We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The greasy spoon, without the spoon !! YUK”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of English's Family Restaurant - CLOSED

English's Family Restaurant
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Parking Available, Seating
West Pittston, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
204 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“The greasy spoon, without the spoon !! YUK”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We tried this place becasue according to the many brochures it was rated #1 for breakfast buffets. Must have been before any other places came into existance becasue it SUCKS!! Then as we were leaving a patron was asking about parking as the manager checked us out rolling her eyes and complaining about the patron. Very professional !! The food was terrible. We should have turned around and walked out. I really don't even know what to compare it to. All I would say is AVOID IT AT ALL COST !!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank babs067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    17
    29
    22
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good chicken”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We got a couple of buckets of chicken and filled in with our own sides and it was great. There was 11 of us so it save us some money by doing it this way.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sharonMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Where are my crab legs!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We planned on coming here for a nice seafood buffet with ice cream which was stated on the ad and crab legs. We come here and there is no ice cream there was oreos with cream and no crab legs!!! The decor is stuck in the eightys and the food is from hunger. What a waste of twenty three bucks!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Made me sick”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

I don't usually write negative reviews. After eating the breakfast buffet, I was sick as a dog. I spent the entire day in the hotel room, on the toilet. I will never, ever eat here again.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
128 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very Good Breakfast Buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stopped there for breakfast on a Sunday morning. Good parking out back and then once inside the buffet is very good and all you can eat at very reasonable prices. Serivce was good and quick. This is a good place to go especially traveling with children as they receive discounts based on what age catagory. Would say this is a a good place for a good breakfast buffet.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank welltraveled_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed English's Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing