We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok buffet”
Review of English's Family Restaurant - CLOSED

English's Family Restaurant
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“ok buffet”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The service was good.
The buffet selection was small for the price on a week day. It was over priced for the amount of food offered.
The building is outdated.
The fried chicken, ribs, and fried shrimp were good. The roast beef was tough to eat. AND STAY AWAY FROM THE DESSERTS HORRIBLE!!!!!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jamie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    17
    29
    22
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bethlehem
1 review
“they ruined it”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

this place used to be my favorite place in OC to get breakfast, don't know what has happened over the past couple years but this place is now terrible. over priced, less food, and pay first. Just an awkward environment with bad food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tysonpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allentown
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Chicken”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband loves his chicken. Well we decided to go and try English's. It's not a fancy place ,but the food was well worth it. $15.95 buffet. Great Maryland crab soup, beef, chicken and seafood. Plus some Italian food & pizza. Plus dessert. It was very tasty and good food. I'd go back when in town. The chicken was my husbands favorite.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank semiretired52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disapointed”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Last week we went down the ocean for the day. After playing in the ocean for a few hours we were hungry so we decided to go get a bite to eat at English's. We arrived at 12:45 pm and were told that they would be closing at 1 pm and that we would be allowed to stay in the restaurant till 1:30 pm, but they would be removing the food at 1:15 pm. Needless to say we went else where. Cant believe that they are closed during the day on a Saturday in the middle of the summer season.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer city
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Upon entering, you are greeted. It is buffet style , but you are served. I liked that no one else was touching the utensils repeatedly. The food was excellent and the price was right.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed English's Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing