We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, nice stay, across street from beach”
Review of Sea Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Bay Hotel
Ranked #33 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

After booking the hotel was a little worried on what to expect. Was very pleased to find a clean hotel. Across the street from the beach. Person under me complaining like to be as close to the beach as possible should have bought a more expensive room to a hotel on the beach. This one was 100 yards from the beach. Not at all bad for the price. All in all a good stay in a clean hotel for a very reasonable price. Staff was always working and friendly. For families a great cheap stay close to everything, and even saw some good looking singles staying in the hotel too. All in all would recommend 100%

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeluvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 421 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed in a standard king room and it was extremely small. I was shocked because the pictures made it look larger. There was no table in the small kitchen area, we had to use the dresser as a table. The bed was extremely comfortable and clean. The balcony was average, I wish they had comfier chairs. We found 3 ants in our room on separate occasions. Not sure where they were coming from. It says a block from the beach and if you're staying in the west building it is 2 blocks because of the parking lot. I honestly wouldn't stay here again just because of the location. I want to be as close to the beach as possible and having to ride the bus to the boardwalk was a pain. It could take us an hour to get there if there were a lot of stops. It was somewhat noisy at night because fagers Island is next door. I think I paid too much for the room that we got but overall it was a good stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessyessx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

What can you say? It's a beach hotel. We were looking for a room large enough for our family and was able to find it at Sea Bay. We understand this hotel in the middle of what they call their 'five year plan' on updating. Our room was not one of the updated rooms. We stayed in the West Building with a bay view room that had two double beds and a pull out couch. The beds are standard spring mattress/boxspring and were well worn and in need of replacement. The couch was also sagging a bit and showing it's age. Our room had a CRT television, microwave, refrigerator and single cup coffee maker. The coffee maker, microwave and fridge look new, but there where stacked on each other in the corner by the door which made using them a little interesting at times (some hotel provided pictures show these units installed on/under a counter. Perhaps in the remodeled rooms).

As mentioned, our room had an excellent bay view. I'm sure the sunsets would have been beautiful but we were never in the room during sunset. Like I said, it served our purpose as a beach hotel with enough room for our family of five to be relatively comfortable (newer mattresses and this room would have been nearly perfect) at night. Both pools were well maintained and refreshing after a day at the beach. The pools close at 9pm which seems a bit early for a vacation spot. Parking was never a major issue. The lot has an interesting layout but after the first night we ended up just parking (free) on the street. Ended up being a bit easier.

The Fager's Island (down the same road at the hotel) crowd can be quite noisy Monday nights but it wasn't overwhelming. Again, it's Ocean City. If you want quiet, head a bit more North.

I feel the hotel is a decent value at a good location. We would stay here again but I would insist on a room with newer beds.

Room Tip: See if you can get one of the update rooms. You may have to book trough the hotel directly instead o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilG328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

A clean mid priced hotel for the beach. Larger room with a bay view. Needs updating, especially the mattresses and pull out. One block, across coastal highway to beach.
Has microwave, fridge and coffee pot (single cups). Restaurant with very good breakfast. Also serves lunch. Can walk to 7-11, Sunsations, Dunkin Donuts, sub/pizza place, liquor store, mini golf and Fagers Island grill. I would recommend shoulder season, busy younger crowd during high season. Small pools, good for a rinse after beach.

Room Tip: West building has bigger rooms, request bayside. Quiet except for night time traffic from Fagers Isl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was our first time staying at the Sea Bay and it was pretty good for the price. Our bathroom was super clean which was great, but our one blanket on the bed smelled funky but the sheets were clean and fresh, i bring my own blanket so it wasn't bothersome to me. We stayed in the west building, but we weren't facing the bay. The walls are kind of thin so if you have loud neighbors you'll probably hear them. I liked that our hotel was close to a most of the stuff we like to do so we could walk.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goddessathenamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jiminoc, Owner at Sea Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to tell others about your stay at the Sea Bay Hotel. Guests tell us "how we are doing" and this is very important to us. You stayed in our West Building and while this building is about 10 years older than our East Building, it is still a very nice hotel. We are in the midst of a 5 year plan where we are renovating all of the rooms in our West Building. This is our 7th year as new owners of the Sea Bay Hotel, and while we still have a lot of improvements to do, we have been making significant progress each year. Our goal is to be the "best bay side hotel" in Ocean City. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again real soon! Jim@seabayhotel.com/ owner/ manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

It isn't fancy, but has what you need at the beach. There are to buildings, and we were in the west bldg (closer to the bay). This had a very small pool with a beautiful bay view. This was perfect when we came back from the beach hot, and covered in sunscreen. We rinsed the sand off in the outdoor foot shower, then jumped in the pool, and felt really refreshed before we went back up to our room to shower.
There was a lot of noise and partying going on, but someone mut have complained, as we heard security knocking to get in. We were woken up around 3am with partying, screaming, and yelling, but the hotel relly can't control that.
The room was clean, with a nice shower (nowhere to hang bath towels), a balcony with two chairs, a refrigerator, microwave, and plenty of parking.
We called our first night because the bedside lamp wasn't working, and they were there within an hour to put in a new bulb.
Overall, we were happy with our accommodations.
Easy two blocks to the beach.

Room Tip: If you want to use the pool, choose the east bldg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynnewithane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed in a king bed room on the 4th floor of the west building. The view was great!! We could see the bay and a great view of the sunset. The bridge for 90 is close to the right and there is a road to the left that leads to Fagers Island so when they have the club crowd there is a good bit of activity to watch...nothing crazy though and the noise level is low.

The room itself was nice. No couch and only one chair at the table so we weren't left with much space to relax except sitting on the bed. The sheets are a green color and the towels are tan...they were clean (enough) but when in a hotel it's better to have white linens and towels so it's easier to tell they're clean.

The fridge worked well. We didn't use the microwave. Housekeeping only came once on a 3-night stay. They replaced towels but didn't remove dirty ones. There was no "privacy please" door hanger in the room but we actually found one on the floor of the elevator on our 3rd day.

Everyone else we met staying at the hotel was very nice. We didn't really ever interact with any staff. Parking was great! We never had a problem with finding a spot.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and are happy with our choice of this hotel. But, the next time we travel to the area we'll probably try out another hotel.

Room Tip: Worth getting a bayside view room on high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Oceanfront
Quality Inn Oceanfront
#37 of 104 in Ocean City
691 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Ocean City Hotel & Suites
2.1 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#58 of 104 in Ocean City
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
#42 of 104 in Ocean City
337 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
#36 of 104 in Ocean City
326 reviews
1.3 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#25 of 104 in Ocean City
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Bay Hotel

Address: 6007 Coastal Hwy, 61st Street & Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-7361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#5 Business Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: $76 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Bay Hotel is conveniently located in midtown Ocean City, MD. We are close to many area attractions, only one mile from the convention center, two miles from the boardwalk, within walking distance to restaurants and nightlife entertainment, and just one block from the beach. Two buildings, the East and West, make up the hotel property complex. We offer spacious rooms all equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, and balcony. Bayfront rooms are available! Hotel amenities include two outdoor pools, meeting room, business center, laundry facilities, a small market, and free Wi-Fi. There is plenty of parking (one space per room) and additional public parking is permitted on 60th and 61st Streets adjacent to the hotel. We also have an on-site restaurant, the Sea Bay Café, open daily for breakfast, lunch, & lite fare (in season). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sea Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Bay Ocean City
Hotel Sea Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing