in July & August. Also in July & August we host a nightly All-You-Care-to-Eat Seafood Buffet in addition to Ocean City's ONLY live comedy show--back for summer of 2014 by popular demand Monday-Saturday at 9pm nightly! Also back for July & August 2014 are FREE movies on our Beach every Thursday night Be sure to visit our new Creative Day Spa to complete your trip to Ocean City with a manicure, pedicure, facial, massage, couples massage, body butter ecstasy wrap and more! We are the prefect place to do it all-- or do nothing-- your choice! The Princess Royale is a SMOKE FREE environment for your comfort and pleasure. At the Princess Royale the only thing we overlook...Is the Ocean! Our staff is committed to exceeding your expectations and we look forward to serving your hospitality needs on your next visit to Ocean City! See you soon at the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Princess Royale Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Royale Hotel Ocean City
Princess Royale Ocean City Maryland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing