We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for golf groups...”
Review of Sea Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Bay Hotel
Ranked #32 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I've had my golf groups there for years....will continue as the rooms are large, great balcony views...just wish the pool was heated! Always answered my golf needs, they go beyond the "other" service group comanies.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank club212rookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 421 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I have been to Ocean City a few times. A great town and friendly people, relative to NY/NJ. I travel recreationally and pay attention to service. It is one of the most important aspects of a stay whether it be a hotel, resort, motel, or B&B. I won't say where I stayed last year but I can tell you it was "Grand" in comparison to the Sea Bay...

Upon walking in and being greeted at the Sea Bay, I felt unwelcome and awkward. After a 5 hour ride, this isn't what you want. I wasn't fond of the unfriendliness or careless demeanor of the staff. Professionalism is one thing the front desk staff doesn't have and needs to work on. Understanding this is only a two star, I've been to a few two star hotels on a last minute whim, and they have been more than helpful and professional. Aside from the helpless front desk staff, the hallways always smelt of marijuana. No kidding here. Do you want to bring your kids or young teens here? Maybe if they have glaucoma. I stayed 5 nights. Everyday the hallways reeked. Of course the front desk didn't feel the need to do anything. Now to the rooms. Plain and bare. A minimal hotel stay. More like a motel room. The picture you see in the advertisement is false I feel. Small rooms. Dirty balcony. A standard bathroom. Being a beach hotel, the carpets usually absorb alot of the humidity, and also musk and smell of other guests. Definitely apparent here. The beds are spring mattresses and overly beaten up. Tube tv from zenith. 1989 style. Not a big deal. Overall my hotel stay here made me feel very grateful for the past hotels I've had the experience of staying in. I would've rated the place much higher if they were more professional and also more tidy in their appearance. Stay here if you can get it really cheap on a last minute stay. Otherwise, be wise and stay elsewhere. I stayed here only due to a last minute stay. The vacation house my co-workers rented was over-limit. On a happy note, the cafe was good, service and food. Maybe they should educate or even work above the front desk girls.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eugguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I have had many stays at this hotel year after year and always come back again. It is a very clean hotel and the staff was wonderful and friendly. They are always busy making sure everything is the best it can be.

I just returned July 11th after staying again for 4 days and it is still the same nice place I experience every year.
The location is very good whether you have a car or not ---transportation is easily available. Being a midpoint spot along the beach is also to its advantage. Not very noisy as along the boardwalk,
Security was always available and present to mafe it a safe place to stay.
I surely will return again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are clean if a bit dated. We had six girls staying and had plenty of room for everyone. The location is a bit far down from the boardwalk but with the bus running all day this is actually a plus. Its a quieter area. It is walkable to Seacrets and Faegers. We had breakfast at the in hotel cafe it was decent and inexpensive. I'd stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roozer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I very rarely bother to make reviews about a place I stayed, but decided to help out some future families traveling to Ocean City. I checked many sites and read the reviews and took my family to Sea Bay for 4 days because of the good price and location. The 1st night was a thursday and i was very happy with the room, the pool, the staff. Friday rolled around and the hotel was overtaken with young "adults" who overtook both pools with their makeshift bar, illegal drugs, tons of alcohol, loud noise, vulgar language and rude behavior towards other guests making them extremly uncomfortable.. and i am not speaking only for myself. I took it in stride since I too was once 20 and remember the thrill of being able to drink underage with NOONE (not even "security") checking ids to see if they were allowing underage drinking at their pool or if these guests were actually paying to stay at the hotel. When i spoke to the front desk they explained that guests were allowed to have friends over until 11pm, and if it got out of hand just to let them know (which i thought i was doing).. and they further apologized that it was "senior week". I know when school got out #1 and #2 - these were not high school seniors but 19 and 20 year olds. So all excuses aside, i wish i had known this was NOT A FAMILY FRIENDLY location and i most certainly would have stayed elsewhere and spent the extra money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank beth d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The staff was very friendly. The room was just as we requested. The rate was reasonable for the beach. We usually stay along the boardwalk in OC but just got sick of the high price. Switched for the bay view and we could not have been happier. I would say they need a refresher in the room decor but hey you are not there to stay in the room. It's clean. Safe and reasonable and you can walk to the beach.

Room Tip: Higher West Side facing the the bay. You might have to call. We did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharlotteA91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have stayed here a half dozen times or so. All of these times were with my friends, but this year I took my girlfriend down and it was amazing as well. Nothing beats the view to the bay at sunset. Just wish they had jacuzzis in the bayside suites. I usually get the repeat guest discount and the cafe attached to the hotel is real good. People can complain about the distance, but a 15 minute bus ride gets you to the boardwalk. The beach is across the street and there's a 7/11 next door. I am hoping to get back again this summer with my girlfriend again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TuPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Oceanfront
Quality Inn Oceanfront
#37 of 104 in Ocean City
691 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Ocean City Hotel & Suites
2.1 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#57 of 104 in Ocean City
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
#41 of 104 in Ocean City
337 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
#36 of 104 in Ocean City
326 reviews
1.3 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#25 of 104 in Ocean City
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Bay Hotel

Address: 6007 Coastal Hwy, 61st Street & Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-7361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#5 Business Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: $76 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Bay Hotel is conveniently located in midtown Ocean City, MD. We are close to many area attractions, only one mile from the convention center, two miles from the boardwalk, within walking distance to restaurants and nightlife entertainment, and just one block from the beach. Two buildings, the East and West, make up the hotel property complex. We offer spacious rooms all equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, and balcony. Bayfront rooms are available! Hotel amenities include two outdoor pools, meeting room, business center, laundry facilities, a small market, and free Wi-Fi. There is plenty of parking (one space per room) and additional public parking is permitted on 60th and 61st Streets adjacent to the hotel. We also have an on-site restaurant, the Sea Bay Café, open daily for breakfast, lunch, & lite fare (in season). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sea Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Bay Ocean City
Hotel Sea Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing