We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Princess Royale Resort
Ranked #5 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at Princess Royale for 2 nights. I was actually very pleased with the room and the hotel, it was more of a resort. Very nice pool, beautiful beach. Rooms are very clean. Although they could put up a new shower head in the bathroom. Overall, nice stay. During our stay there, it was raining pretty much the full day and if it was not for the pool, I dont know what we would do. I read negative reviews about sheets being dirty, room dirty - I found none of that to be true. Maybe because I travel with my own pillow cases :) Their bed is amazing and although the rooms face the pool, the pool does not open until 10AM and closes at 10PM, so there is no noise of any kind. The hotel definitely caters to families with kids. The bar at the beach is very nice, and the staff are all pleasant and friendly.
If you're staying at Royale, you must go to Layton's for breakfast. They have the BEST banana/blueberry pancakes! out of this world. Also, try the Crab Bag - THE BEST for lunch or dinner! Fager's Island was beautiful although the night we went there, it was a hurricane like weather, so unfortunately we did not enjoy the views. Dinner was very good.

Room Tip: Very nice hotel, Clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronika8206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,492
    747
    214
    101
    150
See reviews for
1,284
659
32
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (825)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Blackwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel was perfect for our long weekend getaway. The room was very comfortable for my 4 year old and the two of us. Our room overlooked the Atrium pool and the beach. Actually watched a group of dolphins one morning. Everything in OCMD was very convenient and the main reasons for our trip (beach and pool) were right outside our door. Perfect. I had read some of the reviews that actually scared me into almost changing my mind because I am "grossed out" easily. I can tell you that the room we were in was "dated" but clean. The beds were new and there were no bugs (I checked thoroughly). We watched them clean the pool and area daily and there is a hose/shower to clean sand off when coming from the beach. Our service experience was top notch. I was not impressed at all with the buffet, but there are so many options for eating in OC - why stay in?? We really loved the location - and will plan a return trip soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jolin0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We just came back from a wonderful vacation in Ocean City.Great hotel staff very pleasant.Great food.Our room was very clean.Maid service was very good.I will come back for another stay at your hotel.This has been one of the best Hotels I stayed at.Thanks Again for such a great stay.Princess Royal you are the best!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is a good three star hotel with some good amenities such as a beachfront location, indoor atrium pool with a game room, and large size suites with comfortable tempur-pedic beds which are wide enough to comfortably sleep two adults.

While the hotel may have some faults, its positive features outweigh the negative ones. In reading other reviews I feel that too much attention is placed on irrelevant issues such as friendliness of the hotel staff and room decor. Honestly, although the furniture may be dated, that ought not affect your stay at the hotel. My biggest complaint is the lack of lighting in the room which is an issue prevalent to many hotels. The layout of the room in which the kitchen area separates the living room portion with the bedroom part of the room was convenient as it permitted adults and children to have their own television sets and sleeping/quiet areas. The hotel is especially appealing to families with toddlers through pre-teens. We were at the beach for only one hour and we noticed that most families brought their own beach chairs and umbrellas ostensibly as other reviewers noted the cost of renting a chair was $7.00 and an umbrella was $14.00. There was a bar at the beach which was a covenient amenity as well as a gazebo bar which served light snacks and some food in the edge of the atrium.

When traveling to Ocean City, the first decision you need to make is whether to stay on or off the boardwalk. While the boardwalk location is convenient, the noise and crowds makes it more advantageous for adults traveling without children. There also is a plethora of restaurants and activities within several miles of the hotel in either direction which cater to families without the constant barrage of people and noise endemic to the boardwalk. Traveling to the boardwalk area from the hotel was only about a ten to fifteen minute ride.

For restaurants we ate one night at an all you can eat restaurant and a la carte restaurant where several of us ordered all you can eat crabs for twenty five dollars. The restaurant was called On the Bay and was located on Coastal Highway in the 40's. This was a casual place where you ordered and paid at the cashier and the food was then delievered to one of the outdoor benches. The crabs were tasty and opening the crabs with a mallot was half the fun. We also ordered a large bucket of french fries from Thrasher's while on the boardwalk for ten dollars which was a great mini-lunch. Jolly Roger's Amusement Park on the pier was okay for the money. Old Pro Golf was a good after dinner event. They have three locations, and we ended up going to the 136th Street location when the one in the 60's was overly crowded.

In general, the Royal Princess is an above average hotel which caters to families. If you are expecting services and amenities comparable to five star hotels such as the Ritz Carlton you will be disapponted. Similarly, if you expect fashionable and chic accomodations, crystal clear blue water and fine dining you will also be disappointed. If you want a family vacation at a beachfront location with family style restaurants and entertainment similar to the Jersey Shore then you should be able to enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the beach which is also more convenient and quieter as opposed to the side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idanaLongIsland_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth Meeting
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Very comfortable room/beds. Nice oceanfront view. Staff very accommodating. Buffet dinner good, nothing exceptional. Very nice stay and look forward to going back. Only caution to people is that we went to their comedy club and did not enjoy either comedian (so just don't go to the comedy club - but we DO like the hotel)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, PA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

The stay was a great time had by all!!! Great food at the breakfast buffet everyday, beds were fantastic, beaches were clean and seeing the dolphins again were fantastic including being able to get pictures this time with my camera. The boys even had fun bodysurfing and covering my feet with the soft sand.....Thanks Diane!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanMorrisville_pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We recently stayed at the Princess Royale for three nights. The reservation was made months ago. As our trip approached, and we read comments on TripAdvisor, we became concerned. We take a trip to Ocean City on a yealy basis and were looking for a new place to stay. Prior to our trip, we contacted the Princess Royale regarding the reviews. We travel a few times a year and understand that each person visits with their own perspective and expectations. We wanted to be assured that our room was clean and well maintained. Ms. Diane Anderson assured us that that would be the case. We were not disappointed. We arrived at the hotel about 4 hours before check-in. The front desk staff was cheerful and friendly. Our room was not ready, but we were issued a parking pass and were permitted to use the hotel facilities. After enjoying the beach, the pool, and lunch, we called and our room was ready. The bell-hop quickly and efficiently unloaded our car (which was already in the parking garage), showed us to our room, turned on the ice maker in the refrig., and answered any questions. We had a room overlooking the pool/atrium. Our daughter loved the balcony and enjoyed watching people in the pool. The pool closes at 10pm, so there was no issue with noise. The room was larger than others we had stayed at in OC. The room was clean, and maintained. We had no issues with anything in the room. Having a full size refrig. was great for storing our food. The bed was comfortable, and after long days, our daughter had no issues sleeping on the pull-out sofabed. The pool was clean, as was the beach. We had no issues with the elevators, although we heard others complaining about the wait when it was check-in time. Breakfast was included as part of our package. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and the food was hot. There was a variety to suit everyone's taste. We did get hot dogs and fries from the "food court" near the beach. It was okay. We ate at the dinner buffet one evening. There was a large variety of food ---plenty to satisfy the seafood lover, the meat eater, and children. The food was hot and continuously refilled. The only complaint we would have about the buffet was the milkshake machine----wasn't working properly---very thin---but all of the children appeared to enjoy adding the toppings to their "milk". One day we ordered lunch from the retaurant "to-go" so we could eat on the beach. There was no problem getting the food to go, and the wait time was minimal. All staff members that we came into contact with seemed friendly and were working hard. We loved having a beachfront hotel with an indoor pool! It was a nice reprieve from the hot sun! Each day, our room was cleaned while we were at breakfast. Towels and amenities were restocked. We enjoyed our stay and plan to return. This is a great beachfront hotel that met all of our expectations. We look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: We had a pool/atrium view on the 5th floor. Our room was at the end, so we could also see the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
3.6 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#1 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
3.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,897 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
3.0 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#15 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Royale Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Royale Resort

Property: Princess Royale Resort
Address: 9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-2745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#7 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Princess Royale Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you want it all in Ocean City the Princess Royale is where you will want to stay! If you are a first time visitor or a loyal repeat guest you will love our 2014 upgrades! All 310 suites feature brand new carpeting, furniture, wifi and all new heating & AC! And, our multi-million dollar renovations of all meeting and banquet space is breathtaking; even more perfect for your wedding, meeting, convention or reunion. Not only do we have the perfect accommodations for you but we also have the perfect rates for any budget; AAA, AARP, Military, Super Summer Savers including daily breakfast for up to 4 people, Rodney specials including half off or even FREE nights in the Summer and even our famous Welcome Coupon; which provides FREE Thursday or Sunday nights in the off-season when staying Fri and Sat at standard rates. We have 30 2 & 3 bedroom condos as well as 310 two-room suites including a bedroom with choice of 1 king or 2 queen beds featuring the incredible Tempur-pedic mattresses as well as living room with comfortable sleep sofa. All suites have a fully equipped kitchen including fridge w/ice maker, microwave and cook top. We have everything for the perfect getaway for couples, families and groups from 7 to 700! Be sure to check out Schooner's Oceanfront Restaurant, indoor pool w/tropical Atrium, saunas and hot tubs, convenience/gift shops, complimentary wi-fi access in all suites, fitness room, complimentary covered self parking and valet parking in July & August. Also in July & August we host a nightly All-You-Care-to-Eat Seafood Buffet in addition to Ocean City's ONLY live comedy show--back for summer of 2014 by popular demand Monday-Saturday at 9pm nightly! Also back for July & August 2014 are FREE movies on our Beach every Thursday night Be sure to visit our new Creative Day Spa to complete your trip to Ocean City with a manicure, pedicure, facial, massage, couples massage, body butter ecstasy wrap and more! We are the prefect place to do it all-- or do nothing-- your choice! The Princess Royale is a SMOKE FREE environment for your comfort and pleasure. At the Princess Royale the only thing we overlook...Is the Ocean! Our staff is committed to exceeding your expectations and we look forward to serving your hospitality needs on your next visit to Ocean City! See you soon at the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Princess Royale Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Royale Hotel Ocean City
Princess Royale Ocean City Maryland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing