We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, attentive staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
An Inn on the Ocean
Ranked #3 of 18 Ocean City B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, attentive staff”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We recently celebrated our 10th anniversary at the inn. Vicki was warm and wonderful. She pulled off my husbands surprise flower delivery and dinner reservations beautifully. As a food allergy sufferer Vicki and Charlie were gracious and accomidating. The inn was quiet and beautiful. The Oceania Suite and it's view made it hard to leave our room. By far it is the best location on the boardwalk. There are plenty of bikes, bodyboards, towels, chairs and umbrellas for all guests. The only negative aspect of our stay is that we had to leave! We look forward to our next visit and would highly recommend as THE only place to stay in OC.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raych2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    15
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
70
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our one year anniversary on August 3-5th and were very pleased.
We arrived at 11am on Friday and stopped by to say hello and to see if we could park there till our check in at 1:00pm and Vicki was so welcoming and checked us in on the spot since our room (the Victorian Room) happened to be ready. We dropped our bags and took a quick tour and immediately took advantage of the beach towels, beach chairs and umbrellas there for our use as well as the ice machine to fill our cooler and headed to the beach. (Don't worry, there are PLENTY of chairs, towels and umbrellas to go around). The beach is a quick walk from the front porch and not super packed with people so the perfect location. The boardwalk is so close to the beach that you can leave for an hour and go grab lunch or dinner and head back down to the beach.
The shady front porch is my favorite part about staying here because you can sit for hours and people-watch while in the comfort of a wicker rocking chair and a beverage of your choice. My husband and I sat out there every night and on Saturday were having such a great time with the other guests that we never made it out on the town.
On Sunday (our anniversary) Vicki came out during our breakfast with a candle and all the guests and staff sang to us. It was so nice to be so welcomed. Every morning we got up early and also took advantage of the bikes (I would recommend 7-8 am before breakfast since the boardwalk is not busy with walkers then) then relaxed till breakfast with a cup of coffee on the lovely porch. We really like the fact that there are snacks out all day/night if you get the munchies and there are healthy choices (nutrigrain bars and apples) and naughty choices (homemade brownies and homemade warm chocolate chip cookies).
If you want to combine the fun of Ocean City and the romance and comfort of a B&B this is definitely the place to stay!! Worth the cost and then some!!

Room Tip: I would recommened the Oceana room (you have a private balcony) or the Veranda room (you have a priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

After visiting about fifty B&B's over the last thirty plus years, we like to check out new ones, particularly if they are expensive, before we stay "in season." Since we had enjoyed our February $100 special (for four of the Inn's rooms), we decided to splurge for four days in the second-best Veranda room. It was so idyllic that we extended a day and still lamented that we had to leave!

Charlie and Vickie bought Annabelle's about thirteen years ago, and they have it up for sale, but Vickie admits, "We're not trying very hard." Well, what they are trying very hard at is making your stay a completely pampered pleasure. The beds are indeed comfortable, and the room is well equipped with whirlpool tubs, TV's, a good sturdy chair for leisure reading or TV watching, plenty of light, a huge closet which we made great use of, and access to our own private area on the veranda porch, complete with more sturdy wicker chairs and table stand as well as a little round table and two chairs at which we had breakfast each morning.

Breakfast was a gourmet's delight. I'm less complicated in the morning, but I couldn't resist the alternate sweet days. Our last breakfast, for example, started with cold filtered water, choice of juices, and a dish of at least three fruits cut up into to bite-sized morsels (we already had our coffee!). On a separate plate were slices of pumpkin-and-creamed-cheese bread, warmed slightly and accompanied by a dish of butter. Finally, the entree arrived: two slices of French bread dipped in cereal (which made it delightfully crispy!) and egg, and sandwiched with strawberry jelly and more cream cheese. A side of crisp bacon lay to one side. With a breakfast like this, you don't need to eat until sunset, unless it's a fruit snack or some cheese and crackers! The savory days are similarly complex, and they are nothing like you could buy in any other eatery in the entire city!

But the best part is the veranda porch. Deep enough to shelter from wind, sun, and rain, it is further protected by an awning. Removed from the boardwalk and elevated over the full basement of the cottage, it affords a panoramic view of walkers, runners, strollers and bikers, as well as the expanse of beach extending out to the surf pounding on the not-so-distant shore. We spent hours reading on that porch and looking up at the diverse sea of humanity spread out before us. Never boring, always interesting, and decidedly quirky. We loved it!!

Did we mention that bikes are provided, as well as beach chairs, towels, umbrellas and boogie boards? An ice machine and refrigerator are also provided in the basement for your use! Oh! and don't forget to sneak out of your room occasionally for the delicacies spread out in the common dining room!

Room Tip: We will always choose the first floor Veranda Room, although the Oceana room on the second floor is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StillSteppinOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, MD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

we will be going to the Inn this year for our 12th visit. We go there twice a year. Seems like it is never enough. Vickie and Charlie have become our dearest friends and will always be so. We were at the inn during the awlful fire of 2004. Vickie had everyone placed within minutes. She cared more about us then herself. Charlie was a rock. The following year she invited me to come and pick out the wallpaper for our favorite room. It made us feel so special and the Verranda room will always be in our minds our room. On our 25th anniversay, we wanted to renew our vows on the porch of the inn. When we could not secure the minister, Vickie got our her mother's ceremony and Charlie gladly became the unofficial minister and performed the renewal. Debbie and Chris become my bridesmaids and Vickie stepped in to be my maid of honor. She provided cake, champaign and a wonderful hand piece of white roses. SHe did this in one hour. How can you top that? We came for 4th ofJuly last year and had a ball on the from pouch. They played music to the fireworks and now we make sure we come down for the 4th from now on. We will always considered them our dearest friends. Debbie and Chris you are also the best.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loveinnonoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

My wife and I have visited over fifty B&B's. This was our first visit to Inn on the Ocean, and we took advantage of a February special of $100/night for three nights. We were the only guests during these last three days of February; even the innkeepers were away. I must admit: I have never experienced such solicitous care from substitute innkeepers as we experienced from our three wonderful hosts. We took a complete tour of the house, and we have noted the next two rooms we will rent.

Our breakfasts were a gourmet delight, fresh fruit and delicious entrees, and the afternoon goodies more than we could eat! The quiet of the house and boardwalk was obviously extreme, but just what we were looking for. Despite the calendar, we were able to sit -- and sun -- on the front porch for two of the mornings. Even the hour spent on bikes on the rainy day was exhilarating! We particularly liked the central location on the boardwalk, about midway from top and bottom. I don't anticipate any bother from neon lights and boardwalk traffic; being alone in the middle of a crowd is something I actually enjoy, as I simply focus on what's happening inside my own little world. And we both love to people watch!

We also enjoyed antiquing in nearby Berlin and eating in two restaurants that the innkeepers recommended. All in all, a thoroughly satisfying visit. We will return, but probably during the shoulder seasons.

Room Tip: We liked the first floor room we had; we'll try for the front room next time so that we have dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StillSteppinOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

It's like going home to the beach. This is our 5th year staying at the Inn and guaranteed the only place we will ever stay. Vicki & Charlie run a first rate operation and make everyone feel like family. As for location, nothing can beat it. You are ON the heart of the boardwalk (actually connected to it) and 200 yards from the water. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sayheyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Can never thank Vick and Charlie enough for making my daughters wedding spectacular!! The inn was charming - the ocean view breathtaking - service excellent the foodwas truly delicious My guests all had a wonderful time. the Inn on the Ocean truly shows the love and effort that Vicki and Charlie put into it once again thank you oxoxox

Room Tip: the Oceana is a lovely room with a large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaBermudez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1.2 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
2,061 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#28 of 103 in Ocean City
307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#11 of 103 in Ocean City
974 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 103 in Ocean City
3,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Inn on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Inn on the Ocean

Property: An Inn on the Ocean
Address: 1001 Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-4177
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean City's (and Maryland's) only ocean front Bed and Breakfast. Wrap around veranda offers spectacular views of beach ocean and boardwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your An Inn on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing