We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sea Bay Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Ocean City(Ocean City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Edge(Ocean City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf Inn Suites(Ocean City)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Beachmark Motel(Ocean City)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachcomber Motel(Ocean City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveler rating
156
157
63
26
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
157
63
26
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswest buildingcafe on sitegolf outingcoastal highwayroom was cleanhotel stayplenty of parkingrooms are largeprivate balconyfirst floortwo double bedsshellyocmicrowavemdelevatorsummer
Filter
Updating list...
191 - 196 of 424 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

After booking the hotel was a little worried on what to expect. Was very pleased to find a clean hotel. Across the street from the beach. Person under me complaining like to be as close to the beach as possible should have bought a more expensive room to a hotel on the beach. This one was 100 yards from the beach. Not at all bad for the price. All in all a good stay in a clean hotel for a very reasonable price. Staff was always working and friendly. For families a great cheap stay close to everything, and even saw some good looking singles staying in the hotel too. All in all would recommend 100%

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeluvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed in a standard king room and it was extremely small. I was shocked because the pictures made it look larger. There was no table in the small kitchen area, we had to use the dresser as a table. The bed was extremely comfortable and clean. The balcony was average, I wish they had comfier chairs. We found 3 ants in our room on separate occasions. Not sure where they were coming from. It says a block from the beach and if you're staying in the west building it is 2 blocks because of the parking lot. I honestly wouldn't stay here again just because of the location. I want to be as close to the beach as possible and having to ride the bus to the boardwalk was a pain. It could take us an hour to get there if there were a lot of stops. It was somewhat noisy at night because fagers Island is next door. I think I paid too much for the room that we got but overall it was a good stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessyessx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

What can you say? It's a beach hotel. We were looking for a room large enough for our family and was able to find it at Sea Bay. We understand this hotel in the middle of what they call their 'five year plan' on updating. Our room was not one of the updated rooms. We stayed in the West Building with a bay view room that had two double beds and a pull out couch. The beds are standard spring mattress/boxspring and were well worn and in need of replacement. The couch was also sagging a bit and showing it's age. Our room had a CRT television, microwave, refrigerator and single cup coffee maker. The coffee maker, microwave and fridge look new, but there where stacked on each other in the corner by the door which made using them a little interesting at times (some hotel provided pictures show these units installed on/under a counter. Perhaps in the remodeled rooms).

As mentioned, our room had an excellent bay view. I'm sure the sunsets would have been beautiful but we were never in the room during sunset. Like I said, it served our purpose as a beach hotel with enough room for our family of five to be relatively comfortable (newer mattresses and this room would have been nearly perfect) at night. Both pools were well maintained and refreshing after a day at the beach. The pools close at 9pm which seems a bit early for a vacation spot. Parking was never a major issue. The lot has an interesting layout but after the first night we ended up just parking (free) on the street. Ended up being a bit easier.

The Fager's Island (down the same road at the hotel) crowd can be quite noisy Monday nights but it wasn't overwhelming. Again, it's Ocean City. If you want quiet, head a bit more North.

I feel the hotel is a decent value at a good location. We would stay here again but I would insist on a room with newer beds.

Room Tip: See if you can get one of the update rooms. You may have to book trough the hotel directly instead of using an internet booking site.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilG328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

A clean mid priced hotel for the beach. Larger room with a bay view. Needs updating, especially the mattresses and pull out. One block, across coastal highway to beach.
Has microwave, fridge and coffee pot (single cups). Restaurant with very good breakfast. Also serves lunch. Can walk to 7-11, Sunsations, Dunkin Donuts, sub/pizza place, liquor store, mini golf and Fagers Island grill. I would recommend shoulder season, busy younger crowd during high season. Small pools, good for a rinse after beach.

Room Tip: West building has bigger rooms, request bayside. Quiet except for night time traffic from Fagers Island bar and restaurant. (walking distance) East building is renovated but has smaller rooms and view of parking lot or coastal highway.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was our first time staying at the Sea Bay and it was pretty good for the price. Our bathroom was super clean which was great, but our one blanket on the bed smelled funky but the sheets were clean and fresh, i bring my own blanket so it wasn't bothersome to me. We stayed in the west building, but we weren't facing the bay. The walls are kind of thin so if you have loud neighbors you'll probably hear them. I liked that our hotel was close to a most of the stuff we like to do so we could walk.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goddessathenamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jiminoc, Owner at Sea Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to tell others about your stay at the Sea Bay Hotel. Guests tell us "how we are doing" and this is very important to us. You stayed in our West Building and while this building is about 10 years older than our East Building, it is still a very nice hotel. We are in the midst of a 5 year plan where we are renovating all of the rooms in our West Building. This is our 7th year as new owners of the Sea Bay Hotel, and while we still have a lot of improvements to do, we have been making significant progress each year. Our goal is to be the "best bay side hotel" in Ocean City. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again real soon! Jim@seabayhotel.com/ owner/ manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews