We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a place to stay on the boardwalk”
Review of Park Place Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Park Place Hotel
Ranked #24 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2012

If you want to stay on the boardwalk, this is a great place to stay. We were here in 2004 - loved it then and loved it again this year. It's an older motel, but well maintained. A complimentary breakfast is not included but there is a restaurant on site. The hotel is privately owned and you have a choice of ocean front rooms or bayside rooms (ocean front are more expensive). Our room was clean and smelled good. The rooms are quite large with a small kitchenette (microwave, small fridge, coffeemaker, cupboards, sink). There was a small work table as well as a loveseat and coffeetable in the room. Comfortable beds. Our room had a balcony with 2 chairs. The bathroom was clean and decent sized - easy to move around in and the shower has good water pressure.

Room Tip: Even though the ocean view rooms are more expensive, the view of the ocean and sound of the waves ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MNroadtrippers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 491 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

My famliy and I came to oc for the day on a saturday on delmarva bike week . We made it to 2st and got in a car accident and our car was undriveable with no place to stay they helped us get a room and they left us stay past the check out time while we was trying to get a rental car. The staff was very nice and helpful the rooms where nice and clean. I will try to book a room there every time i come to oc im now a customer for life thank you to all the staff at the park place hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joshua J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed at park Place this Labor Day weekend when our normal places were sold out. We never stay on this end of town so it was adventure for us...sorry to say we will not be back to Park Place. The area is overcrowded, overrated, and under sanitary!

Pros: If you enjoy being in the heart of the most congested area of the boards - this is a charm. Arrived at 10am on Sat. room was available by 11am. Inside of the room was clean, and was cleaned timely and well daily. Heard compliants from others that the elevator was slow but we really didnt have that expereince. Front desk clerk that checked us in was very nice and professional. Bed was comfortable, pillows seemed new. Always had plenty of towells.

Cons: You're in the heart of the most congested area on the boards. Pool is located on 2nd floor and is filthy. Our room was on the 5th floor directly over it and i never saw a poolman actually clean the pool or ANY of the chairs or tables on the pool deck. (see pix) We spent time waiting there while our room was being prepared Sat and everything was dirty. Bartend on the 2nd floor is rude and there was an incident where the wait staff even told us that she was rude and that they had complained to the manager about her but nothing had been done. Apparently you cannt buy two drinks with one ID - if your black. Because our 'pool nieghbor', who was white, managed to do it just fine. She was more pissed than my husband which is a fete. Really not a problem crossing it off my list of places to eat considering the place was gross - chairs and tables look as if they've never seen a wet, soapy, cloth.

More cons: The balcony was dirty. Its never swept and the plastic chairs are never wiped down. No irons in the rooms. (?!?) Visited the front desk to ask where the iron may be hiding and the clerk told me she could have one 'delivered'. And she sd this straight faced like it was the most reasonable thing. NOT. Especially NOT at $220 a night. The housekeeping staff ride the same elevator as guest and dont feel obligated to speak. Good morning, good night, drop dead, "yea, i'm on here with a huge bin of towells and now as a paying you have to wait" - nothing. Not one housekeeping person spoke to us our entire stay.

A con that i dont think the hotel is solely responsible for - This area of beach in front of the hotel is trashy. I know this probably because its so congested and busy but, they may want to invest some energy in cleaning up the area of beach. Its gross.

Overall, we will not be staying here again. Even if it was the last place in town - which it was this time. Too bad, because i enjoyed the Dough Roller next to the hotel...

Room Tip: Stay some where else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TeamRoberts2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Good location close to everything but poorly cleaned and maintained. The room had a horrible smell and was dirty. The AC barely worked and It was kind of weird to sit on your balcony and watch people eat. When asking the staff for extra blankets it seemed to be a problem and they had an attitude. Will not be returning:(

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lilsassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I have been going to Ocean City for over 20 years, since he is from the area. Unless you are willing to spend a fortune the hotels on the boardwalk are not even 3 star quality, especially by the end of the summer season. But we love Ocean City anyway - the beach, boardwalk, weather and Thrasher's fries - and my rating of 5 stars is in comparison to other hotels we have stayed at in Ocean City.

On the plus side side, the location is excellent, near many attractions on the boardwalk. We stayed in Oceanfront so we could people watch from our balcony. The parking situation was also excellent, it can be a problem at many of the other hotels. There were plenty of parking spots at the hotel, we did not have to park blocks away. The staff was also very pleasant. There were no noise issues during our stay.

On the minus side, the room appeared to be clean but our socks were filthy and the tiled floor felt sticky. The linen was fine, though they had comforters on the bed which I just removed. There was a problem with our balcony door not locking but they quickly fixed it. The elevators were really slow as others have mentioned.

But overall we had a great stay and would definitely stay here again for the location and parking.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debpurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I was expecting a real good hotel based on the reviews and the pictures the hotel posted on facebook. It turned out to be a decent motel with it's back to the beach. To go to the beach you need to walk through stores in the same building. Somehow I was under the impression this was a smoke-free hotel, not so, in fact it is a smoker's paradise. While the rooms are smoke free, the few public areas are destined to smokers: pool area, the small deck (which some 2nd floor room balconies open to and is almost like being in someone else's patio). Especially disappointing was the room balcony, so narrow it only is useful to hang out your wet stuff, don't plan to sit down and enjoy. If it rains, all you can do is sit on your bed, there is no lounge, bar or other common area to use. The room was not very clean when we checked in but they were very prompt in sending someone to fix it, and it was always cleaned properly after that, with the right amount of towels we requested. The "kitchinette" was just a mini microwave, a mine coffe maker, a minibar-like fridge and a sink. There is no way you can cook anything there, makes sense they do not include any bowls or pots with their dishes. A quart-size chinese take out does not fit in the microwave. The closet was a rod with 6 hangers.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank redaun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

During our annual trip to Ocean city, we decided to stay along the boardwalk. This is a perfect place (2nd and 3rd St.) which is walking distance to the amusement center at the end of the boardwalk. The convenience of leaving your room and just a few minutes from the beach was utterly awesome for a family with kids.
For our last minute decision, we got a room facing the bay/parking area, overlooking the hotel pool. The room was clean and the bathroom was spotless. Only con is the AC was not enough when you're at the end of the room, but overall is comfortable. Check-in was quick and got our room shortly after 3 PM.
On our last day, the hotel provided a keycard to access the hotel pool area for the open shower and bathroom/changing area. The bathroom was quite cramp with no rack to hang hotels or clean clothes.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MeadowsValleyForge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#30 of 104 in Ocean City
320 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#11 of 104 in Ocean City
1,036 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Commander Hotel
The Commander Hotel
#5 of 104 in Ocean City
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gateway Hotel & Suites
Gateway Hotel & Suites
#16 of 104 in Ocean City
313 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#32 of 104 in Ocean City
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Place Hotel

Address: 207 North Atlantic Avenue, Between 2nd & 3rd Streets, Ocean City, MD 21842-4161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: $175 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront hotel on the Boardwalk. All rooms are efficiencies with a microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. Oceanfront rooms were redecorated in 2013 and Bay View rooms in 2014. Amenities include private balcony, in-room safe, duvets, hair dryer, flat screen TV, HBO, Disney, two heated outdoor pools, free wi-fi, Bull on the Beach Restaurant and Deck Bar. Hotel is close to amusements, water sports, boardwalk restaurants and night spots. All parking is on site, but limited to one space per room. Disabled access. Golf Packages available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Park Place Ocean City
Hotel Park Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing