We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DOUBT I'LL EVER GO BACK”
Review of Sea Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea Bay Hotel
Ranked #32 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We previously visited the Sea Bay Hotel and was extremely pleased. We had even commented on Trip Advisor about how terrific the front desk folks were. This time was disappointing to say the least because of extemely poor customer service! The hotel offers a fantastic off-season deal that contains gift cards to local restaurants, bike rental and mini-golf. The front desk person - a large African American woman - began our check in by actually arguing with us about the package we had booked. We pulled it up on-line and to top it off, the person with whom we booked the package over the phone even stood there and verified that we had spoke and what the package was to contain. The check-in person still continued to be nasty and argumentative! It made us want to turn around and leave but we had already pre-paid for the weekend. This woman had us so upset that she practically ruined my trip. On a somewhat positive note; the beds are being replace and there is new carpet, but other than that, they are using the term "upgraded" very loosely. We had highly recommended this hotel to numerous family and friends that often visit Ocean City. We will be making all of them aware of what we went though this time and doubt we will ever return as there are many many other choices that want to treat customers with respect!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MDBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seabaygirl, Manager at Sea Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Thanks for staying with us again. Your feedback is very important to us. I apoligize for the issues you had with the Front Desk at checkin. We have been working very hard on Customer Service and I was extremely upset & disappointed to hear of this problem. I have addressed this with all of my staff and I assure you that it will never happen again. The individual that you had the issue with is no longer with us. We hope that you will reconsider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 420 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

Very comfortable stay at Sea Bay. The hotel was located on Bay side with beautiful view. The rooms were very spacious and tastefully decorated. Beds & pillows extremely comfy. The room it's self was spotless however the bathroom could use updating. I would defiantly stay here again and would recommend it to friends!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baseballmom1238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seabaygirl, Manager at Sea Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

We are glad you had a comfortable stay at the Sea Bay Hotel. Many of our rooms have the direct bay which provides the most beautiful sunsets! We do a lot a renovations every year and updating the bathrooms is certainly on our list. Thanks again for staying with and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Every March our group takes advantage of the Off-season package at the Sea Bay. The staff is very accommodating to our needs, the rooms are spacious and clean, have been recently renovated. The inhouse cafe serves great food for breakfast and lunch at reasonable prices. The hotel is two blocks from the ocean, close to family restaurants and also fine dining. It's the best deal we've found in Ocean City and a yearly must!

Room Tip: If scenery is important to you, then Bay side view would be the choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seabaygirl, Manager at Sea Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

We appreciate you making the Sea Bay Hotel a yearly trip. We love our Repeat Guests. We always have some great packages and specials available, we are glad you took advantage of our Off Season Weekend Package. We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Spent a weekend here recently and really enjoyed my stay. Even in the offseason, the rooms were perfect, food was excellent at the cafe and the staff were friendly and attentive. I would highly recommend it for anyone looking for a nice place to stay that is very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dgorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seabaygirl, Manager at Sea Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Sea Bay Hotel. Be sure to watch for our specials and promotions for some great rates. We appreciate your recommedation to your friends and family and look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel never disappoints...the staff is always very friendly and accommodating as soon as you arrive...and the Sea Bay Cafe has only gotten better - wish it was open for dinner! We will definitely be back next year. I highly recommend this place for golf groups...they are connected into the golf community and are very knowledgeable about the course selection around Ocean City. Thanks for another great trip!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcolbyschneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seabaygirl, Manager at Sea Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thanks for staying with us again. We work very hard on Customer Service, I will pass along your comments to my staff. We are glad you enjoyed your golf package, our team does a great job putting those together. We look forward seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here this past weekend for st pattys day with some friends. Room was big enough for all of us was clean and everything worked. We drank enough to pass out so i cant say for sure if our beds were comfortable but they probably were. Didnt have any issues and the people at the front desk even called taxis for us. It was a great weekend would definitely stay at the hotel again. Oh the cafe food was good too and good prices.

Room Tip: Not a tip on room but make sure you go when the hot front desk girl is working
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Tylerzhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seabaygirl, Manager at Sea Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that the Front Desk Staff was able to accomodate your needs. I will pass along your comments to the Cafe. We love our repeat guests and look forward to seeing you again! Thanks for choosing the Sea Bay Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

our stay was pleasurable and the staff were friendly. Only thing I would have changed is the view... the building adjacent to us connected to Seabay was vacant and would have loved to have been looking over the bay... and they need to install an indoor pool somewhere located under the second building adjacent the parking lot, like maybe enclosed under the lower part of the section of the building... next to the bay... otherwise, we had a great stay and they have remodeled and repainted the 3rd floor, and beds were comfortable and pillows were too.. oh and they need new chairs for the table side... one in our room was about to fall apart and someone could get hurt.. the other chair well some day soon it too will be shaky and unsturdy.. hope no one falls out of it and gets hurt.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephen e e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seabaygirl, Manager at Sea Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Thanks for staying with us! We're glad your stay was enjoyable and we appreciate your feedback. The "West" building has rooms with direct bay views and is open on weeknds starting in mid March until mid April when it is open full time until October. Be sure to ask for a water view during your next stay! We did replace a lot of chairs, I will be sure that all of them are tested for their sturdiness, thanks for the heads up. We do have an outdoor pool at each of our buildings. I wish they were indoor, have not figured out logistically how to make that happen yet!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
#35 of 104 in Ocean City
329 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#37 of 104 in Ocean City
386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Ocean City Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bonita Beach Hotel
Bonita Beach Hotel
#21 of 104 in Ocean City
478 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Oceanfront
Quality Inn Oceanfront
#38 of 104 in Ocean City
686 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cayman Suites
Cayman Suites
#17 of 104 in Ocean City
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Bay Hotel

Address: 6007 Coastal Hwy, 61st Street & Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-7361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: $73 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Bay Hotel is conveniently located in midtown Ocean City, MD. We are close to many area attractions, only one mile from the convention center, two miles from the boardwalk, within walking distance to restaurants and nightlife entertainment, and just one block from the beach. Two buildings, the East and West, make up the hotel property complex. We offer spacious rooms all equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, and balcony. Bayfront rooms are available! Hotel amenities include two outdoor pools, meeting room, business center, laundry facilities, a small market, and free Wi-Fi. There is plenty of parking (one space per room) and additional public parking is permitted on 60th and 61st Streets adjacent to the hotel. We also have an on-site restaurant, the Sea Bay Café, open daily for breakfast, lunch, & lite fare (in season). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sea Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Bay Ocean City
Hotel Sea Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing