We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Madison Beach Motel
Ranked #28 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed at the Madison and had a nice stay. The office staff was nice and answered all my questions. They were able to accomidate my dog. The rooms were bright and clean. I wish the bathrooms were a little bigger and I did not like the fact that I had to pay for ice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JillRettig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbyOCRooms, Manager at Madison Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Hi Jill,

Thanks so much for taking time out of your schedule to give us such a nice review! I agree the bathrooms are a tad on the small side, there is just no room to expand them.

We don't like charging for ice either! We inherited the machine when the property was purchased and we actually bought slugs to hand out this year, but they didn't fit! We are however, looking into a newer machine for a different location and hope to complete it over next winter in our usual quest for upgrades.

Again, thanks for the review. Please visit us again soon.

Debby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 457 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

One of the nices staff and the atmosphere to make my stay one that i would remonmend to any one looking for a clean and comforable room and a staff that was there to make you feel very welcome would not hesitate to book at this motel again , The price was great and the staff was the best. Bill that night was the night time mananger and was doing every thing to make me feel welcome . Yes the room was small but very clean and when needed extra items there was not a problem Coffee was available 24...7. freshly made, So please first check out room and staff before making a descision on where to stay, I would rate Madison Motel a 95 as to me that means they did make my stay one i won't for get Thanks Bill. .

Room Tip: Do your self a favor and save alot of cash,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary ellen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbyOCRooms, Manager at Madison Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review Mary Ellen. We here at the Madison Beach work very hard to provide clean, comfortable rooms and believe in going the "extra mile" for guest satisfaction!

We look forward to your next visit. Please don't hesitate to call me personally if I might ever be of assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

our first experience taking our yorkie to ocean city. the room they gave us was for us and our dog. our dog got stressed out because she didnot like being in the small room. the room was tile and was dirty and sandy I told the night manager bill [...] who was very nice. he said he would have it taken care of which never happened. the bathroom door was not able to shut, the shower was very small,no phone in the room,could not watch the ravens game because they had no access to a sports channel,this upset me also. the second morning we were there my wife and I went to breakfast. the manager debbie [...] called me on my cell phone as we were ready to order and told me I better come back to the motel to get my dog that she was barking and scratching the door and did not want my dog destoying the room which she denied saying what she said! I told her my dog does not destroy anything. she also said my dog scratched the door which i looked at and ther were no marks on the door except dirt that was there when we arrived. when talking to debbie [...] i found her to be very unfriendly and a liar. Like they other reviews spend a few dollars more at some other motel or hotel you wont regret it. my wife and stayed at different places in ocean city this was the worst motel, what makes me laugh is they said it was recently renovated. REMEMBER THIS MOTEL ACCEPTS DOGS! Salvatore G.

Room Tip: stay away from madison beach motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbyOCRooms, Manager at Madison Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

While I appreciate you taking the time to write a review, I must dispute your version of events.

As I exited the lobby, I heard a dog barking and followed the sound to the door of your room only steps away. The dog was barking incessantly and scratching the door. The guest next door stated that it had been ongoing. At this point I made the courtesy call to you stating that your dog was in distress and asked you to come back to attend to its needs. You stated it was the first time you had left her in a hotel room alone and even thanked me for my call. At no time, as witnessed by two staff members, did I mention the words "destroying the room" or treat you with disrespect. To call me a "liar" is uncalled for and untrue.

Bill did agree that you asked for your floor to be swept, but when you returned to the lobby you stated that your wife had already taken care of it and his service was unneeded. We gladly would have taken care of any needs you had, including the bathroom door, had we been given the opportunity. There are a few rooms with tile floors, which are designated pet rooms for obvious reasons.

I invite any future guests with questions regarding our pet policy to call me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

First time in Ocean City MD but wished I would have decided to pay a few more dollars, at least I would have gotten more for my money. The room was right across from property light and blinds and all it still shined into my room! Window above AC has no curtain and my luck, also a property light across there which shined into my room too! Kept bathroom door closed because another window that allowed light in as well! Pillows too flat! No sports or local channels on Flatscreen tv. Had to pay 25 cents everytime I needed ice for my drink, yes there was a small refrigerator but really? Every room was booked and you must charge for ice?! Coffee in lobby at all times, ok at least that was free. Free Wi-Fi ! Small pool. Staff was very friendly. 5 minutes to boardwalk...fabulous!! 7 Eleven around the corner from hotel...awesome! Dont look for breakfast..no one offers it even though the signs are on their windows! Really?! Thank You 7 Eleven for coming to the rescue!

Room Tip: Make sure no property lights are directly across the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HELGA428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbyOCRooms, Manager at Madison Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

I'm sorry to hear that your stay was less than stellar. I am, however, happy to report that I will be looking into the possibility of window coverings for those small windows this winter. I agree we need a sports channel and am also researching those as well. Extra pillows are always available and we do try to replace any that are not up to our standards. I'm sorry we were unaware of your dissatisfaction, so that we could have made some things right for you while you were here. We never want any guest to leave without a smile and a completely happy stay.

Thank you for your compliments and insight. It is through concerned guests such as yourself that we are to see where we might be falling short of your expectations and our goals.

I hope you visit us again in the near future. Please call me directly to reserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

After having an awful night at our first hotel, we checked into the Madison for the remainder of our vacation, and luckily, this motel was great! The rooms aren't huge, but they were big enough for what we needed - a place to sleep, change clothes, and spend an hour out of the sun - and very comfortable! They were very clean, and the bathrooms were well kept. Housekeeping was very friendly, as were all the staff we dealt with, which always makes you feel better. The location is very convenient, close to a 7-11, and right across the street from the busy part of the Boardwalk. Free Wi-Fi is handy, we did find that it came in best when we were sitting outside our rooms, but you don't mind it too much when it's so nice outside. Overall, for the price, this place is great, perfect for a family vacation. I would definitely consider another stay here!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank berwickgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbyOCRooms, Manager at Madison Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review. It gives us great satisfaction to know that we have succeeded in making your vacation a happy getaway!

Looking forward to your next visit. Please let me know if I might ever be of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Needed room for three adults, three double beds was great. Small room, shower not very comfortable (way too small), good to have refrigerator and microwave, proximity to beach and boardwalk is great. Coffee available in lobby 24 hours, but might have been nicer to have a coffee pot in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbyOCRooms, Manager at Madison Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Gail,

Thank you for taking the time to visit the Madison Beach and for leaving a review.

I agree the room with 3 beds is roomy, I wish we had more!

I appreciate your comments and hope we have you as our guest again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

First thing id like to say is OMG! My bathroom at home is bigger than this entire room! Wish we would have looked online at reviews and photos before selecting this.

Don't get me wrong, we didn't spend a huge amount of time in our room, but when we did, the four of us that stayed here were falling all over one another. No room for luggage. No where to hang wet bathing suits or towels unless you used the railing out side.

Lack of mirrors was a big deal. No phone to call the office. Towels seemed like they were really old. Paper thin. Same with the pillows. I don't think they use fabric softner for any of the linens. Lack of pillows was an issue. Tv was nice but we only got a few channels. We were never given the wifi password. Good thing I had 3G on my phone.

Pros were the location and the friendliness of the ladies in the office. Housekeeping wasn't always friendly but we barely seen them so it wasn't a huge deal.

We spent $320 for two nights. I expected something a lot bigger. Pool was very convenient for the days that we didn't feel like having sand in our bathing suits.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaitlinByrnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
#36 of 104 in Ocean City
329 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sea Bay Hotel
Sea Bay Hotel
#31 of 104 in Ocean City
420 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gateway Hotel & Suites
Gateway Hotel & Suites
#17 of 104 in Ocean City
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#30 of 104 in Ocean City
318 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bonita Beach Hotel
Bonita Beach Hotel
#19 of 104 in Ocean City
478 reviews
7.0 mi away
Sea Hawk Motel
Sea Hawk Motel
#29 of 104 in Ocean City
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Beach Motel

Address: 9 N Baltimore Ave, 1/2 Block From The Beach & Boardwalk, Ocean City, MD 21842-4016
Location: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: $52 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Madison Beach Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 1/2 block from the Beach & Boardwalk, the Madison Beach Motel has rooms, renovated apartments and a beach house. Beach, boardwalk, rides, amusements, shopping, restaurants, water sports, nightlife are all within walking distance. Assateague Island, home of the infamous wild ponies is just 10 miles away. A casino & outlet shopping are within minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Madison Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Beach Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing