We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you check it out BEFORE reserving!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Watch Condominium
Reviewed April 15, 2010

The entire condo was dirty! When we walked in the door the futon was broken and full of sand. Light bulbs needed to be replaced. Only one word describes the condo and that's "dingy!" It's a very noisy area!!! Outside is no cleaner than the inside. Furnishings needed to be refurbished.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cahenicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW13OCMD, SW 13 Owner at Sea Watch Condominium, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Sorry you had a bad experience in your stay at SeaWatch. We agree with the comments that say check out the unit before renting in SeaWatch. We have 2 units in SeaWatch – and they are NOT the unit you are commenting on here. Please check out our units for consideration at SeaWatch in the future: You can read the positive responses posted both here on tripadvisor and on VRBO (listing 187185) and Vacation Rentals (listing 57199) or Google search on “seawatch 13” to find us on facebook. SeaWatch is really a great facility and don’t let one bad unit deter you from coming back to the good units!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
There are newer reviews for Sea Watch Condominium
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 125 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2009

We rented two bedroom condo on the 18th floor. The building is very nice, has everything: indoor and outdoor pools, game room, sauna, exercise room, playground. Hotel is right on the beach. View from our window was amazing. Very conveniently located close to restaurants and shopping.
The condo was very clean and had everything we needed however I've seen few roaches in the kitchen.
Still, this was so much better than any hotel in the area with similar rates.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sa2000sha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2009

First of all, the hotel itself is very nice. It has lots of things for the kids to do. A playground, an indoor and outdoor pool, an arcade. It has a fitness room for the adults. The security was great. The bad part about staying here, the unit 1800 that we rented. It was a sight for sore eyes. The View was fantastic and it had lots of room. But it was in desperate need of repair and updating. The furniture was old and stained. The carpet was is need of steam cleaning or replacement. The shower doors in the Master Bedroom were hard to open and close. The master bedroom has a very small, maybe 13' tv. The kitchen wasn't too bad, but the burners on the stove either didn't work or only heated high, no lower settings. We didn't use the dishwasher, because there was a note saying that it sometimes leaked and there was a towel stuffed under it. Also, the previous renter never emptied it. The sink didn't drain and the garbage disposal did not work. It did have a nice large flat screen tv in the living room. One of the toilets did not flush very well in one of the bathrooms. All in all it was a big disappointment. We would never stay in this unit again. We did go online and did the virtual tour before we rented this. Next time I would want to see the unit in person before I would rent it. I would highly recommend the Sea Watch, but as far as unit 1800 forget it. I also think that Century 21 should know what the units are like before they recommend them to renters.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank watchitPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW13OCMD, SW 13 Owner at Sea Watch Condominium, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Sorry you had a bad experience in your stay at SeaWatch. We agree with the comments that say check out the unit before renting in SeaWatch. We have 2 units in SeaWatch – and they are NOT the unit you are commenting on here. Please check out our units for consideration at SeaWatch in the future: You can read the positive responses posted both here on tripadvisor and on VRBO (listing 187185) and Vacation Rentals (listing 57199) or Google search on “seawatch 13” to find us on facebook. SeaWatch is really a great facility and don’t let one bad unit deter you from coming back to the good units!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2009

We just got back from our seventh weeklong stay at Sea Watch and we'll be back next year and the year after that. The only reason we didn't give it five stars is because it's not perfect in every way imaginable, and because for first-time visitors it's a crapshoot whether you get a good unit or not. If you have nothing else to go on, try to get a unit on the 10th floor or higher, on the north side, units 1x03 through 1x06. Here's why: the north side has better unobstructed views of the ocean, and doesn't bake in the afternoon sun. Lower floors get more noise from the ground and when the elevators come down from higher floors they're liable to be full. Units 1x01 and 02 have their A/C units on the balcony which means you lose space and you hear them inside the unit. Units 1x07 through 09 are too far back and pick up too much street noise.

Here's the real trick: if you don't love your unit, check out a little early, then wander around and look for units being cleaned. The cleaning crews almost never mind if you have a quick look around. Also, if you catch the rental office when they're not busy, they'll usually let you look at vacant units. That way, if your bad experience was largely because of a crappy unit, you can give yourself the kind of great time we have year after year.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank fax4voice3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

I can't believe we paid to stay here! We are in unit 1318 and what a disappointment - The bathrooms are old, the furniture is awful....and get this - the laundry is located outside the unit.....the TV doesn't work properly. Elevators are slow....Overall the entire Condo building is old and needs refurbished. One outdoor pool for all these units - give me a break! What a waste this place is....the entire building needs redone to get with the times.....

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fuzzPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW13OCMD, SW 13 Owner at Sea Watch Condominium, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Sorry you had a bad experience in your stay at SeaWatch. We agree with the comments that say check out the unit before renting in SeaWatch. We have 2 units in SeaWatch – and they are NOT the unit you are commenting on here. Please check out our units for consideration at SeaWatch in the future: You can read the positive responses posted both here on tripadvisor and on VRBO (listing 187185) and Vacation Rentals (listing 57199) or Google search on “seawatch 13” to find us on facebook. SeaWatch is really a great facility and don’t let one bad unit deter you from coming back to the good units!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2008

Just returned from a week long stay at the Sea Watch Condo in Ocean City, MD.
I would recomend this condo to anyone looking for value, convenience, ammenities, security, relaxation, fun.
It is one of the older buildings located on 115th Street and Coastal Highway. It is well maintained in general and the unit itself was somewhat remodeled recently. The unit was decorated nicely and still remained functional. Each appliance in the full kitchen worked properly and air conditioning was quiet and efficient. One nice feature of this building was the washer/dryer unit's location in a seperate locked room alongside the apartment.
My family of 8 people stayed in a 3 bedroom unit. We had sufficent space to be comfortable.
The owners association has spared little to keep the Sea Watch a fun and safe place to stay. It is always well secured and kept clean on a constant basis by the many staff members on site.
I was impressed by the attached parking garage where a guard was always stationed at the entrance to verify your pass upon entry. The non-refundable registration fee consisted of a $30.00 fee to park your car in the garage. We parked our 3 vehicles for the week in the garage without any issues. Checking each vehicle for parking passes displayed on each of the 5 levels was routine for this staff.
When at the pool, tennis courts, playground, game room or other activities a tag had to be worn and was checked constantly by the ever present staff. It was reassuring to have the staff so vigilant to keep non paying people off the property.
They offered 3 tennis courts that were well maintained and offered raquet rental at the small shop on site. The small cafe was just enough if you wanted something quick and easy. My 3 grandchildren enjoyed the large play area next to the tennis courts. Our balcony overllooked the play area and beach. I felt no apprehension allowing my 10 year old grandaughter lead her 4 and 6 year old cousins to the play area. I always saw staff present in every area of the building.
The indoor and outdoor pools and surrounding areas were always spotless and well maintained. The short route to the beach area was an easy one and always clean.
A nice touch was the atrium area in the center of the V-shaped building. It housed a beautiful fountain with trees and benches for relaxation.
Sea Watch is located directly acroos the street from the Gold Coast Mall. This is a great location boasting many shops, restaurants, grocery store and beverage outlet. The Green Turtle Restaurant is located on the next corner. Great place to eat, by the way.
If you are looking for a well maintained, safe and quiet family condo the Sea Watch is for you.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nanaof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2008

The Sea Watch is OK. Unfortunately, our vacation there was marred by gang activity. Practically all rooms are Ocean View, not Direct Ocean Front. The South side of the building appears to have that beach view for most rooms obscured by an adjoining structure. Most South side rooms view the back of that building to the east and the sound to the west.

The beach in front of Sea Watch is very crowded. By 7:30 every morning, people from Sea Watch had "reserved" the beach just at the high water mark with chairs, umbrellas, blankets and towels. Every day we had to compete for a good spot from which to watch our children play in the surf. Both my wife and I found this situation to be very unpleasant. It was hard to relax and we ended up worrying about getting down to the beach every morning!

None of the balconies have privacy walls so you better like your neighbors, all of them. You can look down the entire row of balconies, and when your next door neighbors are on their balcony it feels like you are all sitting out on the porch together. Also, the walls, floors/ceilings do little to muffle noise from adjoining units. Additionally, our bathroom always smelled strongly of smoke when the people next door smoked, which they did constantly.

You have to bring everything: towels, wash cloths, sheets, blankets, pillows & cases, tissues, toilet paper, napkins, paper towels, dish washer detergent & dish soap, dish towels, washing machine detergent, bounce, etc., etc., etc., and security even makes you rent luggage carts for $2.00.

Sea Watch does not offer any dining options except a small take out shop that constantly has long lines. There are a few places to eat across the street, but Sea Watch is very far from the amenities available closer to the boardwalk.

The elevators are really slow. We frequently ran into literally crowds of frustrated people waiting for elevators. All hall ways are the exposed type with the air conditioner/dryer vent for each unit blowing smelly air on you as you walk by. Unfortunately, this arrangement aggravates my allergies. I also found that the stair wells smelled like dryer exhaust.

The condos are typical beach box affairs with bad decor and dated fixtures. Our unit had missing wall paper, carpeting that was bulged down the middle, flooring that separated from the baseboard, and a bath room door that locked from the outside (it must be a fire code violation - you could get locked in and die in a fire since the door opened inward).

While the real estate rental office advertises a gym at the facility, what they don't disclose is that you are only allowed access for one hour. You must sign out a gym key at the so-called "security" office where personnel are rude and threatening if you are late returning the key. The rental office also does not tell you that security makes all guests wear bracelets with identity tags (even kids). I don't know if they treat "owners" any better, but watch out if you get tagged as a "rental". Also, it appeared that owners were allowed to keep animals in their units and we saw many dogs, and even some cats, on the elevators.

In my opinion, Sea Watch is not a class act and it definitely is NOT worth the money. Go elsewhere!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Customslawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW13OCMD, SW 13 Owner at Sea Watch Condominium, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Sorry you had a bad experience in your stay at SeaWatch. We agree with the comments that say check out the unit before renting in SeaWatch. We have 2 units in SeaWatch – and they are NOT the unit you are commenting on here. Please check out our units for consideration at SeaWatch in the future: You can read the positive responses posted both here on tripadvisor and on VRBO (listing 187185) and Vacation Rentals (listing 57199) or Google search on “seawatch 13” to find us on facebook. SeaWatch is really a great facility and don’t let one bad unit deter you from coming back to the good units!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
4.5 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#6 of 104 in Ocean City
2,219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
#37 of 104 in Ocean City
329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
#77 of 104 in Ocean City
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Marigot Beach Suites
Marigot Beach Suites
#51 of 104 in Ocean City
315 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#35 of 104 in Ocean City
385 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#32 of 104 in Ocean City
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Watch Condominium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Watch Condominium

Address: 115th Street, Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Ocean City
Price Range: $186 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 400
Also Known As:
Sea Watch Condominium Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing